Consumer Zone
Consumer Zone >> Iodine in Infant Formula Email to Friend Print Friendly

Banner of Iodine in Infant formula

Frequently Asked Questions

Iodine Content Requirements in Infant Formula

3.1
What is an infant formula?
 

An infant means a person not more than 12 months of age. An infant formula is a breastmilk substitute consumed by infants during the first months of life up to the introduction of complementary feeding. The product by itself can satisfy the nutritional requirements of a normal infant for its growth and development.

   
3.2
Is there any standard for the content of iodine in infant formula?
The Codex “Standard for Infant Formula and Formulas for Special Medical Purposes Intended For Infants (Codex Stan 72-1981)” stipulates that infant formula prepared ready for consumption in accordance with instructions of the manufacturer shall contain iodine in 10-60 μ g/100kcal (2.5-14 μ g/100kJ).
   
3.3
As most of the locally available infant formulae are imported, do they have the same iodine content?
 

The iodine content in infant formulae available in the market may vary from brand to brand. Codex requires the iodine content in infant formula to be within 10 to 60μg per 100kcal provided by the product. However, iodine content requirement of infant formula varies in different countries. For example, Japan has not established specific legal requirement for iodine content in infant formula while the minimal iodine content required in US, Canada , Singapore , South Korea , Australia and New Zealand is about 5μg per 100kcal. The below t able shows the Codex and overseas requirements on iodine content in infant formula:

 

Iodine content in infant formula

Codex

10 to 60μg/100kcal

US

5 – 75 μg/100kcal

Canada , Singapore and South Korea

At least 5 μg/100kcal

Australia and New Zealand

1.2 – 10 μg/100kJ

(~ 5 – 42 μg/100kcal)

EU

10 – 50 μg/100kcal

Japan

No specific requirement


   
3.4
What is the local regulation on the level of iodine in infant formulae?
 

Currently there is no specific local legislation on the level of iodine in foods including infant formulae. However, as stipulated in Section 54 of Cap. 132 of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, it is an offence to sell or offer for sale any food unfit for human consumption.

   
3.5
Which infant formulae tested by the CFS with low iodine level have raised public health concern?
 

Information regarding infant formulae tested by the CFS on iodine content is available at the Test Results section of the CFS website. Those that may have raised public health concern is available at the Press Release section of the CFS website.

   
3.6
Has any clinical cases been identified?
 

There was no apparent increase in any local clinical cases of iodine deficiency in recent years. The health implication concerning the intake of formula with low iodine level will be further investigated.

   
3.7

Is it likely to have health risks associated with the consumption of the concerned infant formulae?

 
When assessing whether a product may pose health risk to the targetted consumer, risk assessment study has to be carried out, taking into account of other factors, such as: the feeding instruction of each product, the iodine content in local boiled tap water, the average body weight of local infants, etc.. For infants exclusively fed on the concerned infant formula, the iodine intake might be below one-third of the WHO recommendation of 15 μg/kg body weight/day to 0-6 months baby, that may pose public health risk.
   
3.8
What should I do if my baby is consuming the concerned infant formula?
 

If your baby is solely relying on the concerned infant formula, you should stop feeding him/her with it. You should consider switching to another brand of infant formula until further evaluation is available. The Department of Health (DH) website has provided advice on information for parents with children who have consumed the alleged infant formula and notes on switching milk formulae for babies. If in doubt, please consult your family doctor or paediatrician.

If your baby is between 6-12 months, try to include foods that are rich in iodine (e.g. marine fish, seaweeds, egg yolk) as part of the complementary foods to ensure the child has adequate iodine intake. Iodised salt is not recommended for baby 12 months or below. Parents can also switch to another brand of infant formula or follow on formula that meets the Codex recommendation.

If breastmilk is part of the baby’s food, lactating mothers are encouraged to consume more iodine rich foods and replace non-iodised salt with iodised salt (daily salt/sodium intakes from all sources should be below 5g salt or 2000mg sodium) when cooking.

Codex requires infant formula to contain 10 to 60 μg/100 kcal iodine. For an average infant formula providing energy of 500 kcal per 100g powder, an iodine content of at least 50 μg per 100g powder can roughly meet the Codex requirement. For infants with special nutrition requirement, please consult your family doctor or padeiatrician.

CFS has set up hotlines (3978 0600) for public on enquires regarding the concerned products.

The iodine content of some of the infant formulae available in Hong Kong are also uploaded on the CFS website for consumers reference.

DH has provided phone enquiries (2125 1111) for parents whose children might have taken the products concerned.

   
3.9
Referring to Q1.3, is it safe for infants 0-6 months to continue drinking the other 4 infant formulae tested with low iodine?
 
