Programme Areas >> NL Information for the Public >> Joint Consumer Council's Article Series on Nutrition Labelling Print Friendly

Joint Centre for Food Safety (CFS) / Consumer Council (CC) Study
Nutrition Labelling Series Article 5

Nutrient Content of Breakfast Cereal Products

Introduction

1. The fifth article of Joint CFS/CC Nutrition Labelling Series examines nutrition labels of different breakfast cereal products for comparing their nutrient contents, especially the amounts of sugars and dietary fibre.

The Study

2. Between March and mid-June 2010, CFS and CC collected 38 samples of breakfast cereal products from supermarkets, including 21 cold-served breakfast cereals (e.g. cornflakes, cocoa crunch, etc) and 17 hot-served cereals. These hot-served cereals were further divided into two groups, the oatmeal or oat drinks and wheat drinks, according to the type of cereal in the product. Nutrition information on the labels was examined.

3. CFS tabulated the nutrient information listed on the nutrition labels of the products based on per 100g of food. According to the Nutrition Labelling Scheme, solid prepackaged foods with “low sugars” claim must contain not more than 5 g of sugars per 100g of food; those with “contain dietary fibre” claim must contain not less than 3g of dietary fibre per 100g of food; those with “high dietary fibre” claim must contain not less than 6g of dietary fibre per 100g of food. In addition, according to the shopping guide cards (or “shopping cards”) produced by the CFS, which has made reference to overseas guidelines, prepackaged foods with more than 15g of sugars per 100g of food are considered high in sugars.

4. Main findings of the study are summarised in Table 1:

Table 1: Summary of Main Results

 

No. of samples

Sugars range (g/100g)

Dietary fibre range (g/100g)

No. of samples with justified content claim in relation to sugars

No. of samples with justified content claim in relation to dietary fibre

Cold-served breakfast cereals

21

4.4-43

1.9-14.5

1

12

Hot-served cereals

Oatmeal or oat drinks

11

0-29.3

5.6-24.4

0

8

Wheat drinks

6

9.4-50

0-5.7 (1)

0

1

Note (1): Dietary fibre content was not labelled in one sample

5. Among the 21 cold-served breakfast cereal samples, in each 100g of food:

  • The sugars content ranged from 4.4g to 43g. The majority (17 samples) contained more than 15g of sugars per 100g of food and therefore were considered high in sugars. For the sample with the highest sugars content, consuming a 28g-serving as stated on the nutrition label would take in about 12g of sugars, which would account for about a quarter of the daily intake limit for sugars (50g, based on a 2,000 kcal diet).
  • The dietary fibre content ranged from 1.9g to 14.5g. The vast majority (20 samples) contained at least 3g of dietary fibre per 100g of food, 14 samples even reached 6g or more, suggesting that cold-served breakfast cereals generally contain significant amount of dietary fibre. For the sample with the highest dietary fibre content, consuming a 55g-serving as stated on the nutrition label would take in about 8g of dietary fibre, which would account for about a third of the target daily intake for dietary fibre (25g).

6. Among the hot-served cereal samples, in each 100g of dry cereals or powdered drinks:

  • The sugars content ranged from 0g to 29.3g in oatmeal or oat drinks whereas that in wheat drinks ranged from 9.4g to 50g. For the wheat drink sample with the highest sugars content, consuming the reconstituted drink made from a 32g-sachet of powdered drink would take in about 16g of sugars, which would account for about a third of the daily intake limit for sugars (based on a 2,000 kcal diet).
  • The dietary fibre content ranged from 5.6g to 24.4g in oatmeal or oat drinks whereas that in wheat drinks ranged from 0g to 5.7g. The dietary fibre content in oatmeal or oat drinks was generally higher than that of wheat drinks on a dry weight basis.

Advice to the Public

7. Consumers can consume wholegrain products (such as wholegrain breakfast cereals and oatmeal etc) more often if they want to increase their intake of dietary fibre.

8. When purchasing breakfast cereal products, consumers can refer to the nutrition labels and compare the nutritional content of different products, and choose the one lower in sugars. Breakfast cereal products with high sugars content should be consumed sparingly.

9. If time allows, consumers may prepare a bowl of “low sugars, low sodium, low fat and high fibre” oatmeal porridge using plain oatmeal, and moderate amounts of low fat milk, dried fruit or nuts.

