Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (67th Issue, February 2012) – Incident in Focus

Aflatoxins in Milk

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Subsequent to the Mainland authority’s report on 26 December 2011 regarding the detection of excessive levels of aflatoxin M1 at 1.2 μg/kg in a popular Mainland brand of pre-packaged milk, there was much media and public attention. This article updates the relevant assessment and investigation after the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) became aware of the report on the same day through daily food incident surveillance.

Aflatoxins are Undesirable for Human Health

Aflatoxins are a group of toxins produced by three species of mould (fungi) of the genus Aspergillus, namely, A. flavus , A. parasiticus and A. nomius. Aflatoxin B1 is the most predominant form in aflatoxin-contaminated crops while B2, G1 and G2 are also commonly found among about 20 aflatoxins. When cows, sheep, goats or other ruminant animals have consumed feeds contaminated with aflatoxins B1 and B2, aflatoxins M1 and M2 will be formed as a result of the metabolic process in liver of ruminants and excreted in milk. In other words, human beings can be exposed to the toxins through consumption of contaminated milk and other foods.

Aflatoxins can cause both acute and chronic toxicity. Aflatoxin B1 is the most potent aflatoxin and can cause acute liver damage and cirrhosis in animals. Naturally occurring aflatoxins, including aflatoxin B1 has been classified as a human carcinogen (Group 1) by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Aflatoxin M1 is also classified by IARC as a possible human carcinogen (Group 2B) where it has a cancer potency at about one-tenth that of aflatoxin B1. The relationship between aflatoxins and liver cancer may be complicated by other factors, including liver carcinogens such as hepatitis B virus.

(Photo of a cow eating fodders) Cows will metabolise aflatoxin B1 in contaminated feeds to give aflatoxin M1, which is found in milk.
Cows will metabolise aflatoxin B1 in contaminated feeds to give aflatoxin M1, which is found in milk.

Reducing Aflatoxins at Source

Once produced, aflatoxins are stable in many foods. Common cooking methods like boiling, pressure cooking (autoclaving) and pasteurisation will not be able to destroy aflatoxins completely. Control at source is the most effective means for reducing aflatoxins.

Since the aflatoxins-producing moulds are more commonly found in warmer parts of the world, a wide range of tropical and subtropical crops can be affected. Peanuts, corn and cottonseeds are, among others, most frequently incriminated. The most common cause of aflatoxin contamination for crops in the field is major drought which increases their susceptibility to Aspergillus infection. After the crops are harvested, contamination can occur during storage when there is delayed drying or when the moisture level exceeds a certain critical level. Pests like rodents and insects present during storage may also facilitate mould infestation for some commodities. If required, physical methods like cleaning and sorting of mould-affected products, milling of grains and fermentation are known to be capable of reducing the amount of aflatoxins present to levels acceptable for consumption.

Milk is among the important sources of aflatoxins in the human food chain. While both aflatoxins M1 and B1 can be present in milk, the former is about ten times more abundant. Taking into account the potential quantity of human consumption as well as the vulnerable population, exposure to aflatoxin M1 through the consumption of milk has all along been a greater concern than other aflatoxins from the public health perspective.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Aflatoxin-producing moulds usually grow in tropical and subtropical areas.
  2. Aflatoxin contamination can occur both pre- and post-harvest.
  3. Aflatoxins are carcinogenic.

    Regulatory Control in Hong Kong

    In Hong Kong, the CFS conducts regular surveillance on aflatoxins in milk. From 2009 to 2011, the CFS took a total of 129 milk samples for aflatoxin analysis. Though 16 samples were found to contain aflatoxin M1 at levels ranged from 0.01 to 0.22 μg/kg, none had exceeded the relevant local standards as well as that of the Codex (same as Mainland standard).

    In addition, as a follow-up to the incident detected on 26 December 2011, the CFS has contacted both the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of Mainland China and the concerned local distributor. Aflatoxin testing on local samples of the alleged brand of milk taken subsequently was able to meet both the local and Codex requirements. It was also revealed that the milk product concerned did not come from the affected area.


    Advice to the Public

    • Purchase food from reliable retailers.
    • Store products like corn, peanuts, etc. properly and avoid excessive moisture.


    Advice to Trade

    • Source grain products and milk from reliable suppliers.
    • Maintain proper storage condition of grains to discourage mould growth.
    • Source control should be done in the field and during storage to reduce growth of toxin-producing moulds.

