Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Risk in Brief

Bracken Ferns and Carcinogen

What are Bracken Ferns?

Bracken ferns are a group of ferns of the species Pteridium aquilinum and its numerous subspecies.  Bracken ferns are found in many parts of the world and can grow especially fast in defrosted areas like at the edge of woodlands and recently abandoned farmlands and pastures and also in sunny slopes.   They are found in most continents and under many climates except for desert and arctic climates.  They are most commonly found in Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand and are considered weeds in many other countries.  Bracken fern is native to Hong Kong and China, and is mainly found in southern China and in Taiwan in these geographical areas.  Its leaves (fronds) have distinctive shape and have rhizomes grown underground. 

Consumption of Bracken Ferns

Bracken ferns had been harvested for food and other uses for centuries.  It has been reported to be grown commercially in Japan, Canada, Siberia, USA and China for consumption.  The bracken fern rhizomes had been used to make bread by Maori natives in New Zealand and in Europe during food shortage.  In Japan, young bracken fern leaves (fiddleheads) are reported to be prepared by boiling or by pickling before further preparation.  Bracken ferns are known to be a hazard to grazing farm animals as they can cause a number of diseases after ingestion.  Chemicals from bracken ferns can also be found in the dairy products the affected animals produced.  The Canadian Government had advised people who collected fiddleheads of another species of fern (ostrich fern) for food to clean, cook in generous amount of boiling water or steam till tender before further preparations in order to prevent food poisoning due to improper preparation.   

What is the Health Concern?

Numerous chemicals had been isolated from bracken ferns.  Of those chemicals, ptaquiloside, a highly water soluble chemical, had aroused much interest as it may have carcinogenic properties.  Toxic chemicals were reported to be found in all parts of bracken fern. 

A number of animal carcinogenicity studies had been performed by oral administration with dried, processed and components isolated from bracken ferns.  In animals studies on mice, rats, guinea pigs, toads except cows, bracken fern caused malignant or benign intestinal tumours, especially in small intestines.  It can also cause bladder cancer in rats, guinea pigs and cows.  Rats study with bracken fern diet as processed for human consumption had produced intestinal tumours.  However, the incident rate is lower than that of unprocessed bracken fern.    
          
The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) had classified, in 1987, bracken fern as “possibly carcinogenic to humans” (Group 2B) due to inadequate evidence for carcinogenicity to humans but sufficient evidence for carcinogenicity to animals

How to Reduce the Risk?

With reference to the above findings and that bracken ferns are not commonly consumed in Hong Kong, we have the following recommendations to consumers:

  • Avoid overindulgence in bracken fern products. 
  • Proper processing and preparation is essential in order to reduce the level of harmful chemicals in bracken fern.  For example, boil the fiddleheads in large amount of boiling water for 15 minutes or steam the fiddleheads for 10 to 12 minutes or until tender and discard the water before further cooking can help to lower the level of water soluble toxic chemicals in the fiddleheads. 
  • The public is advised to maintain a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to natural toxins and contaminants in general from a small range of food items.

Young leaves of bracken fern (Pteridium aquilinum) Photo by ©Al Schneider
Young leaves of bracken fern (Pteridium aquilinum) Photo by ©Al Schneider, www.swcoloradowildflowers.com

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
August 2014

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 27-08-2014

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

风险简讯

蕨菜与致癌物

什么是蕨菜?

蕨菜是一类由Pteridium aquilinum品种的蕨及其多个亚种组成的蕨类植物,遍布世界多处。蕨菜在采伐过的地方(例如林地边陲、荒废不久的农地和牧地)和阳光充沛的山坡,生长得特别茂盛。蕨菜除了不宜在沙漠和极地气候生长外,在全球多个大洲和不同气候下都能生长,其中以欧洲、北美洲、澳洲和新西兰最为常见,不少其他国家还把蕨菜当作杂草。蕨菜是香港和中国的本土植物,就所在地域而言,主要遍布华南地区和台湾。蕨菜的叶(蕨叶)形状独特,根茎生长于地底。

食用蕨菜

人类自古以来已懂得采摘蕨菜作食物和其他用途。据报道日本、加拿大、西伯利亚、美国和中国皆有以商业耕作形式种植蕨菜以供食用。昔日新西兰的毛利族人以蕨菜的根茎制造面包,而欧洲则曾用来应付粮食短缺。据闻日本人以蕨菜的嫩叶(嫩蕨叶)配制食物前,先用沸水煮这些叶或进行盐腌,然后再作处理。已知蕨菜会危害在农场放牧的动物,因为动物进食蕨菜后可能患上多种疾病。用进食蕨菜动物的乳汁制造的乳制品,也可能含有蕨菜中的化学物。加拿大政府曾建议采集另一种蕨类植物(鸵鸟蕨)的嫩蕨叶食用的人,必须洗净蕨菜,再以大量沸水煮或蒸至软身,然后才配制食物,以免配制方法不当而引致食物中毒。

对健康有什么影响?

从蕨菜中可分离出许多种化学物。在这些化学物中,原蕨苷(ptaquiloside)是一种水溶性甚高的化学物,其可能致癌的特性令人关注。有报告指蕨菜的所有部分都含有有毒化学物。

在许多对动物致癌性的研究中,是给动物喂服蕨菜干、加工处理的蕨菜和从蕨菜分离出来的成分。根据动物研究的结果,除了母牛以外,喂服蕨菜导致小鼠、大鼠、天竺鼠和蟾蜍患上恶性或良性的肠道肿瘤,特别是小肠肿瘤。此外,大鼠、天竺鼠和母牛也因此患上膀胱癌。以大鼠进行的研究显示,大鼠给喂服以供人食用的方式处理的蕨菜后患上肠道肿瘤。不过,发生率低于被喂服未经处理蕨菜大鼠。

虽然欠缺充分证据证明蕨菜可令人类患癌,但已有充分证据证明会令动物患癌。因此,国际癌症研究机构在1987年把蕨菜列为“或可能令人类患癌的物质”(第2B组物质)。

如何减低风险?

根据上述研究结果,又鉴于香港市民并不常吃蕨菜,我们向消费者作出下列建议:

  • 不宜过量进食蕨菜产品。
  • 为减低蕨菜的有害化学物含量,妥善的处理及配制程序至为重要。举例来说,首先以大量沸水煮嫩蕨叶15分钟,或把嫩蕨叶蒸10至12分钟或蒸至软身,弃掉蒸煮嫩蕨叶的水份,然后才进一步烹煮,有助减低嫩蕨叶中水溶性有毒化学物含量。
  • 市民应保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食几类食品而过量摄入天然毒素和一般的污染物。

蕨菜是蕨(Pteridium aquilinum)的嫩叶。(照片由©Al Schneider提供 www.swcoloradowildflowers.com)
蕨菜是蕨(Pteridium aquilinum)的嫩叶。(照片由©Al Schneider提供 www.swcoloradowildflowers.com)


食物安全中心
风险评估组
2014年8月


上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 27-08-2014