Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (133rd Issue, August 2017) – Incident in Focus

Edible Ice Contaminated with Coliform Bacteria

Reported by Dr. Fiona FONG, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Edible ice is widely used in preparing food, e.g. cold drinks. This makes its hygienic quality and safety so important. If not manufactured or handled properly, edible ice can potentially be a vehicle of spreading foodborne diseases.

In July 2017, an edible ice sample collected under the routine Food Surveillance Programme of the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) was found to contain excessive coliform bacteria. This article discusses the potential sources of microbiological contamination in edible ice and preventive measures to minimise the associated risks.

Sources of Edible Ice in Food Premises

Generally speaking, edible ice used for human consumption in retail outlets is from two major sources: (1) supplied by ice manufacturing plants in which the ice is prepared and packed and then transported to the food premises as a packaged form; and (2) produced locally at individual food premises, e.g. by ice-making machines.

Potential Microbiological Contamination of Edible Ice

Source water directly affects the quality and safety of the edible ice manufactured. Generally speaking, provision of public mains water is a standard licensing requirement which provides some form of guarantee of the microbiological quality of source water. After manufacturing, potential sources of microbiological contamination of edible ice include lapses in hygiene in handling of edible ice at the manufacturing plants, during transport and at food premises. During transportation or storage of the packaged edible ice, the external surface of the ice bags can be contaminated with microorganisms which can subsequently cross-contaminate the edible ice during opening and emptying of the ice bags. Poor maintenance of ice-making machine, infrequent cleansing of equipment such as ice buckets and scoops, and unhygienic practices in handling edible ice, e.g. with bare hands, etc., are potential sources of microbiological contamination.

Figure 1: Nutritional composition of luncheon meat (source: Nutrient Information Inquiry System , nutritional composition may vary depending on the formula of the products).
Do not dispense edible ice with bare hands but clean utensils.

Preventive Measures

Potable water supply and good hygiene practices are prerequisites to the production of good quality edible ice. The external surface of the ice bags should be cleaned and dried with a clean cloth before opening and emptying and the external surface of the ice bags and bare hands should not touch the edible ice when filling the ice buckets. Clean utensils such as scoops, instead of bare hands, should always be used to dispense edible ice and the scoops should be cleaned at the end of every working day and whenever necessary (see Figure). Edible ice storage chests should never be used for cooling or storing other items such as cans/bottles of beverages.

As regards the edible ice produced on the food premises by ice-making machines, the machines should be regularly cleaned and properly maintained in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions.

Microbiological Criteria for Edible Ice

Microbiological criteria for edible ice are set out in the Microbiological Guidelines for Food prepared by the CFS. Apart from specific foodborne pathogens, criteria for aerobic colony count (ACC), Escherichia coli (E. coli) and coliform bacteria specifically for edible ice are included. ACC is an indicator of quality while E. coli is a faecal indicator organism which generally indicates direct or indirect faecal contamination. For coliform bacteria, high counts of which generally indicate unsanitary conditions or poor hygienic practices during or after production.

Actions Taken

The CFS has informed the food premises concerned of the irregularity and instructed it to stop selling cold drinks with ice cubes. The CFS has also provided health education on food safety and hygiene to the person-in-charge and staff concerned, and has advised them to carry out thorough cleaning and disinfection of the premises.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Hygienic quality and safety of edible ice are important as it can potentially be a vehicle of spreading foodborne diseases.
  2. High coliform count in edible ice is an indication of unsanitary conditions or poor hygiene practices during or after production.
  3. When handling edible ice, good hygienic practices should be observed so as to minimise the associated microbiological risk.

Advice to the Trade

  • Obtain relevant licence from the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department for manufacturing and/or sale of edible ice.
  • If edible ice is produced on premises using ice-making machines, manufacturer’s instructions should be followed for proper cleaning and maintenance of the machines.
  • Observe good hygienic practices when handling edible ice.

