Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR)

Introduction

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is the ability of a microorganism (like bacteria, viruses and some parasites) to stop an antimicrobial agent (such as antibiotics, antivirals and antifungals) from working against it. As a result, standard treatments become ineffective, infections persist and may spread to others. AMR bacteria are not necessarily pathogens. They can also be commensal bacteria that derive benefits from their association with humans and are generally harmless. As such, people infected by AMR bacteria can be asymptomatic. Nevertheless, AMR is a natural phenomenon. Microorganisms gain resistance spontaneously by gene mutation or gene transfer among each other. 

AMR is also a food safety concern. AMR bacteria developed in animal gut can spread through the food chain. When the food-producing animals are slaughtered, meat and their products can be contaminated by the excreta colonised with AMR bacteria. AMR bacteria can also enter the food chain through fecal contamination of soil or water, and spread to fruits, vegetable or other produce that are irrigated with contaminated water. People may be exposed to AMR bacteria when they consume contaminated food without being thorough cooked, prepare food with poor food hygiene practice, or contact with animal manure. 

The WHO states that inappropriate food-handling encourages the spread of AMR and education in safe food handling is a key measure for prevention of foodborne diseases, including containing AMR. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has all along been promoting the importance of good personal and environmental hygiene during all food preparation and handling processes. In connection with the education and publicity on AMR in food, the CFS promotes the Five Keys to Food Safety, which are (1) “Choose” (choose safe raw materials), (2) “Clean” (keep hands and utensils clean), (3) “Separate” (separate raw and cooked food), (4) “Cook” (cook thoroughly), and (5) “Safe temperature” (keep food at safe temperature).

Publications

Activities

Videos

Related Links

Prevent Antimicrobial Resistance
Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health

Let's take action against Antimicrobial Resistance 
Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department

抗菌素耐药性

引言

根据世界卫生组织(世卫),抗菌素耐药性是指某种微生物(例如细菌、病毒及部分寄生虫)具有令抗菌剂(例如抗生素、抗病毒药物及抗真菌药物)不再对其有效的能力。结果,标准治疗无效,病人受感染的情况持续,更可能传染他人。这些产生抗菌素耐药性的微生物,不一定是病原体,也可以是于人体里与人类共生而又对身体无害的微生物,因此受感染的人也可以毫无病征。抗菌素耐药性也可属自然现象,微生物通过基因突变或微生物之间的基因转移而自动产生耐药性。 

抗菌素耐药性同样也对食物安全构成影响。在动物肠道繁殖的抗药性细菌可经食物链传播。当食用动物被屠宰时,有关的肉及肉类制品可能会被有抗药性细菌的排泄物所污染。抗药性细菌亦能经由受排泄物污染的土壤或水进入食物链,以及因使用受污染的水灌溉而传播至蔬果及其他农作物。人类可通过以下方式接触到抗药性细菌:进食未经彻底煮熟的受污染食物;制备食物的方式不卫生;或直接接触到动物粪肥。 

世卫表示,不当处理食物会加剧抗菌素耐药性传播,教育人们安全处理食物是预防食源性疾病(包括遏止抗菌素耐药性)的主要措施。食物安全中心(中心)一直致力推广在整个食物制备及处理过程中保持良好个人及环境卫生的重要性。在有关食物中的抗菌素耐药性的教育及宣传工作上,中心负责推广食物安全五要点,分别是:(1)“精明选择”(选择安全的原材料);(2)“保持清洁”(保持双手及用具清洁);(3)“生熟分开”(分开生熟食物);(4)“煮熟食物”(彻底煮熟食物);以及(5)“安全温度”(把食物存放于安全温度)。

单张

海报

刊物

活动

短片

相关连结


卫生署卫生防护中心

Let's take action against Antimicrobial Resistance
渔农自然护理署