Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (114th Issue, January 2016) – Food Safety Platform

Group 1 Carcinogens in Food – Is Consuming Processed Meat as Dangerous as Smoking?!

Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In October 2015, when the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classified processed meat as “Group 1” carcinogen (i.e. carcinogenic to humans), many people misunderstood that processed meat may cause as much harm as other IARC group 1 carcinogens like smoking, asbestos, aflatoxins, etc. Members of the public are concerned that processed meat might be a major risk factor like tobacco smoking in causing cancers.

What is IARC?
Established in 1965, the IARC is the agency of the World Health Organization for promotion of international collaboration in cancer research. It aims to find preventive measures and to reduce the burden and sufferings from cancer. The IARC also aims to coordinate cancer research that cannot be easily studied within national borders, support global cancer policy development and act as a source of authoritative information etc.

IARC Evaluations
The IARC regularly selects agents based on the evidence for human exposure and evidence or suspicion of carcinogenicity for evaluation. Carcinogenicity refers to the ability or tendency to produce cancer. These agents include chemicals, complex mixtures, biological agents and lifestyle factors that some of which may be directly or indirectly related to our diets. As evaluation of the carcinogenicity of substances involves complicated processes including animal and human studies, cancer mechanisms and exposure etc. and complex scientific judgement on the findings, the work is often coordinated by esteemed cancer research organisations like IARC. When evaluating the carcinogenicity of substances to humans, the IARC considers the body of evidence as a whole in order to reach an overall evaluation.

IARC Grouping
The IARC classifies the substances it has evaluated into various groups according to the overall strength of evidence based on cancer hazard (i.e. the potential for the exposure to cause cancer) derived from studies in humans and in experimental animals and other relevant data. As the classification is based on the strength of evidence, it does not mean that substances in the same group carry same level of risk to health as the magnitude of risk (i.e. how likely the cancer will occur) differs greatly. Therefore, comparing the carcinogenic risk of different agents on the same classification (tobacco smoking, aflatoxins, asbestos, alcoholic beverages, processed meat are examples of Group 1 carcinogens) is misleading as they are not equally dangerous. For example, smoking about a packet (15 – 24 pieces) of cigarette each day will lead to 117% excess mortality over lifelong nonsmokers when they reach 60 years of age, whereas consuming every 50g of processed meat daily will increase the risk of colorectal cancer by 18%. The details of the classifications are as follows:

  • Group 1: Carcinogenic to humans
  • Group 2A: Probably carcinogenic to humans
    • Evidence is limited in humans but sufficient in experimental animals
    • E.g.: acrylamide , inorganic lead compound, and red meat .
  • Group 2B: Possibly carcinogenic to humans
    • Evidence is limited in humans and is less than sufficient in experimental animals; or evidence is inadequate in humans but is sufficient in experimental animals
    • E.g. aflatoxin M 1 , bracken fern , and lead.
  • Group 3: Not classifiable as to its carcinogenicity to humans
    • Evidence is inadequate in humans and is inadequate or limited in animals
    • E.g.: melamine, patulin, and sulphur dioxide.
  •  Group 4: Probably not carcinogenic to humans

Pathogens Table: Many diet and physical activity related factors are known to contribute to an increase or decrease in cancer risk. (Adapted from the Cancer Atlas, 2 nd edition )

Carcinogens in the Diet
A number of factors, including diet, body weight and physical activities (see Table), can affect the risk of various types of cancer. It is obvious that maintaining a balanced diet (with adequate intake of dietary fibres, fruits and vegetables) and maintaining an active lifestyle can help to reduce the risk for a range of food-related cancers. On the other hand, reduction in the consumption of processed meats, red meat, Chinese-style salted fish, and alcoholic drinks, prevent obesity, and avoid intake of aflatoxins, etc. can contribute to cancer risk reduction.

In the next issue, we will focus on various diet-related cancers.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-01-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年一月第一百一十四期)- 食物安全平台

第1组食物致癌物 ─ 加工肉类与香烟一样危险?!

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

国际癌症研究机构(IARC)于二零一五年十月把加工肉类归类为第1组致癌物(“令人类致癌”),很多人因而误以为加工肉类的害处与同属第1组的其他致癌物(如吸烟、石棉和黄曲霉毒素等)一样大,担忧加工肉类与吸烟一样是致癌的主要风险因素。

IARC是什么机构?
IARC成立于一九六五年,是世界卫生组织属下推动国际间合作研究癌症的机构,目的是研究防癌措施,以及减轻癌症带来的负担和痛苦。癌症研究非一国一地之事,IARC致力于统筹跨政府的癌症研究工作,为各国政府制定癌症政策提供支援,同时提供具公信力的癌症资讯。

IARC的评估
IARC定期拣选致癌的媒介进行评估,被选定的致癌媒介须符合两个条件:一是有人类暴露的证据;二是有或怀疑有致癌证据。致癌性是指可引致癌症的能力或倾向。这些媒介包括化学物、复杂混合物、生物性因子和生活习惯因素,其中一些直接或间接与饮食有关。物质的致癌性评估过程极其复杂(涉及动物和人体研究、致癌机制和暴露情况等),并需要作出严谨细密的科学判断,故通常由IARC等权威癌症研究组织统筹进行。IARC在评估物质对人类的致癌性时,会通盘考虑所有掌握的证据,以作出全面的判断。

IARC的分类
IARC在评估物质的致癌危害(因暴露于该物质而致癌的可能性)时,会审议相关的人体研究与动物实验结果以及其他相关数据,然后根据致癌证据的整体力度,把物质划入不同的组别。这个分类纯粹是基于致癌证据的力度,即使是同组的致癌物质,其风险程度(即致癌的概率)也不相同,可以差别很大。因此,把同一组别致癌物的致癌风险相提并论很容易令人误会。举例来说,吸烟、黄曲霉毒素、石棉、酒精饮品、加工肉类虽然同属第1组,但它们的危险程度其实是不同的。例如:每天约吸一包烟(15至24枝烟)的烟民到60岁时的死亡率比从未吸烟人士高出117%;而每天食用50克加工肉类,患大肠癌的风险将增加18%。IARC的分类详述如下:

  • 第1组:令人类患癌
    • 对人类致癌性证据充分
  • 第2A组:可能令人类患癌
    • 对人类致癌性证据有限,但对实验动物致癌性证据充分
    • 例子:丙烯酰胺、无机铅化合物和红肉
  • 第2B组:或可能令人类患癌
    • 对人类致癌性证据有限,对实验动物致癌性证据并不充分;或对人类致癌性证据不足,但对实验动物致癌性证据充分。
    • 例子:黄曲霉毒素M1蕨菜和铅。
  • 第3组:在会否令人类患癌方面未能分类
    • 对人类致癌性证据不足,对实验动物致癌性证据不足或有限
    • 例子:三聚氰胺、棒曲霉素和二氧化硫。
  • 第4组:可能不会令人类患癌

患癌风险降低或增加与多种饮食因素和身体活动有关

表:患癌风险降低或增加与多种饮食因素和身体活动有关(摘自《癌症图谱》第二版)

膳食中的致癌物质
各种癌症的危险性受饮食、体重和身体活动等多种因素影响(见表)。保持均衡饮食(摄取足够的膳食纤维和蔬果),多做运动显然有助预防多种与饮食有关的癌症。另一方面,少吃加工肉类、红肉和中式咸鱼;少喝酒精饮品;预防肥胖;避免摄入黄曲霉毒素等均可减低患癌风险。

下一期我们会集中探讨各种与饮食有关的癌症。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-01-2016