Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (133rd Issue, August 2017) – Food Safety Platform

Cadmium: A Metallic Contaminant of Major Public Health Concern

Reported by Ms. Janny MA and Ms. Joan YAU, Scientific Officers,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

To recap, cadmium is one of the four metallic contaminants identified as of major public health concern by the World Health Organization. In this article, let’s find out more about cadmium and explore ways to reduce its exposure from various major food sources as revealed from the local Total Diet Study.

Health Effects

Acute toxicity of cadmium due to dietary exposure is very unlikely. The kidney is the critical target organ in terms of chronic toxicity. Cadmium accumulates mainly in the kidneys and may lead to irreversible kidney dysfunction. High intake of cadmium can also lead to disturbances in calcium metabolism and the formation of kidney stones. In addition, softening of the bones and osteoporosis may occur in those exposed through living or working in cadmium-contaminated areas.

The International Agency for Research on Cancer considered that there was sufficient evidence of carcinogenicity of cadmium and cadmium compounds in humans upon occupation exposure and classified them as Group 1 agent, i.e. carcinogenic to humans. Nevertheless, cadmium did not appear to have significant genotoxic and carcinogenic potential via the oral route.

Local study revealed that the dietary exposure to cadmium of the local population fell below the health-based guidance value (HBGV) (the dietary exposures of average and high consumers of the population accounted for 33% and 75% of HBGV respectively), indicating that the general population was not at risk due to cadmium. HBGV is an estimate of the amount of a chemical that can be ingested over a defined time period without appreciable health risk.

Cadmium in Our Diet

Cadmium contained in soil and water can be taken up by certain crops and aquatic organisms and accumulates in the food-chain. The major dietary sources of cadmium are “vegetables and their products”, “fish and seafood and their products” and “cereals and their products”, which contribute to 36%, 26% and 21% of the total exposure respectively.

Vegetables

The presence of cadmium in vegetables may be due to the absorption of cadmium through the roots. Atmospheric fall-out will also contribute to the content of cadmium, especially for leafy vegetables. In general, cadmium accumulates in the leaves of plants and therefore higher level of cadmium may be found in leafy vegetables such as spinach. In addition, some wild edible fungi may also contain high levels of cadmium.

We should all note that adequate amount of vegetable intake is an essential component of healthy eating. Maintaining a balanced diet with a variety of leafy and non-leafy vegetables can avoid excessive exposure to cadmium from a small range of food items. In addition, washing of vegetables and peeling of roots and tubers can reduce cadmium contamination to some extent.

Seafood

Crustaceans are natural accumulators of cadmium. The Centre for Food Safety Food Surveillance Programme had previously found some crab samples, in particular brown crabs, containing high levels of cadmium. Overseas and local studies have shown that levels of cadmium in the muscle meat of crab claws and legs (commonly referred to as white meat) are low but those in the brown meat (including gonads, liver and digestive glands) can often be higher (see Figure). To reduce the risk, people who consume more crabs, particularly brown crabs, are advised to limit or avoid the consumption of brown meat.

Examples of some adverse health effects (may not be the toxicological end-point of concern and not limited to any specific route or duration of exposure) which may be caused by different metallic contaminants in humans and/or laboratory animals.
Brown meat (including gonads, liver and digestive glands) in brown crabs and viscera of scallops may contain higher levels of cadmium.

Being filter-feeders, cadmium, like other contaminants, is concentrated in viscera of molluscs such as oysters and scallops. To minimise the associated risk, over-indulgence in shellfish consumption should be avoided. Viscera of scallops should also be removed before cooking and only the adductor muscles should be consumed.

Fish normally contain lower levels of cadmium.

Cereals

Due to the high consumption, cereals including wheat and rice as well as their derived products are one of the major dietary sources of cadmium in the local population. Cadmium can mainly be found in the outer parts of the grain, which are wholly or partly removed in the milling process. Nevertheless, consumption of whole grains is generally recommended as part of a healthy diet due to the presence of important nutrients such as dietary fibre. All in all, it is essential to take a balanced and varied diet.

What’s Next?

