Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (77th Issue, December 2012) – Incident in Focus

Eating Raw Oysters – "Caveat Emptor"

Reported by Dr. William YEUNG, Medical and Health Officer,
and Dr. Kelvin LOW, Senior Medical and Health Officer,
Risk Management Section, Centre for Food Safety

In early November 2012, we received two clusters of suspected food poisoning from the Centre for Health Protection (CHP). The epidemiological findings showed that all the affected individuals had eaten raw oysters at buffet dinner in the same hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui. The epidemiological features including diarrhoea and vomiting about 40 hours after consumption of oysters were suggestive of food poisoning caused by norovirus. Immediate control measures were carried out. No further related cases occurred afterwards.

In this incident, there were a total of 16 clusters of food poisoning cases affecting 41 persons. This outbreak illustrates our vulnerability to norovirus infection.

Norovirus – "Winter Vomiting Disease"

Norovirus has been an important cause of foodborne infection throughout the world. The route of infection is faecal-oral via contaminated food or water. It can also spread directly through person to person or indirectly via contaminated objects or aerosols. As little as ten viral particles are sufficient to cause illness. Although alcohol based antibacterial hand gels work against many harmful bacteria, they do not protect against norovirus.

Viral particles are excreted at high levels by infected people. Some infected individuals can be prolonged shedders. The viral particles can stick onto objects and have the capacity to infect people after days or weeks. Therefore thorough handwashing is very important in preventing its spread through the faecal-oral route. The incubation period of norovirus infection is usually 24 to 48 hours. Predominant symptoms are vomiting, watery diarrhoea and nausea, while low grade fever sometimes occurs. Norovirus illness can be serious, especially for young children, elderly and people with compromised immune systems. No vaccine or specific treatment is available.

Norovirus survives freezing temperature. Compared with most bacteria, norovirus is relatively heat resistant and may remain infectious in food heated to 60°C for 30 minutes. The virus is also acid-resistant. Eating contaminated oysters with lemon juice, vinegar or alcohol does not prevent infection.

Norovirus in Oysters

Norovirus is commonly found in sewage-contaminated waters. As other bivalves, oysters feed by filtering large amount of water through their gills; therefore they are susceptible to contamination if grown in contaminated water. Norovirus binds to oyster tissue within the gut and could concentrate up to 99 times compared to the surrounding water. It is difficult to remove norovirus from oysters through cleansing. Depuration is often ineffective. Therefore, consuming raw and partially cooked bivalves is of high risk for infection.

Picture taken from a buffet: Oysters may carry norovirus.
Picture taken from a buffet: Oysters may carry norovirus.

"A Tale of Two Hotels"

Upon referral from the CHP on the suspected case, field investigation was mounted immediately, which revealed that none of the related food handlers was affected and no definite vomiting incident was known in the premises. It was, therefore, not likely that the food handlers served as the source of infection. On the other hand, oyster samples taken from the hotel were tested positive for norovirus.

Further investigations conducted revealed that a food poisoning case involving a food premises at another hotel was related. Four persons presented with diarrhoea about 47 hours after eating raw oysters. Oysters collected at this food premises were also tested positive for norovirus. Swift action was therefore taken to suspend sale of all oysters of these two food premises.

Action Taken

We worked up the supply chain and found that the same distributor had been providing oysters of the same origin to both food premises during the period. Further investigation revealed that these oysters had been harvested from a oyster farm in England. As there was evidence that these oysters were contaminated by norovirus, the Centre for Food Safety instructed the distributor to recall oysters from the farm concerned and stop further importation. All the retailers were alerted. The British Consulate General in Hong Kong was informed about the incident.

Key Points to Note:

  • Norovirus infection is common in winter and can cause large scale food poisoning outbreaks.
  • Consumption of raw shellfish, including oyster, is of high risk for food poisoning.
  • Thorough cooking to an internal temperature of 90°C for 90 seconds can kill norovirus.

Advice to Public

  1. Eating raw oysters carries inherent food safety risk.
  2. To reduce risk, raw oysters should only be consumed in or obtained from reliable licensed premises.
  3. Susceptible populations (elderly, young children, pregnant women and people with weakened immune systems) should avoid taking raw shellfish, including oysters.
  4. For oysters intended for consumption after cooking, never eat them raw.
  5. Some tips of cooking oysters:
    - Boil for 3-5 minutes
    - Fry for at least 3 minutes
    -

    Steam for 4-9 minutes

Advice to Trade

  1. All shellfish, including oysters, should be obtained from reliable sources with health certificates issued by relevant authority of the exporting countries.
  2. Selling raw seafood, including oysters, requires endorsement from the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.
  3. Food handlers having gastrointestinal symptoms like diarrhoea and vomiting should not handle food.
  4. Food handlers infected by norovirus should be symptom free for at least 48 hours before resumption of work is considered.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-12-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年十二月第七十期)- 焦點個案

