Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (16th Issue, November 2007) – Incident in Focus

Trans Fats in Foods

Reported by Ms. Melissa LIU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

In response to increasing health concern over trans fats in food internationally and locally, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) and the Consumer Council conducted a joint study on trans fats in foods in Hong Kong to test the levels of trans fats in foods available in the local market and to enhance consumer understanding on trans fats and their health implications. The results of the study were announced on 15 October and published in the October issue of CHOICE magazine.

A total of 80 prepackaged and non-prepackaged food products, including bakery products, deep fried foods, butter and margarine/margarine-like spreads, were collected for testing. The study found that the trans fats levels varied a lot among same kind of food, whereas some of the products tested, such as cream-filled bread with shredded coconut, contained high levels of trans fats.

Illustration: Cream-filled bread with shredded coconut

What are Trans Fats?

Trans fats, also called trans fatty acids, are a type of unsaturated fats. They are mainly formed during the process of hydrogenation of vegetable oils. During hydrogenation, the structure of the fatty acid molecules in the oil changes, which allows the hydrogenated oil to have longer shelf-life and provide desirable texture to the food it produces. These fatty acids with changed structure are known as “trans fats”.

Illustration: Molecular structures of unsaturated fatty acids
Left: cis-unsaturated fatty acid (carbon atoms joined by a double bond, cis-configuration). Right: Trans-unsaturated fatty acid (carbon atoms joined by a double bond, trans-configuration).

 

What Food may Contain Trans Fats?

Hydrogenated vegetable oils, such as some shortening and margarines produced by hydrogenation, are usually high in trans fats. Trans fats in our diet mainly come from fried and bakery products with hydrogenated vegetable oil. Trans fats are also present naturally in milk and fats of sheep and cattle, such as whole milk and butter, but only at low levels.

Examples of foods that may be produced with hydrogenated vegetable oil:

  • Crackers
  • Chips
  • Cakes
  • Salad dressings
  • Pastries
  • Dried/powdered non-dairy creamers
  • Bread
  • Fried products such as French fries

 

What are the Health Concerns Regarding Trans Fats in Food?

Trans fats increase the level of low density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, the harmful cholesterol, while at the same time reduce the level of high density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol, the beneficial cholesterol. This increases the risk of heart disease, which is the second major killer in Hong Kong . The World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations suggest that diets should provide a very low intake of trans fatty acids. In practice, less than 1% of daily energy intake should be from trans fats1 . For example, an individual with a daily energy intake of 2000 kilocalories should limit the intake of trans fats to less than 2.2 grams per day.

What are the Differences Between Trans Fats and Saturated Fats?

Saturated fats, also known as saturated fatty acids, are abundant in animal fats such as butter and lard, as well as some vegetable oils such as coconut oil. As they are in solid state at room temperature, they can be easily recognised. Similar to trans fats, saturated fats also increase the level of LDL cholesterol. However, unlike trans fats, they do not reduce the level of HDL cholesterol.

Trans fats intake varies in different countries. It ranges from 0.6% of total energy intake in the Australian population, to 2.6% daily energy intake in the American population. Studies showed that an extra intake of 2% energy from trans fats (e.g., about 4.4 g extra trans fats intake for an individual with 2000 kcal daily energy intake) led to an increase of 23% of risk of heart disease, but if the same level of extra energy was from saturated fats instead, the risk of heart disease only increased by 2% 2 ,3 (Figure 1). Therefore, trans fats are believed to be more harmful to health than saturated fats.

Since both saturated fats and trans fats can increase the risk of heart disease, it is healthier to choose food low in both saturated and trans fats.

Are Alternative Fats and Oils Available?

Our study found that trans fats levels varied a lot among same kind of food. Such results indicate that it is practically possible to reduce trans fats level in food. Hydrogenated fats and oils may be replaced by those oils high in monounsaturated (e.g. canola oil and olive oil) and polyunsaturated fats (e.g. soybean oil , corn oil and sunflower seed oil), which are beneficial to health if taken in appropriate amount.

Advice to the Trade and Public

The public should maintain a balanced diet and avoid deep-fried and fatty foods. They should also read food labels, avoid foods produced with hydrogenated oils or fats, and choose food that have lower fat contents (including saturated fats and trans fats).

The trade is advised to reduce trans fats level in food products by avoiding the use of hydrogenated vegetable oil. The ingredients used should be clearly declared for prepackaged food and should not be misleading so that consumers can make informed choices of their food.

1 WHO. Diet, nutrition and prevention of chronic diseases. Report of a Joint WHO/FAO Expert Consultation. WHO Technical Report 916. World Health Organization, Geneva 2003.
2 Mozaffarian D, Katan M, Ascherio A, Stampfer M, Willett W. Trans fatty acids and cardiovascular disease. NEJM 2006. 354; 15: 1601-1613.
3 Sampfer MF, Sacks FM, Salvini S, Willett WC, Hennekens CH. A prospective study of cholesterol, apolipoproteins, and the risk of myocardial infarction. NEJM 1991; 325; 6: 373-381.  