In the next article, let’s have a look on the metallic contaminants in a specific food commodity, i.e. edible fungi.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-08-2017

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一七年八月第一百三十三期)- 食物安全平台

鎘:引起重大公共衞生關注的金屬污染物

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士及邱頌韻女士報告

回顧上期文章內容,是世界衞生組織識別為引起重大公共衞生關注的四種金屬污染物之一。本文將更深入看看鎘,並從本地總膳食研究所載鎘的各種主要食物來源,探討市民減少攝入鎘的方法。

對健康的影響

從膳食攝入鎘導致急性中毒的機會微乎其微。至於慢性鎘中毒,主要受損器官是腎臟。鎘主要積聚在腎臟,或會破壞腎功能,情況不能逆轉。攝入大量鎘亦會導致鈣代謝失調,形成腎結石。此外,因在受鎘污染的地方居住或工作而攝入鎘的人,亦可能出現骨質軟化及患上骨質疏鬆症。

國際癌症研究機構認為有足夠證據證明,因職業關係攝入鎘及鎘化合物會令人患癌,故將鎘及鎘化合物列為第1組物質(即令人類患癌)。然而,從飲食中攝入鎘,似乎不具有明顯的基因毒性,亦不大可能令人患癌。

本地研究顯示香港市民從膳食攝入鎘的分量低於健康參考值(攝入量一般及攝入量偏高的市民,分別為健康參考值的33%及75%),反映一般市民不會因攝入鎘而對他們的健康構成風險。健康參考值是估計人在特定時間內從飲食攝入某化學品而不致對健康帶來顯著風險的分量。

膳食中的鎘

泥土及水所含的鎘能被某些農作物及水生生物所吸收,並在食物鏈中積聚。攝入鎘的主要膳食來源是“蔬菜及蔬菜製品”、“魚類和海產及其製品”及“榖物及榖物製品”,分別佔總攝入量的36%、26%及21%。

蔬菜

蔬菜可透過根部吸收而含有鎘,而大氣的沉降物亦會令蔬菜(特別是葉菜類蔬菜)含有鎘。鎘通常在植物的葉積聚,故葉菜類蔬菜(例如菠菜)的鎘含量或會較高。此外,一些野生食用真菌的鎘含量亦可能較高。

我們應注意,進食足夠分量的蔬菜是健康飲食不可或缺的一環。保持均衡飲食,進食多種葉菜類及非葉菜類蔬菜,可避免因偏吃某幾類食品而過量攝入鎘。此外,清洗蔬菜及把根菜類及薯芋類蔬菜削皮,可在一定程度上減低鎘污染。

海產

甲殼類動物會天然地在體內積聚鎘。食物安全中心的食物監察計劃曾檢出一些鎘含量高的螃蟹樣本(特別是棕褐螃蟹樣本)。海外及本地研究均顯示,蟹鉗及蟹腳的肌肉(一般稱為白肉)的鎘含量較低,但褐色肉(包括性腺、肝臟及消化腺)的鎘含量往往較高(見圖)。進食較多螃蟹(特別是棕褐螃蟹)的人士若要減低風險,應限制或避免進食褐色肉。

不同金屬污染物可能對人類及╱或實驗動物造成一些不良健康影響 (未必是毒理學的最終關注重點,且不限於任何特定攝入途徑或攝入期長短)的例子。
棕褐螃蟹的褐色肉(包括性腺、肝臟及消化腺)及扇貝內臟的鎘含量可能較高。

軟體動物(例如蠔及扇貝) 為濾食性動物,一如其他污染物,鎘也是積聚在內臟。為盡量減低有關風險,市民應避免過量進食貝介類。在烹煮扇貝前,應先摘除內臟,並只進食閉殼肌。

魚類中的鎘含量通常較低。

榖類

由於食用量高,穀類(包括小麥、米及其製品)是本地市民攝入鎘的主要膳食來源之一。鎘主要存在於穀物的外部,可在碾磨的過程中全部或大部分去除。然而,全穀類食物含有膳食纖維等重要營養素,故通常推薦使用全穀類食物作為健康飲食的一環。總的來說,均衡及多元化的飲食至為重要。

下期有什麼內容?

我們將會在下期探討食用真菌這種食品所含的金屬污染物。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-08-2017