Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (76th Issue, November 2012) – Food Safety Platform

Cut down Sodium Intake from Crispy Chips

Reported by Ms. Michelle CHAN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we introduced a user-friendly tool, “three-steps to use nutrition labels” (three-steps), and demonstrated how it helps get less fat from instant noodles. In this issue, we will show you how to cut down sodium intake from crispy chips with the three-steps.

Take a Look at Sodium

Sodium is essential to maintain body fluid balance, for nerve transmission and muscle contraction. Talking about sodium, many people will immediately think of table salt. In fact, table salt is only one of the many dietary sources of sodium. People may also ingest sodium naturally present in foods and drinking water as well as those from sodium-containing food additives and condiments like monosodium glutamate (MSG) and soy sauce in prepackaged foods.

Prolonged excessive intake of sodium increases the risk of developing high blood pressure which is a risk factor for coronary heart diseases and stroke. The World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations recommend limiting daily sodium intake to 2000 mg (approximately equivalent to 5 g or one level teaspoon of table salt). In the United Kingdom, foods with high sodium refer to those with over 600 mg of sodium per 100 g of food.

Crispy Chips and Sodium

Potato chips, prawn crackers, tortilla chips are some of the crispy chips available in the market. In manufacturing these products, the raw materials or their mixes are first sliced or extruded into the desired shapes which are then deep fried or baked. After cooling, salt and flavoured powder containing sodium are added to give a variety of tastes.

Sodium also presents in some commonly used food additives such as flavour enhancer (e.g. MSG) and raising agent (e.g. sodium carbonate).

Cut down Sodium Intake from Crispy Chips with Three-steps

Firstly, read the nutrition label. Check the sodium level. Among the food samples collected in the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) Study on Sodium Content in Local Foods in 2012, nutrition labels of 24 crispy chips samples were examined. The data revealed greatly varied sodium contents of food, ranging from 172 to 1800 mg per 100 g. Consumers should read nutrition labels to identify the lower sodium options.

Secondly, know how much I eat. Make reference of the consumption amount to the reference amount on the nutrition labels for calculating nutrient intake. Nutrition label of crispy chips is usually expressed as “per 100 g”. Your sodium intake varies proportionately with your consumption amount of food. To estimate your consumption amount, check out the net weight of food and compare your consumption amount to 100 g.

For instance, the net weight of a pack of potato chips A is 60 g. If you consume the whole pack in one go, your consumption amount will account for 60 g/100g = 3/5 of the 100 g of food. Thus, you will get 3/5 of sodium as shown on the nutrition label. Referring to the nutrition label below, 100 g of potato chips A contain 650 mg of sodium, 60 g of the food provides 650 mg x 3/5 = 390 mg of sodium.

Illustration for the Nutrition Label

Thirdly, make better choices. Compare your nutrient intake to your daily intake upper limit. Consumption of the whole pack of potato chips A accounts for about 20% of your daily limit. To reduce sodium intake, you can:

  • consume potato chips A less frequently and in less amount;
  • decrease consumption of high sodium food such as preserved and canned food in that day and/or by using less salt or sodium containing seasonings;
  • compare nutrition labels to choose crispy chips with less sodium.

More Healthy Tips  

Food manufacturers can make reference to the CFS Trade Guidelines for Reducing Sodium in Foods to formulate food with lower sodium content. Consumers should also pay attention to total fat and saturated fat contents of the crispy chips especially those deep-fried ones.

In the next issue, we will show you how to reduce sugars intake from breakfast cereals with the three-steps.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 23-11-2012

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主页 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一二年十一月第七十六期)- 食物安全平台

减少从小食脆片摄入钠 营养标签帮到你

食物安全中心 风险传达组
科学主任陈家茵女士报告

上一期我们介绍了简单易用的“活用营养标签三部曲”(三部曲),并示范了如何利用三部曲减少从即食面摄入脂肪。这期我们继续谈谈如何利用三部曲减少从小食脆片摄入钠。

认识钠 

有助维持体液平衡,亦是神经传送和肌肉收缩方面的必需元素。说起“钠”,很多人马上会想到食盐。其实,食盐只是我们从膳食中摄取钠的众多来源之一。食物和食水中天然存在的钠,还有预先包装食物中的含钠食物添加剂及调味料,例如谷氨酸钠(俗称“味精”)和豉油等亦是我们从膳食中摄入钠的来源。

长期摄取过量钠会增加患上高血压的风险,而高血压是冠心病和中风的风险因素之一。世界卫生组织和联合国粮食及农业组织建议每日摄入少于2000毫克钠(约相等于5克或一平茶匙食盐)。在英国,每100克含有超过600毫克钠的食物被界定为高钠食物。

小食脆片与钠

薯片、虾条和粟米脆片等都是市面上常见的小食脆片。这些小食在生产时,原料或其混合物会首先切片或压成不同的形状,然后拿去炸或烘,放凉后再加上盐和含钠的调味粉,调制成各种口味。

此外,小食脆片中一些常用的食物添加剂如增味剂(如味精)和膨胀剂(如碳酸钠)等都含有钠。

活用三部曲 减少从小食脆片摄入钠

首先,“ 睇营养标签 ”,留意标签上所标示的钠含量。食物安全中心(中心)在二零一二年研究本港食物的钠含量时,分析了24款小食脆片样本的营养标签,数据显示小食脆片的钠含量差别很大,由每100克172毫克至1800毫克不等。所以,消费者应查看营养标签,选择钠含量较低的小食脆片。

其次,“ 知我食多少 ”。计算营养素摄入量时,先找出营养标签上的食物参考量,小食脆片的营养标签一般以“每100克”标示。钠摄入量随着进食的分量多少而有所不同。查看标签上的食物净重量,估计一下自己吃了多少,把这个数字与100克比较。

举例来说,薯片A的净重量是60克。如果你把薯片A一次吃完,你的进食分量相当于60克/100克,即100克食物的3/5。因此,你的钠摄入量亦会相等于营养标签所标示的3/5。根据下面的营养标签,每100克薯片A含有650毫克钠,60克薯片A则含650毫克x3/5=390毫克钠。

Illustration for the Nutrition Label

其三,“ 拣啱我需要 ”。将你的营养素摄入量与自己的每天摄取上限比较。吃掉一整包薯片A所摄入的钠已占一天摄取上限约20%。想减少摄入钠,你可以:

  • 减少吃薯片A的次数和分量;
  • 当天减少进食高钠食物(例如腌制及罐头食物)及/或减少使用盐或含钠调味料;
  • 比较营养标签,选购钠含量较低的小食脆片。

更多健康贴士

食物制造商可参考中心的《降低食物中钠含量的业界指引》,研发钠含量较低的食物。除钠含量外,消费者亦应留意小食脆片的总脂肪和饱和脂肪含量,尤其是经过油炸的小食脆片。

下一期我们会详述如何利用三部曲,减少从早餐谷类食品摄入糖。

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 23-11-2012