Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (85th Issue, August 2013) – Incident in Focus

Trans Fats in Infant Formula – Avoid the Unavoidable?

Reported by Dr. Violette LIN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In early July 2013, a newspaper reported that some infant formulae in the Mainland contained trans fats at 0.4-0.6g/100g powder that could lead to heart disease and should be avoided by infants. The China Food and Drug Administration subsequently issued a statement noting that the levels of trans fats in over 10 000 samples of Mainland-produced (0.019-0.574g/100g) and imported (0.024-0.367g/100g) formulae for infants and young children were within national and international safety standards.

What are Trans Fats and Where Do They Come From?

Trans fats are unsaturated fats with at least a double bond in trans configuration. Trans fats can come from natural sources or be formed during food processing.

Natural trans fats occur at low levels in milk and milk products (e.g. cheese, butter), meat of ruminants (e.g. cattle, sheep, goats), and in human breastmilk. In ruminants, small amount of trans fats may be formed when microbes in the animal’s stomach convert unsaturated fats to saturated fats. Depending on the breed, the feed and the season, dairy and beef fat typically contain trans fats at 3-6% of total fat.

Trans fats may be formed during the hydrogenation process of vegetable oils for producing the semi-solid and solid fats that are widely used in food manufacture and catering outlets (e.g. margarines, biscuits, pastries). These partially hydrogenated oils, which are relatively inexpensive, can increase the shelf life and enhance the texture of the food. Low levels of trans fats may be generated when refining vegetable oils at high temperatures.

Why Do Trans Fats Appear in Infant Formulae?

The trans fats detected in infant formulae are likely from milk fat and vegetables oils (see Illustration). Since trans fats are endogenous components of milk fat, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) allows the use of milk fat in infant formulae and accepts up to 3% of total fatty acids from trans fats. However, according to Codex standard, commercially hydrogenated oils and fats shall not be used in infant formulae.

Sources of trans fats in infant formula
Sources of trans fats in infant formula

How Does Excessive Trans Fats Intake Affect Health?

Excessive trans fats intake increases the risk for coronary heart diseases (CHD) through raising low-density lipoprotein cholesterol and decreasing high-density lipoprotein cholesterol in the blood. The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations suggests children aged 2-18 years and adults to have less than 1% of daily energy intake from trans fats from ruminant and industrially-produced sources. This is because there is convincing evidence that trans fats from commercial partially hydrogenated vegetable oils increase risk of CHD. However, currently there is no evidence that trans fats intake has a safety issue in normal infants 0-24 months old.

Trans fats are not synthesised by the human body and are not required in the diet. Whilst natural trans fats cannot be removed entirely from the diet, their intake is low in most populations worldwide and to date there is no conclusive evidence supporting an association between CHD risks and the amount of natural trans fats usually consumed. In contrast, trans fats formed during food processing have no health benefits but clear risks to health.

How to Avoid Trans Fats in the Diet?

The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that energy intake from total fat should be limited, and fat consumption should be shifted away from saturated fat to unsaturated fat and towards the elimination of trans fats. The Centre for Food Safety has been studying the trans fats content in various foods. The Nutrition Information Inquiry System or the information in the nutrition labels can help consumers to choose foods with no or lower trans fats.

Even though natural trans fats are present in small amounts in both infant formulae and breastmilk, WHO advocates breastmilk as the ideal natural food for the healthy growth and development of infants. The Department of Health encourages parents to exclusively breastfeed infants for the first six months of life and then provides complementary foods while breastfeeding continues for up to two years of age or beyond.

Key Points to Note:

  • Low levels of trans fats can be present in infant formulae from milk fat and vegetable oils.
  • It is normal to find small amount of trans fats in infant formulae.
  • Currently, there is no evidence showing that trans fats in infant formulae could lead to heart disease in infants.

Advice to the Consumers

  1. Breastmilk is the ideal food for the healthy growth and development of infants.
  2. When it is necessary to choose infant formulae, purchase them from reliable sources.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Apply good manufacturing practice when producing infant formulae.
  2. Obtain infant formula supplies from reliable sources which comply with Codex requirement for trans fats content.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-08-2013

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年八月第八十五期)- 焦點個案

嬰兒配方奶中的反式脂肪–欲避無從?