Advice to the Public

  • Use potable water to prepare edible ice.
  • Use clean utensils to prepare and store edible ice.
  • Avoid any cross-contamination during storage and handling edible ice.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-08-2017

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一七年八月第一百三十三期) - 焦點個案

受大腸菌羣污染的食用冰

食物安全中心
風險評估組
研究主任方朗茵博士報告

食用冰廣泛用於製造食物,例如凍飲,故食用冰的衞生質素及安全十分重要。如果製造或處理不當,食用冰可成為傳播食源性疾病的媒介。

二零一七年七月,食物安全中心(中心)透過恆常的食物監察計劃抽取的一個食用冰樣本被檢出大腸菌羣含量超標。本文將探討食用冰受微生物污染的可能性,以及減低受污染風險的預防措施。

食肆的食用冰來源

一般來說,在零售點供人食用的冰主要有兩個來源:(1)由製冰廠供應,冰塊在製冰廠製造及包裝,然後以包裝冰方式運送到食肆;以及(2)個別食肆在處所即場(例如使用製冰機)製造。

食用冰可能受微生物污染的問題

水源直接影響所製造的食用冰的質素及安全。一般來說,製冰廠╱食肆有自來水供應是標準的發牌條件,故水源的微生物質素有所保證。食用冰在製成後,可能受微生物污染的因素包括在製冰廠、運送途中及食肆內處理食用冰時忽略衞生。在運送或貯存包裝食用冰的過程中,包裝袋的表面可能受微生物污染,在打開包裝袋和倒出食用冰時,冰塊會因而受污染。製冰機保養欠佳、工具(例如冰桶及勺子)沒有經常清潔,以及處理食用冰不衞生(例如徒手處理食用冰)均可能令食用冰受微生物污染。

圖一:午餐肉的營養成分(資料來源:Nutrient Information Inquiry System,營養成分或會因產品配方而有差異)。
使用潔淨的器具取用食用冰,絕對不能用手。

預防措施

若要製造優質食用冰,先決條件是有飲用水供應,並遵從良好的衞生規範。在打開包裝袋和倒出食用冰前,應先用潔淨的抹布清潔及抹乾包裝袋的表面。將食用冰從包裝袋倒入冰桶時,包裝袋的表面和雙手不應接觸食用冰。取用食用冰時均須使用潔淨的器具,例如勺子,不能用手;並在每天工作結束後及在有需要時,清洗勺子(見圖)。貯食用冰的容器不得用作冷卻或貯存其他物品,例如罐裝╱瓶裝飲品。

如在食肆內以製冰機製造食用冰,應按製造商的指引定期清潔及妥善保養製冰機。

食用冰的微生物含量準則

中心編製的《食品微生物含量指引》列明食用冰的微生物含量準則。除了指定食源性致病菌外,該指引還包括食用冰的需氧菌落計數、大腸桿菌及大腸菌羣含量準則。需氧菌落計數是質素的指標;而大腸桿菌是糞便污染指示微生物,通常顯示食用冰直接╱間接受糞便污染。至於大腸菌羣,大腸菌羣數目偏高,一般顯示在製冰期間或處理食用冰時的衞生條件欠佳或有人不注重衞生。

採取的行動

中心已知會有關食肆上述違規事項,並指示停售含有冰塊的凍飲。此外,中心已向負責人及有關員工提供食物安全及衞生教育,而該食肆亦已按中心要求進行徹底清潔和消毒。

注意要點

  1. 食用冰可能成為傳播食源性疾病的媒介,故食用冰的衞生質素及安全十分重要。
  2. 食用冰的大腸菌羣數目偏高,顯示在製冰期間或處理食用冰時的衞生條件欠佳或有人不注重衞生。
  3. 處理食用冰時應遵從良好的衞生規範, 以減低冰塊被污染的風險。

給業界的建議

  • 向食物環境衞生署申領相關的牌照,以製造及╱或售賣食用冰。
  • 如在食物業處所內以製冰機製造食用冰,應按製造商的指引妥善清潔及保養製冰機。
  • 處理食用冰時遵從良好的衞生規範。

給市民的建議

  • 使用飲用水製造食用冰。
  • 使用潔淨的器具製造及貯存食用冰。
  • 貯存及處理食用冰期間避免交叉污染。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-08-2017