         

        Back  Back to Top
         
        Last Revision Date : 16-02-2012

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一二年二月第六十七期) - 焦点个案

牛 奶 中 的 黄 曲 霉 毒 素

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告


内地当局于二零一一年十二月二十六日公告,某内地著名牌子的盒装牛奶验出黄曲霉毒素M1超标,含量为每千克1.2微克,事件随即引起传媒及公众广泛关注。食物安全中心在报道当天,通过每天食物事故监察系统得悉事件后,进行了连串评估和调查工作。本文为大家报告最新情况。

黄曲霉毒素对人类健康有害

黄曲霉毒素是由黄曲霉菌属(Aspergillus)的三种真菌(A.flavusA.parasiticusA.nomius)产生的一组毒素。在目前已知约20种黄曲霉毒素中,农作物最常受黄曲霉毒素B1污染,其次是B2、G1及G2。当乳牛、绵羊、山羊或其他反刍动物吃了受黄曲霉毒素B1和B2污染的饲料后,毒素经动物肝脏的代谢过程,转化为黄曲霉毒素M1和M2,随乳汁分泌出来。换言之,人类吃了受污染的牛奶和其他食物,也会摄入这些毒素。

黄曲霉毒素会引起急性和慢性中毒。在各类黄曲霉毒素中,以黄曲霉毒素B1的毒性最强,可引致动物出现急性肝脏受损及肝硬化。国际癌症研究机构把天然存在的黄曲霉毒素(包括黄曲霉毒素B1)列为令人类患癌的物质(第1组),而致癌性约为黄曲霉毒素B1十分之一的黄曲霉毒素M1则被列为或可能令人类患癌的物质(第2B组)。黄曲霉毒素与肝癌的关系可能受其他因素影响,如其他肝脏致癌物质包括乙型肝炎病毒等。

(照片显示一只小乳牛正在吃干草。)当乳牛吃了受黄曲霉毒素B1污染的饲料后,部分B1会经过体内的代谢作用,被转化为黄曲霉毒素M1,随牛奶分泌出来。
当乳牛吃了受黄曲霉毒素B1污染的饲料后,部分B1会经过体内的代谢作用,被转化为黄曲霉毒素M1,随牛奶分泌出来。

透过源头管制减少摄入黄曲霉毒素

黄曲霉毒素一旦产生,在很多食物中都呈稳定状态,普通的烹煮方法如煮沸、压力烹调(高压消毒处理)以及巴士德消毒法都未能彻底消灭黄曲霉毒素。因此,源头管制是最有效对付黄曲霉毒素的方法。

产生黄曲霉毒素的霉菌多见于世界上较温暖的地方,因此多种热带或亚热带地区出产的农作物均受影响,其中以花生、玉米和棉籽最常受到污染。田地里的农作物受黄曲霉毒素污染,最常见的原因是遭遇大旱,因为干旱的气候令植物较易受黄曲霉侵染。另一方面,农作物在收成后贮存时,若迟迟未烘干,或湿度超过一定的临界值时,也会受到污染。另外,若贮存期间遇鼠害虫蛀,也会令某些农作物容易受霉菌感染。如有需要,有些物理方法,例如漂洗、剔除发霉的产品、碾磨谷物和发酵等均可减少霉菌毒素的分量,达到可供食用的水平。

牛奶是人类食物链中主要的黄曲霉毒素来源之一。虽然黄曲霉毒素M1和B1可以同时在牛奶中存在,但前者的含量是后者的十倍。考虑到食用量及易受影响的人口等因素,从公众健康的角度来说,经牛奶摄入黄曲霉毒素M1一向比摄入其他黄曲霉毒素更受关注。

注意要点:

  1. 产生黄曲霉毒素的霉菌通常生长于热带及亚热带地区。
  2. 农作物于收成期前后均有可能受黄曲霉毒素污染。
  3. 黄曲霉毒素是致癌物质。


    本港的规管情况

    在本港,食物安全中心定期监察牛奶中的黄曲霉毒素。由二零零九年至二零一一年期间,中心一共抽取了129个牛奶样本作黄曲霉毒素检测,其中 16个样本验出黄曲霉毒素M1,但含量介乎每千克0.01微克至0.22微克之间,全部低于有关的本地及食品法典委员会(与内地标准一致)的标准。

    另外,为跟进前文所述二零一一年十二月二十六日的食物事故,中心分别联络了国家质检总局及有关的本地分销商了解事件。中心也在本港抽取涉及品牌的牛奶样本进行黄曲霉毒素检测,结果符合本地及食品法典委员会的标准。我们其后得悉,该品牌输港的奶类制品并非来自受影响地区。


    给市民的建议

    • 光顾可靠的零售商。
    • 妥善贮存食物如玉米、花生等,保持环境干燥。


    给业界的建议

    • 向可靠的供应商购买谷物产品和牛奶。
    • 妥善贮存谷物,防止霉菌生长。
    • 从耕作及贮存两方面采取源头管制措施,以抑制产生毒素的霉菌生长。

       

      上 一 页   返 回 页 首
       
      最近修订日期 : 16-02-2012