Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (63rd Issue, October 2011) – Incident in Focus

Vegetables and Chromium Contamination

Reported by Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

In late August 2011, a local newspaper reported detection of chromium (Cr) at levels between 0.21 and 0.64 mg/kg in vegetables sampled from farms registered for export to Hong Kong near Qujing, Yunnan Province and located about three km from an illegal chromium dumping site. We shall examine the potential impacts of chromium to public health and review the local control.

image 1
Shanghai cabbage, Chinese kale and flowering cabbage were tested for total chromium in a local news report in late August 2011

Chromium – From Nature to Food

Chromium and its compounds are naturally occurring and widely distributed on earth. They exist in rocks, soils, plants, animals and volcanic emissions in three main forms: most of them as chromium metals or Cr (III) compounds, while Cr (VI) mainly exists as products of industrial activities. According to a publication by the US National Research Council in 2005, Cr (VI) taken up by plants will be immediately converted to Cr (III) in their roots.

Chromium exists in the atmosphere mainly as particles, and is deposited into soil and water through precipitation. It is essential to health as it is necessary for insulin action. Seafood, meats and grains are good sources of dietary chromium. Chromium may get into our food chain through stainless steel, metals and pottery, when they are used as food containers.

Toxicity and Carcinogenicity of Chromium

Cr (III) and chromium metal are not carcinogens. However, excessive intake of Cr (III) may still cause the heart to stop beating. The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has established a chronic oral reference dose of 1.5 mg/kg bw/day for insoluble Cr (III) salts, based on reduction of liver and spleen weight as toxicological endpoints in rat studies.

On the other hand, Cr (VI) has an acute toxicity of 50 to 70 mg/kg body weight, where it can cause liver and kidney damages. Chronic exposure to Cr (VI) compounds can affect skin, respiratory tract, kidneys, liver, gastrointestinal tract and the circulatory system. It has been shown to cause changes to genes and mutations in cells in laboratory. The International Agency for Research on Cancer established that Cr (VI), when inhaled, could cause respiratory cancers in occupationally exposed persons. For oral exposure, carcinogenicity has, however, not been established. A chronic oral reference dose of 0.003 mg/kg bw/day for Cr (VI) has been established by the US EPA based on organ changes in rat studies.

 

Key Points to Note:

  1. Chromium mostly exists as Cr (III) in food. Cr (III) is an essential nutrient for human.
  2. Cr (VI) is a known respiratory carcinogen and chronic exposure can affect other organs.
  3. The current Hong Kong regulatory level on chromium in vegetables offers adequate public health protection.

Regulatory Control in Hong Kong

With the release of the above quoted media report, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has maintained close contact with State General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine, the Mainland authority, in following up the situation. The CFS has also stepped up chromium testing on vegetables, especially those from the farms in the affected area. The results were all satisfactory, with only three out of 148 samples taken from late August to mid September containing low level of total chromium detected from 0.05 to 0.06 ppm, much lower than the local regulatory level of 1 ppm on total chromium in vegetables.

As for the CFS regular surveillance, of the 944 vegetable samples taken between January 2010 and August 2011, only six (0.6%) were detected to have total chromium at a level ranged from 0.07 to 0.6 mg/kg. For the only sample that exceeded the Mainland standard of 0.5 mg/kg, we have conducted a risk assessment based on local food consumption data and it shows that adverse effects are unlikely. We have also found that the current Hong Kong regulatory level of 1 ppm of total chromium in vegetables would not pose adverse effects to the public health.

For more efficient regulatory control, the CFS has initiated a review on the regulatory standards on heavy metals, including chromium, in food. A working group has been formed under the Expert Committee on Food Safety.

Advice to the Public

  • Purchase vegetables from reliable retailers;
  • Wash vegetables thoroughly before cooking as substantial proportion of heavy metals and contaminants can be removed by washing;
  • Maintain a balanced diet and eat a variety of vegetables and food.