More Information

10. The related article is also published in the CHOICE MAGAZINE (Issue 405 released on 15 July 2010) (Chinese only).

Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
July 2010

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-07-2010

工作項目 >> 給公眾有關營養標籤的資料 >> 與消費者委員會合作的專題文章 友善列印

食 物 安 全 中 心 與 消 費 者 委 員 會 聯 合 研 究
《營 養 標 籤 系 列》之 五

早 餐 穀 類 食 品 所 含 的 營 養 素

簡介

1. 食物安全中心(中心)與消費者委員會(消委會)聯合研究《營養標籤系列》之五檢視不同早餐穀類食品的營養標籤,比較所含的營養素,尤其是糖及膳食纖維的含量。

研究內容

2. 在二零一零年三月至六月中旬期間,中心與消委會於超級市場搜集了38款早餐穀類食品,檢視包裝上的營養標籤。這些產品包括21款冷食穀類早餐(例如玉米片、可可脆片等)及17款熱食麥片。後者又再依穀類的品種分為燕麥片或燕麥飲品及小麥飲品兩類。

3. 中心將有關樣本營養標籤上所標示的營養素資料,以每100克的食物作比較。根據營養資料標籤制度,附有「低糖」聲稱的固體預先包裝食物每100克須含不超過5克糖;附有「含膳食纖維」聲稱的固體預先包裝食物每100克須含不少於3克膳食纖維;附有「高膳食纖維」聲稱的固體預先包裝食物每100克須含不少於6克膳食纖維。此外,根據中心參照其他國家的指引而印製的購物指南卡,每100克食物的糖含量如超過15克,該食物的糖含量便屬於高。

4. 研究的主要結果已綜合於表一。

表一 : 總結結果

食品

樣本數目

糖含量的範圍
(克/100克)

膳食纖維含量的範圍
(克/100克)

附有並符合有關糖含量聲稱的樣本數目

附有並符合有關膳食纖維含量聲稱的樣本數目

冷食穀類早餐

 

21

4.4-43

1.9-14.5

1

12

熱食麥片

燕麥片或飲品

11

0-29.3

5.6-24.4

0

8

小麥飲品

6

9.4-50

0-5.7 (1)

0

1

註(1):1個樣本沒有標示膳食纖維含量

5. 冷食穀類早餐之中,以每100克食物計算,21款樣本中的:

  • 糖含量為 4.4克至43克不等。大部分(17個)樣本每100克食物含超過15克糖,糖含量屬於高。以糖含量最高的樣本計算,進食該樣本包裝上建議的一食用分量(重28克)便攝入約12克糖,即約相等於每日攝入上限(50克)的四分之一(以2,000千卡膳食計算)。
  • 膳食纖維含量為1.9克至14.5克不等。絕大部分(20個)樣本每100克食物含3克或以上膳食纖維,14個樣本更含6克或以上,反映一般冷食穀類早餐的膳食纖維含量顯著。以膳食纖維含量最高的樣本計算,進食該樣本包裝上建議的一食用分量(重55克)便攝入約8克膳食纖維,即約相等於每日目標攝入量(25克)的三分之一。

6. 熱食麥片之中,以每100克未經沖調的麥片或沖劑計算:

  • 燕麥片或飲品的糖含量由0克至29.3克不等;而小麥飲品的糖含量則由9.4克至50克不等。以糖含量最高的小麥飲品樣本計算,飲用以一小包沖劑(重32克)調製的飲品,便攝入16克糖,即約相等於每日攝入上限的三分之一(以2,000千卡膳食計算)。
  • 燕麥片或飲品的膳食纖維含量由5.6克至24.4克不等;而小麥飲品的膳食纖維含量則由0克至5.7克不等。燕麥片或飲品的膳食纖維含量普遍較小麥飲品樣本為多。

 

給市民的建議

7. 消費者如欲攝取更多膳食纖維,可多吃全穀食品,如全穀穀類早餐、 燕麥片等。

8. 消費者在選購穀類早餐和麥片時,可以閱讀營養標籤,比較不同產品的營養成分,以挑選較低糖的產品。對於含糖量較高的產品,建議間中才吃。

9. 若時間許可,消費者可考慮選用純燕麥片產品,加上適量的低脂奶、乾果或果仁,製成一碗「低糖、低鈉、低脂、高纖」的麥皮。

 

更多資料

10. 相關文章亦已刊登於7月15日出版的第405期的《選擇月刊》

 

食物安全中心
食物及環境衞生署
二零一零年七月

   
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 15-07-2010