食物安全中心
食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任林伏波博士報告

二零一三年七月初,某報章報道內地幾款嬰兒配方奶粉每100克奶粉含有0.4至0.6克反式脂肪,可能導致心臟病,嬰兒不宜飲用。其後國家食品藥品監督管理總局發表聲明,表示檢測了逾一萬個嬰幼兒配方奶粉樣本,其中國產奶粉中的檢測值為每100克奶粉含0.019至0.574克反式脂肪,而進口奶粉的檢測值為每100克奶粉含0.024至0.367克反式脂肪,全部符合國家及國際安全標準。

反式脂肪是什麼?來自何方?

反式脂肪屬於不飽和脂肪,在結構上含有至少一個反式雙鍵。反式脂肪會天然產生,也會在食品加工的過程中產生。

奶類和奶製品(如芝士和牛油)、反芻動物(如牛、羊和山羊)的肉和人乳均含有少量天然反式脂肪。反芻動物胃內的微生物把不飽和脂肪轉化為飽和脂肪時可能會產生少量反式脂肪。視乎品種、飼料和季節,奶製品和牛的脂肪通常含有約3-6%反式脂肪(%以總脂肪計算)。

另一方面,植物油的氫化過程中也可能產生反式脂肪。植物油經工業氫化後製成半固體及固體狀脂肪,廣泛用於食物製造和食肆(如人造牛油、餅乾和酥皮餅點等)。這些成本低廉的部分氫化植物油可延長食品的保質期和改善口感。此外,在高溫精煉植物油的過程中也會產生少量反式脂肪。

為何反式脂肪會在嬰兒配方奶中出現?

嬰兒配方奶中檢出的反式脂肪很可能來自奶脂肪和植物油(見圖)。由於反式脂肪是奶脂肪的內源性成分,食品法典委員會容許在嬰兒配方奶中使用奶脂肪,但反式脂肪含量不應超過總脂肪酸的3%。不過,食品法典委員會規定,嬰兒配方奶不可使用商業用氫化油脂。

嬰兒配方奶中的反式脂肪來源
嬰兒配方奶中的反式脂肪來源

攝取過量反式脂肪對健康有何影響?

攝取過量反式脂肪會提高血液中低密度脂蛋白膽固醇濃度,並使高密度脂蛋白膽固醇濃度下降,從而增加罹患冠心病的風險。聯合國糧食及農業組織建議,2至18歲的兒童及成人從飲食攝取的反式脂肪(包括由反芻動物及工業產生)應低於每天攝入能量的1%,因為有令人信服的證據顯示,商業用的部分氫化植物油所含的反式脂肪可增加罹患冠心病的風險。然而,目前還沒有證據表明,反式脂肪的攝入會對一般0至24個月大的嬰幼兒構成安全問題。人體不能自行合成反式脂肪,亦毋須從膳食中攝取反式脂肪。雖然膳食中難免會有天然反式脂肪的存在,但全球大部分人口所攝取的天然反式脂肪分量很低,而且沒有確實的證據支持平常的攝入量與冠心病的風險有關聯。相反,食品加工過程中產生的反式脂肪對健康有百害而無一利。

如何避免從膳食中攝入反式脂肪?

世界衞生組織(世衞)建議應限制來自總脂肪的能量攝入,並使脂肪攝入從飽和脂肪轉向不飽和脂肪,以及逐步消除反式脂肪。食物安全中心一直致力檢測各種食物中的反式脂肪含量。營養資料查詢系統營養標籤上的資料均有助消費者選購完全不含或含較少反式脂肪的食品。雖然嬰兒配方奶和母乳兩者都含微量反式脂肪,但世衞主張母乳是嬰兒健康成長發育的最佳天然食品。衞生署也鼓勵父母在嬰兒出生後首六個月應該純以母乳餵哺,之後在餵哺母乳的同時開始添加補充食物,直至孩子兩歲或以上。

注意要點:

  • 嬰兒配方奶中可能含有來自奶脂肪和植物油的少量反式脂肪。
  • 嬰兒配方奶存在微量反式脂肪是正常的。
  • 目前沒有證據顯示嬰兒配方奶中的反式脂肪會導致嬰兒罹患心臟病。

給消費者的建議

  1. 母乳是嬰兒健康成長發育的理想食品。
  2. 如須選購嬰兒配方奶,應光顧可靠的店鋪。

給業界的建議

  1. 按照優良製造規範來製造嬰兒配方奶。
  2. 光顧可靠的嬰兒配方奶供應商,確保其產品的反式脂肪含量合乎食品法典委員會標準。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:22-08-2013