Advice to Trade

  • Source vegetables from reliable suppliers;
  • Farms should practise good agriculture practice and avoid using contaminated water for irrigation.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-10-2011

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一一年十月第六十三期) - 焦点个案

蔬 菜 与 铬 污 染

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

今年八月底,本港某报章称,从数个位于云南省曲靖市附近距离非法倾倒铬渣地点约三公里的注册供港菜场所抽取的蔬菜样本,验出含有每公斤0.21至0.64毫克铬。本文会阐述铬对市民健康可能造成的影响,并探讨本港对铬的规管情况。

图一
今年八月底,本港某报章报道曾就青梗菜(又称小棠菜)、芥兰及菜心进行铬总含量测试

铬 ― 从大自然到食物

铬及其化合物天然广泛存在于地球上。铬主要以三种形态存在于岩石、土壤、植物、动物和火山爆发时的喷出物,当中大部分为金属铬和三价铬化合物,而六价铬则主要属于工业活动产物。美国国家研究委员会在二零零五年发表的一份刊物指出,植物所吸收的六价铬会即时在根部转化成三价铬。

大气中的铬主要是尘粒,并会透过沉降方式沉积在土壤和水中。铬对人体健康十分重要,因为它是胰岛素发挥作用所需的元素。海产、肉类和谷类是膳食铬的丰富来源。当使用不锈钢、金属和陶瓷制成的食物容器时,铬可能会透过这些容器进入食物链。

铬的毒性和致癌性

三价铬和金属铬并非致癌物,但过量摄入三价铬仍可能令心脏停止跳动。美国国家环境保护局基于三价铬会令老鼠的肝及脾重量减轻(毒理学终点)的研究,把不可溶性三价铬盐的长期口服参考剂量订为每日每公斤体重1.5毫克。

另一方面,按每公斤体重计算,摄入50至70毫克六价铬会导致急性中毒,可损害肝脏及肾脏。长期摄入六价铬化合物可损害皮肤、呼吸道、肾脏、肝脏、胃肠道和循环系统,经实验证明会引致基因改变和细胞突变。国际癌症研究机构已表明,从工作环境中吸入六价铬可令人患呼吸道癌,但未能确定经口服途径摄入六价铬会否致癌。美国国家环境保护局基于六价铬会令老鼠出现器官变化的研究,把六价铬的长期口服参考剂量订为每日每公斤体重0.003毫克。

 

注意要点:

  1. 食物中的铬主要以三价铬的形态存在。三价铬是人体必需的营养素。
  2. 六价铬是呼吸道致癌物,长期摄入会损害其他器官。
  3. 本港现时有关蔬菜中铬含量的规管水平可充分保障市民健康。

本港的规管

在上述传媒报道刊出后,食物安全中心(中心)与内地有关当局国家质量监督检验检疫总局保持密切联络,跟进有关情况。中心又加强对蔬菜进行铬测试,特别是来自相关地区菜场的蔬菜,由八月底至九月中抽取共148个样本作检测,只有三个验出含小量铬,总含量由百万分之0.05至0.06不等,结果全部合格。是次所验出的铬水平远低于本港有关蔬菜中总铬含量的规管水平百万分之一。

至于日常监察工作方面,中心在二零一零年一月至二零一一年八月共抽取了944个蔬菜样本,当中只有六个(0.6%)验出含铬,总含量介乎每公斤0.07至0.6毫克。对于超出内地标准每公斤0.5毫克铬的唯一一个样本,我们利用本港食物消费量的资料进行风险评估,结果显示不会影响市民健康。同时,我们的风险评估也认为,现时本港就蔬菜订出的总铬含量百万分之一的规管水平,并不会影响市民的健康。

为加强规管工作,中心已就食物中重金属(包括铬)的规管标准展开检讨,并在食物安全专家委员会之下设立工作小组。

给市民的建议

  • 向可靠的零售商购买蔬菜;
  • 彻底洗净蔬菜才烹煮,因为清洗过程可大量除去蔬菜中的重金属及污染物;
  • 保持均衡饮食,进食不同的蔬菜及食物。

给业界的建议

  • 向可靠的供应商采购蔬菜;
  • 菜场应奉行优良务农规范,避免以受污染的水灌溉蔬菜。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-10-2011