Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (34th Issue, May 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrient and Health - Sodium

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

In the past issues of this “Nutrition and Health” series, we first introduced the concept of optimal nutrient intake , then examined energy and different types of nutrients, including protein , carbohydrates , dietary fibre , sugars , fats and cholesterol . In this last article of this series, we will talk about sodium.

Dietary Sources of Sodium

Talking of sodium, another word comes to mind must be salt, to be more specific, table salt. “Does table salt equal to sodium?” Simply speaking, the answer is “yes”, in particular, when public education on nutrition is concerned. However, in scientific term, the answer is “no”. Generally, table salt is a chemical compound known as sodium chloride, which consists of 40% sodium and 60% chloride. In other words, for each gram of table salt, there is 0.4g (i.e. 400mg) of sodium. Many people think that table salt is the sole source of sodium in our diet. In fact, table salt is only one of the sources of sodium in our diet and its contribution to sodium intake, through the use of table salt while cooking and eating, may be much less than sodium-containing preservatives and condiments in processed and prepared foods.

Processed and prepared foods often contain food additives known as sodium nitrites and/or sodium nitrates, which are used as preservatives, antimicrobial agent and/or colour fixatives in foods, including raw and processed meats, processed fish and fish products, cheese and cheese products. Besides sodium nitrites and sodium nitrates, monosodium glutamate (MSG), soya sauce, oyster sauce, bouillon cubes and many other seasoning salts and sauces are key contributors of sodium in our diet as used in these foods are widely available and consumed nowadays.

Table 1: Sodium Contents in Foods

食物(每 100 克) Food (per 100g)

鈉(毫克) Sodium (mg)

豉油皇炒麪 Fried noodles with soya sauce

510

火腿 Ham

940

含鹽薯片 Potato chips, salted

370-920

不含鹽薯片 Potato chips, unsalted

8

涼果 Preserved fruits

1 100 – 13  000

棉花雞 Steamed chicken with fish maw

640

Please visit the Nutrient Information Inquiry System and the survey report on sodium contents in savoury snacks at the CFS website for more information

Sodium and Health

Sodium is essential for body functions. It helps maintain the extra-cellular fluid balance and acid-base balance in the body. It is required for nerve transmission and muscle contraction.

Kidneys are responsible for regulating the amount of sodium in the body. They conserve sodium when the levels are low. On the other hand, they excrete the excess amount in urine when the levels of sodium are high in the body. There are times that the kidneys cannot excrete enough sodium and often result in sodium and fluid retention in the body, which may lead to high blood pressure (i.e. hypertension). Some individuals are more sensitive to sodium, meaning that they tend to retain sodium more easily and in turn may have higher risk of developing hypertension.

Besides hypertension, in recent years, expert reports from the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Cancer Research Fund concluded that salt and salt-preserved foods probably increase the risk of stomach cancer.

Intake of Sodium

According to the WHO’s recommendation, an adult requires 2 000mg of sodium per day. This amount of sodium is approximately equal to what is found in a level teaspoon of table salt (~5g of table salt). When referring to the food pyramid, alongside fat and sugars, sodium is placed at the top of the pyramid which represents the “Eat Less” level.

To cut down on sodium intake, the first step is to eat fewer processed and prepared foods by substituting them with fresh produce and meat. Frozen produce and meat are other options as long as they are unpreserved and are not pre-seasoned. The next step is to reduce the amount of table salt and sodium-containing condiments used by replacing them with herbs and spices for seasoning purpose when preparing foods. Last but not least, it is suggested to remove the salt shaker from the dining table as most foods are tasty enough and do not need an extra dash of salt.

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :21-05-2009

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零零九年五月第三十四期)- 食物安全平台

营养素与健康:钠

食物安全中心
风险传达组
科学主任冯慧中女士报告

在过往的《营养素与健康》系列文章中,我们首先介绍了最佳的营养素摄入量这个概念,继而探讨能量及多种营养素(包括 蛋白质碳水化合物膳食纤维脂肪胆固醇)。本文是此系列的末篇,将会阐述钠这种营养素。

 

钠的膳食来源

每当谈到“钠”时,我们总会想起“盐”,又或更确切一点,“食盐”一词。“食盐即是钠吗?”简单来说,可以说“是”,尤其在有关营养的公众教育方面。不过,从科学角度来看,却应说“不是”。一般而言,食盐指一种称为“氯化钠”的化合物,当中钠占40%,氯则占60%。换言之,每克食盐含0.4克(即400毫克)钠。许多人以为食盐是我们从膳食中摄取钠的唯一来源。其实,食盐只是我们从膳食中摄取钠的其中一个来源。在烹调和进食期间使用食盐而摄入钠的分量,可能远低于来自加工及预制食物中的含钠防腐剂及调味料。

加工及预制食物通常含有名为“亚硝酸钠”及/或“硝酸钠”的食物添加剂。这两种食物添加剂会用于新鲜及加工肉类、加工鱼类及鱼制品、芝士及芝士制品等食物中,作为防腐剂、抗菌剂及/或护色剂。除了亚硝酸钠和硝酸钠外,由于加工及预制食物现时在市面上非常普及,并广为人们食用,故此这些食物中所用的谷氨酸钠(俗称“味精”)、豉油、蚝油、汤精和许多其他调味盐及调味酱料亦是我们从膳食中摄入钠的主要来源。

 

表一:食物中的钠含量

食物(每 100 克)
Food (per 100g)

钠(毫克)
Sodium (mg)

豉油皇炒麪
Fried noodles with soya sauce

510

火腿 Ham

940

含盐薯片 Potato chips, salted

370-920

不含盐薯片 Potato chips, unsalted

8

凉果 Preserved fruits

1 100 – 13 000

棉花鸡 Steamed chicken with fish maw

640

如需更多资料,请浏览食物安全中心网页内的 食物资料查询系统和有关咸味小食含钠的研究报告

 

钠与健康

钠对多项人体功能十分重要,有助维持体内细胞外液和酸 碱的平衡,亦是神经传送和肌肉收缩方面的必需元素。

肾脏负责调节人体内钠的分量。当体内钠水平偏低时,肾脏便会贮存钠;当钠水平偏高时,则会在尿液中排出多余的钠。肾脏有时候不能排出足够的钠,往往会令钠和体液积存在体内,因而可能引致高血压。有些人对钠较为敏感,即他们会较易贮存钠,因而可能增加患上高血压的风险。

除了引致高血压外,世界卫生组织(世卫)及世界癌症研究基金会近年的专家报告均指,盐和盐腌的食物可能增加罹患胃癌的风险。

 

钠摄入量

根据世卫建议,一名成年人每天需要 2  000毫克钠,即约相等于一平茶匙食盐(~5克食盐)所含的钠分量。以健康饮食金字塔来说,钠与脂肪和糖一样,位于金字塔顶层,即应该“吃最少”。

要减少钠摄入量,第一步就是少吃加工及预制食物,改吃新鲜农作物及肉类。此外,亦可选择未经腌制和没有预先调味的冷冻农作物及肉类。至于下一步,就是在配制食物时减少使用食盐及含钠的调味料,改用香草及香料来调味。最后,我们建议拿走餐桌上的盐瓶,因为大部分食物已经美味可口,无需额外下盐。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-05-2009