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :29-11-2007

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零七年十一月第十六期)-焦點個案

食物中的反式脂肪

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任廖珮珊女士報告

背景

鑑於世界各地的人和香港市民愈來愈關注食物中反式脂肪對健康的影響,食物安全中心 ( 中心 ) 聯同消費者委員會就本港食品中的反式脂肪進行研究,以測試市面上食物中的反式脂肪含量,並提高消費者對反式脂肪及其引致的健康影響的認識。研究結果已於十月十五日公布,並詳載於十月的《選擇》月刊。

研究一共抽取了 80 個預先包裝和非預先包裝的食品作測試,包括烘焙食品、油炸食品、牛油和軟人造牛油類產品, 結果 發現同類食品的反式脂肪含量差異很大,而部分測試食品如椰絲奶油包的反式脂肪含量偏高。

 

插圖:椰絲奶油包

反式脂肪是什麼?

反式脂肪又稱為反式脂肪酸,屬於不飽和脂肪,主要在植物油的氫化過程中形成。植物油中的脂肪酸分子結構在氫化過程中會改變,令氫化的油可延長保質期,並提升以這種油生產的食品的口感 。 這種改變了結構的脂肪酸稱為“反式脂肪”。

 

插圖:不飽和脂肪酸的分子結構
左 : 順式不飽和脂肪酸 ( 以雙鍵連接的碳分子,順式構型 )
右 : 反式不飽和脂肪酸 ( 以雙鍵連接的碳分子,反式構型 )

 

哪些食物可能含有反式脂肪?

氫化植物油,例如一些經氫化過程製成的起酥油和人造牛油,通常含大量反式脂肪。我們從飲食中攝取到的反式脂肪主要來自以氫化植物油配製的油炸及烘焙食品。此外,反式脂肪亦會天然存在於牛和羊的奶和脂肪,例如全脂牛奶及牛油,但含量偏低。

可能以氫化植物油製成的食品例子:

  • 餅乾
  • 脆片類零食
  • 蛋糕
  • 沙律醬
  • 酥皮糕點
  • 植脂奶粉
  • 麫包
  • 薯條等油炸食品

 

食物中的反式脂肪對健康有何影響?

反式脂肪會增加低密度脂蛋白膽固醇 ( 即對健康有害的膽固醇 ) ,同時減少高密度脂蛋白膽固醇 ( 即對健康有益的膽固醇 ) ,導致罹患心臟病的風險增加,而此病高居本港最常見致命疾病的第二位。世界?生組織和聯合國糧食及農業組織建議,反式脂肪攝取量應維持在極低水平,即少於人體每天所需熱量的 1%1。以每天攝取 2 000 千卡熱量的人為例,反式脂肪的每天攝取量應少於 2.2 克。

 

反式脂肪及飽和脂肪有何分別?

飽和脂肪又稱為飽和脂肪酸。牛油和豬油等動物油脂及椰油等某些植物油含有大量飽和脂肪。這種脂肪在室溫下會呈固體狀,容易辨認。飽和脂肪與反式脂肪相似,同樣會增加低密度脂蛋白膽固醇,但分別之處是飽和脂肪不會減低高密度脂蛋白膽固醇。

不同國家的人的反式脂肪攝取量會有差異,澳洲人的攝取量為熱量總攝取量的 0.6% ,而美國人則為每天熱量攝取量的 2.6% 。研究顯示,從反式脂肪額外攝取 2% 熱量 ( 即在每天攝取 2 000 千卡熱量的人?中,他們額外攝取約 4.4 克反式脂肪 ) 會導致心臟病風險增加 23% 。不過,如果增加的同等熱量是來自飽和脂肪,則心臟病風險只會增加 2%2 , 3 ( 圖一 ) ,因此,專家認為反式脂肪對健康造成的損害較飽和脂肪更大。

 

由於飽和脂肪和反式脂肪均會增加罹患心臟病的風險,因此較健康的飲食之道是選吃含較少飽和脂肪及反式脂肪的食物。

 

有沒有其他油脂類可作替代品?

我們的研究發現,同類食品的反式脂肪含量差異很大。有關結果顯示,要減低食物中的反式脂肪含量是切實可行的。經氫化的油脂類可改用含大量單元不飽和脂肪 ( 例如芥花籽油和橄欖油 ) 或多元不飽和脂肪 ( 例如大豆油、粟米油和葵花籽油 ) 的油類代替。如使用分量適當,這些油類均對健康有益。

 

給業界和市民的建議

市民應保持均衡飲食,避免吃油炸和肥膩的食物。此外,又應細閱食物標籤,避免吃以氫化油脂類製成的食物,以及選吃含有較少脂肪 ( 包括飽和脂肪及反式脂肪 ) 的食物。

至於業界,則應避免使用氫化植物油,以減低食品中的反式脂肪含量。此外,又應清楚標示預先包裝食物所含的配料,不得有誤導成分,以便消費者作出知情的選擇。

1  WHO. Diet, nutrition and prevention of chronic diseases. Report of a Joint WHO/FAO Expert Consultation. WHO Technical Report 916. World Health Organization, Geneva 2003.

2  Mozaffarian D, Katan M, Ascherio A, Stampfer M, Willett W. Trans fatty acids and cardiovascular disease. NEJM 2006. 354; 15: 1601-1613.

3  Sampfer MF, Sacks FM, Salvini S, Willett WC, Hennekens CH. A prospective study of cholesterol, apolipoproteins, and the risk of myocardial infarction. NEJM 1991; 325; 6: 373-381.

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-11-2007