Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (111th Issue, October 2015) – Food Incident Highlight

Acrylamide in Dark Brown Sugar

It has been reported in Taiwan that some dark brown sugars were found to contain acrylamide, a potentially carcinogenic substance. Some were at levels (>1 000μg/kg) comparable to baked and fried foods. Acrylamide is formed in foods at high temperatures (usually >120ºC) when the free amino acid asparagine reacts with reducing sugars, especially glucose and fructose. During the production of dark brown sugars, repeatedly boiling the raw ingredient sugar cane juice which contains natural asparagine and reducing sugars will cause acrylamide formation.

Many high-temperature processed foods such as French fries, crisps, biscuits, breakfast cereals and certain stir-fried vegetables contain relatively high levels (from several hundreds to thousands of μg/kg) of acrylamide. It is estimated that locally available dark brown sugars (detected acrylamide level ranged from 28 to 860μg/ kg) contribute to less than 1% of total acrylamide intake in Hong Kong adults. Comparing to fried vegetables (including fried potatoes) which contribute to 52% of acrylamide intake, dark brown sugars are unlikely a major source of acrylamide.

In preparing beverages or sweet soups, some people may use dark brown sugars in the belief that they are healthier than granulated white sugar. The Centre for Food Safety advises consumers to limit the intake of free sugars including dark brown sugars as excessive sugar intake may lead to obesity and tooth decay.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-10-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年十月第一百一十一期) - 食物事故点滴

黑糖中的丙烯酰胺

台湾有报道指一些黑糖产品含有可能令人患癌的丙烯酰胺。部分产品的含量(每公斤超过1000微克)与烘焙类食物和油炸类食物的不遑多让食物在高温加热(一般120oC以上)时,游离氨基酸天门冬酰胺与还原糖(特别是葡萄糖和果糖)产生反应,形成丙烯酰胺。黑糖的制作流程是把新鲜甘蔗汁反覆熬煮,由于甘蔗汁中天然含有天门冬酰胺和还原糖,两者碰在一起加热,便会产生丙烯酰胺。

很多经过高温处理的食物,例如薯条、薯片、饼干、早餐谷类食品等和部分炒菜的丙烯酰胺含量较高(每公斤数百至数千微克)。据估计,在本港成年人丙烯酰胺总摄入量中,本港市面上的黑糖(丙烯酰胺含量由每公斤28至860微克不等)仅占不足1%,而炒菜(包括炸薯)则占52%,可见黑糖并非我们从膳食摄入丙烯酰胺的主要来源。

有些人认为黑糖比白砂糖健康,在配制饮料或糖水时爱用黑糖。食物安全中心建议消费者减少摄入游离糖(包括黑糖),因为摄取过多糖分会导致肥胖症和蛀牙。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-10-2015