Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (101st Issue, December 2014) – Incident in Focus

Reduction of Dietary Sodium (Salt) and Sugars in Hong Kong

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Hong Kong is facing the challenge of chronic non-communicable diseases (NCDs), such as cancer, heart diseases, stroke and diabetes, which are the major causes of death and accounted for nearly 60% of all registered deaths in 2013. Many NCDs are closely related to unhealthy diet, physical inactivity, smoking and excessive alcohol drinking. Foods high in sodium and sugars may negatively affect health when they make up a large proportion of our diet. This article discusses the reduction of dietary sodium (salt) and sugars in Hong Kong.

Local Public Health Situation in Relation to Dietary Intake of Sodium and Sugars

According to a survey conducted by the Census and Statistics Department in 2011, 34% of Hong Kong residents aged 55 and above had hypertension and the proportion increased to 46% for those aged 65 and above. Obesity is another health concern, the Behavioral Risk Factor Survey conducted by the Department of Health (DH) in 2012 revealed that 36.6% of the population aged 18-64 years were overweight or obese (BMI ≥23).

Excessive sodium intake is associated with increased risks of hypertension, stroke and cardiovascular disease (CVD); whereas excessive sugars intake, along with inadequate physical activity, resulting in energy imbalance may lead to overweight and obesity. Besides, high sugars intake may cause dental caries.

According to the World Health Organization, the population nutrient intake goal for sodium is less than 2000mg per day while that for free sugars is less than 10% of total energy requirement.

one level teaspoon of salt
Nutrient intake goal of sodium is less than 2000mg per day, which is slightly less than one level teaspoon of salt (one teaspoon of salt weighs about 5.8g and contains 2300mg of sodium).

 

Sugar Cubes
For a 2000 kcal-diet, free sugars shall contribute less than 10% of total energy, which is approximately 10 sugar cubes (weighs about 5g each).

Efforts on Reducing the Prevalence of NCDs Related to Dietary Intakes of Sodium and Sugars

Effort has been made to reduce the prevalence of NCDs and related behavioural risk factors. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has conducted risk assessment studies related to nutrients in food, implemented the Nutrition Labelling Scheme, and issued trade guidelines for sodium, sugars and fat reduction in foods. Besides, the DH also organises healthy eating promotion programmes, such as “EatSmart@restaurant.hk” and “EatSmart@school.hk”, which encourage healthy eating through a setting-based approach.

To focus on the reduction of dietary sodium and sugars and learn from international successful experience, an International Advisory Panel (IAP) on Reduction of Dietary Sodium and Sugars in Hong Kong was established. In a recent meeting, five renowned experts from overseas and the Mainland shared their experience and provided expert advice on the overall strategy, programmes, target-setting and public health education strategy on reduction of sodium and sugars in Hong Kong. Relying on individuals’ dietary change is one of the approaches to reduce dietary intake of sodium and sugars. Other than health education, IAP strongly suggests product reformulation that will benefit the society as a whole. Furthermore, active participation of non-governmental organisations and collaboration with the media are essential to support and monitor the change.

A successful promotion of reduction of dietary intakes of sodium and sugars in Hong Kong relies on the collaboration among different stakeholders, particularly the government, food trade and consumers. Besides health promotion, the government will take on the lead to discuss with various sectors of the food trade in reducing sodium and sugars in foods, whereas the food trade should also be concerned about this issue and make efforts to revise product formulations and modify recipes to provide food with less sodium and sugars.

Consumers should be proactive and make positive changes in dietary habits, such as cutting down on high sodium/sugars processed food consumption by using nutrition label during purchase; ordering healthier options from the menu and requesting less salt/sugars used in food preparation when dining out; and reducing salt/sodium-containing seasonings and sugars added to food at the table. These actions will allow the taste buds to adapt gradually to the light-flavoured food.

Key Points to Note

  • Excessive sodium intake is associated with risks of hypertension, stroke and CVD.
  • High consumption of sugars may lead to overweight/obesity and may also lead to dental caries.
  • Tripartite collaboration among the government, food trade and consumers is crucial for success in reducing dietary sodium and sugars intakes.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Reformulating food products with less sodium and sugars.
  2. Reducing the use of salt/sodium-containing seasonings and sugars during food preparation.