吃生蠔–三思而行

食物安全中心
風險管理組
楊明晃醫生及羅漢基高級醫生報告

我們在二零一二年十一月初接獲衞生防護中心轉介兩宗懷疑食物中毒個案。流行病學資料顯示,所有患者均曾於尖沙咀一所酒店吃自助晚餐時進食生蠔。患者在進食蠔後約40小時出現腹瀉和嘔吐等特徵,症狀與諾如病毒引致的食物中毒吻合。在採取即時控制措施後,本港再無出現相關的新個案。

這次食物中毒事件造成16宗食物中毒個案,41人染病。由此可見我們易受諾如病毒感染。

諾如病毒-“冬季嘔吐症”

諾如病毒 是世界各地食物中毒的主要致病原。諾如病毒主要經由吃下或飲用受污染的食物或水傳播,但亦可經由人與人直接接觸,或由受污染物件或空氣微粒間接傳播。諾如病毒少至十個病毒粒子便可致病。雖然酒精搓手液可以殺死多種致病菌,但對諾如病毒卻起不了作用。

受諾如病毒感染的人士可以排出大量病毒,有些甚至在感染後一段時間仍然持續。病毒粒子附在物件上多日甚至多個星期後仍能造成感染。因此,徹底洗淨雙手對預防病毒傳播非常重要。諾如病毒感染的潛伏期通常為 24 至 48 小時,主要病徵為嘔吐、腹瀉和噁心,有時也會出現低燒。有些患者的病情會特別嚴重,特別是幼童、長者和免疫力弱的人士。現時沒有疫苗或專門療法去預防或治療諾如病毒感染。

諾如病毒能夠在冰點下的低溫生存。與大部分細菌相比,諾如病毒相對耐熱,食物即使加熱至攝氏60度並維持30分鐘後,諾如病毒仍然可具傳染性。此外,諾如病毒也耐酸。因此,如果蠔隻受了污染,即使進食時蘸檸檬汁、醋,或配以酒精,都不能預防感染。

諾如病毒與蠔

與其他雙貝類海產一樣,以鰓過濾大量海水的方式進食,如果蠔生長於受污染水域,便容易受到污染。諾如病毒依附在蠔的消化系統,可以濃縮到周圍海水的99倍。因此很難透過清洗去除蠔體內的諾如病毒,淨化處理也效果不大。因此,進食生蠔或未經徹底煮熟的雙貝類海產風險特別高。

圖片取自自助餐中的蠔:蠔隻或帶有諾如病毒
圖片取自自助餐中的蠔:蠔隻或帶有諾如病毒

“蠔”事成雙

我們在收到衞生防護中心轉介的懷疑個案後,立即展開實地調查,發現有關食肆的食物處理人員並無受到感染,據知亦沒有人曾在食肆嘔吐。因此,食物從業員是本個案源頭可能性的機會較少。另一方面,我們發現在酒店抽取的蠔隻樣本對諾如病毒測試呈陽性反應。

經過深入調查,再發現另有一間酒店的食肆有一宗食物中毒個案與諾如病毒有關,該個案中有四人在進食生蠔47小時後出現腹瀉。從該食肆抽取的蠔隻樣本對諾如病毒測試同樣呈陽性反應。我們立即要求該兩間食肆停止售賣所有蠔隻。

控制措施

我們沿着供應鏈順藤摸瓜,查出這兩間食肆的蠔隻事發時是由同一個分銷商供應的,蠔隻來自同一個源頭,追查之下發現這些蠔隻全部採自英國一個養蠔場。由於有證據證明這些蠔隻受諾如病毒污染,食物安全中心一方面指示分銷商回收及停止進口該養蠔場出產的蠔,另一方面把事件通知所有零售商,並知會英國駐港總領事館。

注意要點:

  • 諾如病毒感染在冬天較常見,可引致大型的食物中毒事故。
  • 生吃貝類海產(包括蠔)很容易引致食物中毒。
  • 徹底煮熟食物,把食物加熱至中心溫度達攝氏90度並維持90秒,能消滅諾如病毒。

給公眾的意見

  1. 食用生蠔存在固有的食物中毒風險。
  2. 為減低風險,無論是進食還是購買生蠔,都應光顧可靠的持牌店舖。
  3. 高風險人士(長者、幼童、孕婦和免疫力較弱的人)應避免進食生的貝類海產,包括生蠔。
  4. 切勿生吃只供熟食(即須烹煮)的蠔隻。
  5. 以下是一些烹煮蠔隻的提示:
    - 煮3至5分鐘
    - 炒至少3分鐘
    - 蒸4至9分鐘

給業界的意見

  1. 貝類海產(包括蠔)應購自可靠的供應商,並須附有原產地有關當局簽發的衞生證書。
  2. 售賣生吃海鮮(包括蠔)須得到食物環境衞生署批准。
  3. 有腸胃炎癥狀(如腹瀉和嘔吐)的飲食業從業員不應處理食物。
  4. 感染諾如病毒的飲食業從業員須於症狀消失後至少48小時才考慮可否重回崗位。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-12-2012