Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (77th Issue, December 2012) – Food Safety Platform

Check out Nutrition Label to
Reduce Sugars Intake from Breakfast Cereals

Reported by Ms. Michelle CHAN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the previous issues, we have illustrated the use of “ three-step to use nutrition labels ” (three-steps) to consume instant noodles and crispy chips more healthily. As the last issue of the series, let’s see how three-steps help reduce sugars intake from breakfast cereals.

Take a Look at Sugars

Sugars are simple carbohydrates which provide energy (1g of sugars provides 4 kcal). Some sugars are naturally present in foods (e.g. fructose in fruits), while some are added to processed foods like confectionery and carbonated drinks to enrich flavour.

Getting too much sugar may lead to overweight and obesity, which in turn, increases the risk of chronic diseases including heart diseases and diabetes. Furthermore, dental caries are also associated with frequent excessive intake of sugars. The World Health Organization has set the intake goal that less than 10% of energy contribution should come from sugars added to foods during production and consumption plus natural sugars found in honey, fruit juices and syrups. In other words, for a 2000 kcal diet, intake of sugars should not exceed 50 g per day (about 10 sugar cubes).

Breakfast Cereals and Sugars

Different types of breakfast cereal products are available in the market. They can be broadly divided into the cold-served and hot-served ones. The former is ready to be consumed with milk or soy milk without further processing. The hot-served ones are usually oatmeal or instant cereal drinks that require cooking or reconstitution. Breakfast cereals are made with grains such as oat or wheat rich in carbohydrates and provide dietary fibre. Sugar or sugar containing ingredients such as honey, cocoa powder or dried fruits are commonly added during manufacturing process to enrich taste and texture.

Reduce Sugars Intake from Breakfast Cereal with Three-steps

Firstly, read the nutrition label. Look for sugars and identify product with lower level. The variation in sugars content of breakfast cereals can be as much as 50 times according to the results of a joint Centre for Food Safety(CFS)/Consumer Council study in 2010. Among the 38 samples collected, the amount of sugars ranged from 0 to 50 g per 100 g of food.

Secondly, know how much I eat. Pay attention to the reference amount on the nutrition labels for calculating your sugars intake. Breakfast cereals usually carry nutrition labels expressed as “per serving”. Serving size, determined by the manufacturer, is the amount of a food people customarily consume per eating occasion. Variations exist among different food types and brands.

Referring to the example below, the serving size of instant cereal drink A is 30 g and there are totally eight servings in the package. The whole pack of food is suggested to be consumed on eight separate occasions, and the sugars intake each time will be the same as that shown on the nutrition label, i.e. 15 g of sugars. In case you consume two servings a day, your sugars intake will double, i.e. 30 g.

Thirdly, make better choices. Compare your sugars intake to your daily intake upper limit. Based on a 2000 kcal diet, your sugars intake will meet 30% of the daily limit if you consume one serving of instant cereal drink A. You can observe the followings for making better choices:

  • decrease the consumption frequency of instant cereal drink A;
  • reduce the amount of food rich in sugars such as carbonated drinks on that day;
  • switch to other breakfast cereals or instant cereal drinks with less sugars, if possible, by comparing their nutrition labels.

More Healthy Tips

To create an enabling environment for consumers to choose lower sugars options, food manufacturers are encouraged to follow the CFS Trade Guidelines for Reducing Sugars and Fats in Foods . Consumers should also pay attention to the fat content of breakfast cereals as milk powder of various fat levels or deep fried nuts may be used as ingredients.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-12-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年十二月第七十期)- 食物安全平台

減 少 從 早 餐 穀 類 食 品 攝 入 糖 營 養 標 籤 幫 到 你

食物安全中心
風險傳達組
科學主任陳家茵女士報告

我們在上兩期介紹了如何善用“活用營養標籤三部曲”(三部曲),在吃即食麵和小食脆片時作出更健康的選擇。這期是本系列的最後一篇,我們會談談如何利用三部曲,減少從早餐穀類食品攝入糖。

認識糖

是簡單碳水化合物,能為身體提供能量(1克糖提供4千卡能量)。有些糖天然存在於食物中(例如水果中的果糖),部分亦可能會添加於食物裏,例如糖果、朱古力和碳酸飲料(俗稱汽水)等,令食物更為可口。

進食過多糖有可能導致超重和肥胖症,從而增加患上心臟病和糖尿病等慢性病的風險。此外,經常過量攝入糖容易導致蛀牙。世界衞生組織建議,製造和食用過程中加入食物的糖,以及蜂蜜、果汁和糖漿裡的天然糖分,全部加起來的攝取量應少於每日所需能量的10%。換言之,在2000千卡的膳食中,一般人每天應攝取不多於50克糖(約10粒方糖)。

早餐穀類食品與糖

市面上的早餐穀類食品林林總總,大致可分為冷食類和熱食類。前者只須加入牛奶或豆奶便可食用,非常方便。後者則以須烹煮的燕麥片和沖調即成的即沖麥片為主。

早餐穀類食品以燕麥或小麥等穀類製成,這些穀類含豐富的碳水化合物,並能提供膳食纖維。早餐穀類食品的製作過程中一般會加入糖或含糖配料如蜜糖、可可粉或乾果等,以豐富味道和口感。

活用三部曲 減少從早餐穀類食品攝入糖

首先,“睇營養標籤”。留意標籤上所標示的糖含量,找出糖含量較低的產品。根據食物安全中心在二零一零年與消費者委員會所作的聯合研究,早餐穀類食品的糖含量可以相差50倍之多。研究所搜集的38個樣本中,每100克食物的糖含量由0至50克不等。

其次,“知我食多少”。計算糖分的攝入量時,先找出營養標籤上的食物參考量。早餐穀類食品的營養標籤一般以“每食用分量”標示。食用分量指我們每次進食某款食物時通常會進食的分量。包裝食品上標示的食用分量是由有關的製造商決定的,不同的食物或牌子所標示的食用分量亦會有所不同。

以下面即沖麥片A的營養標籤為例,該款即沖麥片標示的食用分量是30克,而每包裝所含食用分量數目是8,即是說若根據製造商的建議,一整盒麥片分八次吃,每次攝取到的糖的分量便與營養標籤上所標示的一樣,即15克糖。如果一天吃兩份,就會攝取雙倍的糖,即是30克。

其三,“揀啱我需要”。將你的糖攝入量與自己的每天攝取上限比較。以2000千卡的膳食計,吃掉一份即沖麥片A所攝入的糖,已佔糖每日攝取上限的30%。想“揀啱需要”,你可以:

  • 減少吃即沖麥片A的次數;
  • 當天減少從其他糖分較高的食物(例如汽水)攝入糖;或者
  • 比較其他早餐穀類食品或即沖麥片的營養標籤,盡量挑選糖含量較低的產品。

更多健康貼士

業界應遵從《降低食物中糖和脂肪含量的業界指引》,為消費者提供更多糖含量低的食物。除糖含量外,消費者亦應留意早餐穀類食品的脂肪含量,因為這些產品有時會用不同脂肪含量的奶粉或油炸果仁作為配料。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-12-2012