Advice to the Public

  1. Reducing the amount of salt/sodium-containing seasonings and sugars added to food at the table.
  2. Ordering healthier options from the menu and requesting less salt/sugars used in food preparation when dining out.
  3. Cutting down on high sodium/sugars processed food consumption by using nutrition label during purchase.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-12-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一四年十二月第一百零一期)-焦点个案

减低本港膳食中的钠(盐)和糖

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任冯慧中女士报告

香港正面对癌症、心脏病、中风和糖尿病等慢性非传染病日益增加的重大挑战。在二零一三年的所有登记死亡个案中,近六成由慢性非传染病引致。多种慢性非传染病与不健康的饮食、缺乏体能活动、吸烟及酗酒有密切关系。在我们的日常饮食中,如果经常食用高钠高糖的食物可能对健康有不良影响。本文将探讨减少本港膳食中的钠(盐)和糖的情况。

与钠和糖的膳食摄取量有关的本港公共卫生情况

根据政府统计处在二零一一年所作的一项调查显示,本港55岁或以上患有高血压的人口达34%,而在年龄65岁或以上这个年龄组别中,比率更攀升至46%。另一个令人关注的健康问题是肥胖症。卫生署在二零一二年进行的行为风险因素调查发现,在18至64岁的人口中,有36.6%属过重或肥胖(即体重指标≥23)。

身体摄入过量的钠会增加患上高血压、中风和心血管疾病的风险;而摄入过量的糖再加上活动量不足,当能量的摄取大于消耗时或会导致过重和患肥胖症。此外,摄入过多糖亦会增加蛀牙的机会。

世界卫生组织建议,每人每日的钠摄取量应少于2000毫克,而游离糖的摄取量则应少于每日所需能量的10%。

一平茶匙食盐
每天应摄入少于2000毫克的钠,即略少于一平茶匙食盐(一平茶匙食盐约重5.8克,含2300毫克钠)。

方糖
以2000千卡能量的膳食计算,游离糖的摄取量应少于所需能量的10%,即相当于约10粒方糖(每粒约重5克)。

致力通过减少钠和糖的膳食摄取量来预防慢性非传染病

食物安全中心(中心)为了减少慢性非传染病及相关的行为风险因素进行了一系列的工作,包括进行食物所含营养素的风险评估研究;推行营养资料标签制度;以及制定降低食物中糖和脂肪含量的业界指引等。此外,卫生署亦透过以环境为本的健康饮食活动,例如“有「营」食肆运动”“健康饮食在校园运动”,鼓励市民建立健康的饮食习惯。

为推动减低膳食中钠和糖的含量,以及借鉴国际间在这方面的成功经验,中心成立了降低香港食物中的钠和糖国际谘询委员会(委员会)。在委员会最近一次会议中,五位来自海外和内地的知名学者分享了他们在这方面的经验,并对如何降低香港膳食中钠和糖含量的整体策略、活动计划、设立指标和公众教育策略等四方面提供了专业意见。委员会指出,改变个人的饮食习惯是减少从膳食中摄入钠和糖的方法之一。除了健康教育外,委员会亦大力建议改良食物配方,认为此举可令整个社会受惠。此外,非政府机构的积极参与及与传媒的合作对于支援和监察减钠减糖工作的成效亦是不可或缺的。

要成功减少港人的钠和糖摄取量,有赖各方持份者,特别是政府、食物业界及消费者三方的通力合作。政府除推广健康饮食外,亦会担当主导角色,与业界商讨如何减少食物中的钠和糖。食物业界亦应关注有关问题,致力改良食物配方和食谱,为消费者提供更多低钠及低糖食品。

消费者则应主动改变饮食习惯,例如参考营养标签,减少购买高钠和高糖的加工食品;外出用膳时多选择较健康的菜式,并要求食肆减少用盐和糖配制食物;以及进食时减少在食物中添加糖和含糖和含盐/钠的调味料,让味蕾慢慢习惯清淡的口味。

注意要点

  • 身体摄入过量的钠会增加患上高血压、中风和心血管疾病的风险。
  • 从膳食中摄入过多的糖有可能导致过重/患肥胖症和蛀牙。
  • 要成功减少港人的钠和糖摄取量,有赖政府、食物业界及消费者三方的通力合作。

给业界的建议

  1. 改良食物配方,生产含较少钠和糖的食品。
  2. 配制食物时减少使用糖和含盐/钠的调味料。

给市民的建议

  1. 进食时减少在食物中添加糖和含盐/钠的调味料。
  2. 外出用膳时多选择较健康的菜式,并要求食肆减少用盐和糖配制食物。
  3. 参考营养标签,减少购买高钠和高糖的加工食品。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-12-2014