Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (31st Issue, February 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrient and Health - Carbohydrates: Sugars

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we focused on complex carbohydrates (i.e. starch and dietary fibres). In this issue, we will talk about simple carbohydrates (i.e. sugars).

Simple Carbohydrates (Sugars)

Based on the chemical structures, simple carbohydrates can be divided into two categories, namely monosaccharides (single sugar molecule) and disaccharides (two single sugar molecules joined together). Glucose, fructose and galactose are the three monosaccharides important in nutrition. These single sugar molecules contain 6 carbon atoms, 12 hydrogen atoms and 6 oxygen atoms (i.e. chemical formula as C6H12O6).

Among these three common monosaccharides, glucose is of most significance as it always exists as one of the two sugar molecules found in a disaccharide, plus it is the basic unit that makes up starch and glycogen. Furthermore, it is worth mentioning that our brain is almost exclusively dependent on glucose as energy source.

Fructose, having the same chemical formula as glucose, has different chemical structure. Because of its unique structure, it stimulates the taste buds which result in a sweet sensation. Fructose is the “sweetest” of all sugars (i.e. with the highest intensity of sweetness) and it is most abundant in fruits and honey.

On the contrary, galactose, the other monosaccharide, has low sweet intensity and can rarely be found free in foods. It combines with a glucose molecule to form the disaccharide lactose, commonly known as milk sugar, since it is found in milk (4.7% in cow’s milk and 7% in human breast milk).

Another disaccharide that is not widely available in foods is maltose. Maltose is composed of two glucose molecules and it is produced when seeds (e.g. barley) germinate and starch breaks down during digestion.

The most familiar disaccharide of all is sucrose, which we usually call table sugar in our daily life. Sucrose is the combination of fructose and glucose. To produce table sugar, sucrose is extracted from the juices of sugar cane and sugar beets. Sucrose is widely used as an ingredient for sweetening purpose in food production. Besides, it is often used to improve the texture, structure and consistency of foods. In addition, it also functions as a preservative in jams and jellies.

Table: Simple Carbohydrates (Sugars)

Monosaccharides

Disaccharides

Glucose

Sucrose (glucose + fructose)

Fructose

Lactose (glucose + galactose)

Galactose

Maltose (glucose + glucose)

Sugars Intake

Most people love sweets, but excessive intake may increase the risk of obesity. Obese individuals are more prone to chronic diseases, such as diabetes, hypertension and heart diseases. According to the World Health Organization’s recommendation, less than 10% of energy contribution should come from sugars added to foods during the production and consumption plus natural sugars found in honey, fruit juices and syrups. In other words, a 2 000-kcal diet should have less than 50g of sugars.

Illustration: The Food Pyramid

With reference to the food pyramid, it is the top of the pyramid which represents the “Eat Less” level, thereby intake of sugars should be kept at a low level. To do so, individuals can reduce the use of sugars/syrups in beverages (one level and one heaped teaspoon of sugars weigh about 4g and 6g respectively) and cut down the consumption of confectionaries, desserts and soft drinks (one can of soft drinks contains approximately 30g to 43g of sugars, i.e. close to a day’s limit). To learn about the sugar contents of foods, please visit the Nutrient Information Inquiry System at the CFS’s website .

Illustration: One heaped teaspoon of sugars ≈ 6g, one level teaspoon of sugars ≈ 4g

After protein and carbohydrates, we will continue the series on nutrition and introduce the last macronutrient - fats in the next issue.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :20-02-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年二月第三十一期)- 食物安全平台

營養素與健康:碳水化合物糖

食物安全中心
風險傳達組
科學主任馮慧中女士報告

我們在上一期探討了複合碳水化合物(即澱粉和膳食纖維),今期將會談談簡單碳水化合物(即糖)。

簡單碳水化合物(糖)

從化學結構而言,簡單碳水化合物可分為兩大類,即單糖(單糖分子)和雙糖(由兩個單糖分子聚合而成)。從營養角度而言,葡萄糖、果糖和半乳糖是三種主要單糖。這三種單糖分子均包含6個碳原子、12個氫原子和6個氧原子,其化學公式為C6H12O6

在這三種常見的單糖中,以葡萄糖最為重要,因為葡萄糖總是雙糖中兩個單糖分子的其中一個,同時是澱粉和糖原的基本組成單位。此外,值得一提的是,我們的腦部幾乎全賴葡萄糖作為能量來源。

果糖的化學公式與葡萄糖相同,但卻有不同的化學結構。它的獨特化學結構能刺激味蕾,從而產生甜味。果糖是所有糖中“最甜”的(即甜度最高),大量存在於水果和蜜糖中。

相反來說,另一種單糖“半乳糖”的甜度偏低,並很少在食物中獨立存在,常與葡萄糖分子結合成名為“乳糖”的雙糖。由於這種雙糖存在於奶類中(牛奶含4.7%,而母乳則含7%),故常稱為乳糖。

麥芽糖這種雙糖同樣並非廣泛存在於食物中。它由兩個葡萄糖分子組成。當種子(如大麥)發芽時又或澱粉經消化後,均會產生麥芽糖。

蔗糖是人們最熟悉的雙糖,即我們在日常生活中所指的砂糖,由果糖和葡萄糖結合而成。砂糖是以甘蔗和甜菜的汁液中抽取出來的蔗糖製成。為使食物帶甜味,蔗糖在食物生產過程中廣泛使用。此外,蔗糖又會經常用於食物中,以便改善食物的質感、結構和濃度,並在果醬和啫哩中用作防腐劑。

表﹕簡單碳水化合物(糖)

單糖

雙糖

葡萄糖

蔗糖(葡萄糖+果糖)

果糖

乳糖(葡萄糖+半乳糖)

半乳糖

麥芽糖(葡萄糖+葡萄糖)

糖攝入量

大部分人都愛吃糖果,但過量攝入糖可能會增加患肥胖症的風險。患肥胖症的人會較易有糖尿病、高血壓和心臟病等慢性疾病。根據世界衞生組織的建議,在食物生產和食用過程中額外添加的糖以及蜜糖、果汁和糖漿中的天然糖合共應佔少於10%的能量攝入量。換言之,2 000千卡的膳食應攝取少於50克糖。

插圖﹕健康飲食金字塔

根據健康飲食金字塔,糖位於金字塔頂層,即應該“吃最少”。要做到這一點,市民可在飲品中少放糖/糖漿(一平茶匙糖和一滿茶匙糖分別約重4克和6克),並少吃糖果糕點及甜品和少喝汽水(一罐汽水約有30克至43克糖,即接近每天上限)。要了解不同食物的糖含量,請瀏覽中心網頁內的營養資料查詢

插圖﹕一滿茶匙糖≈6克,一平茶匙糖≈4克


介紹過蛋白質和碳水化合物之後,我們在下一期會繼續以營養為主題,探討最後一種常量營養素—脂肪。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20 -02-2009