For products that do not meet the Codex minimum iodine content requirement, risk assessment will be carried out, taking into account factors including the feeding instruction, average body weight of the infants, iodine content in local boiled tap water and compared against WHO recommended daily nutrient intake for infants 0-6 months. For the 4 said products, risk assessment indicated that there is unlikely to have apparent health concern of iodine deficiency for infants 0-6 months.


Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 27-09-2012

婴儿配方奶粉中的碘横额

常见问题

关注市面上的婴儿配方奶粉 (Q1.1-1.3)婴儿与碘 (Q2.1-2.9)婴儿配方奶粉的含碘量要求 (Q3.1-3.9)婴儿配方奶粉中的碘含量与食品法典委员会标准作比较 (Q4.1-4.6)婴儿配方奶粉中的碘含量与世卫建议的婴儿每日碘摄入量作比较(Q5.1-5.3)

婴儿配方奶粉的含碘量要求

3.1 甚么是婴儿配方奶粉?
  婴儿是指12月龄以下的人群。婴儿配方奶粉是指一类供婴儿从出生至引进辅助食品的最初几个月食用的母乳替代品。有关产品可满足正常婴儿生长和发育的营养需要。
3.2 婴儿配方奶粉中的碘含量是否有标准?
  食品法典委员会《婴儿配方及特殊医用婴儿配方食品标准》(Codex Stan 72-1981)规定,按制造商指示冲调的婴儿配方奶粉应含每100千卡10至60微克碘(每100千焦2.5至14微克碘)。
3.3 由于大部分本地市面上的婴儿配方奶粉都是进口的,它们是否有相同的碘含量?
 

市面上不同品牌的婴儿配方奶粉的碘含量可能各有不同。食品法典委员会要求每100千卡的婴幼儿配方奶粉,要提供10至60微克碘。然而,不同国家对婴幼儿配方奶粉的碘含量有不同要求。例如,日本没有具体法律规定婴幼儿配方奶粉中的碘含量;而美国、加拿大、新加坡、南韩、澳洲和新西兰则要求每100千卡的婴幼儿配方奶粉要提供最少5微克碘。下表显示了食品法典委员会及海外对婴幼儿配方奶粉中碘含量的要求:

  婴幼儿配方奶粉中碘含量
食品法典委员会 每100千卡10至60 微克
美国 每100千卡5至75微克
加拿大、新加坡、南韩 每100千卡最小5微克
澳洲和新西兰 每100千焦1.2至10 微克

(~每100千卡5至42 微克)

欧盟国家 每100千卡10至50微克
日本 没有具体要求
3.4 本地法例对婴儿配方奶粉中的碘含量要求为何?
  目前本地没有特定法例规管食物,包括婴儿配方奶粉的碘含量。然而,《公众卫生及市政条例》第132章54条规定,出售任何不宜供人食用的食物即属违法。
3.5 哪些中心已测试的碘含量低的婴儿配方奶粉对公共健康构成关注?
  有关已测试碘含量的婴儿配方奶粉的产品,可在中心网页之检测结果部分找到。可能对公共健康构成关注的产品则可在新闻公报部分中找到。
3.6 有没有发现新生儿甲状腺功能不足症的临床病例?
  目前,中心暂未有留意到因进食相关产品而引致碘缺乏的本地临床案例。有关进食碘含量低的婴儿配方奶粉对健康的影响,需要进一步研究。
3.7 进食受影响的婴儿配方奶粉是否可能构成健康风险?
  在评估一个产品是否对目标消费者构成健康风险时,中心是会进行风险评估研究,并考虑以下各项因素,包括各产品的餵哺指引、本地经煮沸的自来水的碘含量(每公升10微克)及本地婴儿的平均体重、等等。如果只单纯食用受影响的婴儿配方奶粉的婴儿,所摄取的碘少于世卫就0至6月龄婴儿每日每公斤体重15微克的建议之三分一,即可能对健康构成风险。
3.8 如果我的宝宝正饮用受影响的的相关婴儿配方奶粉,我应该怎么做?
 

如果你的宝宝是完全依靠相关的婴儿配方奶粉,你应停止餵哺他 / 她该产品。在未有进一步对受影响产品的评估结果前,考虑转换另一个品牌的婴幼儿配方奶粉。浏览卫生署网站提供了有关替孩子转换奶粉的建议。如有疑问,应向你的家庭医生或儿科医生寻求意见。

如果你的宝宝介乎6至12月龄,尝试包括含碘量丰富的食品(如海鱼、海藻和 蛋黄)作为 辅助食品的一部分,以确保宝宝能摄取足够的碘,但不建议12月龄或以下的宝宝食用碘盐。家长亦可考虑转换符合食品法典委员会建议的另一个品牌的婴幼儿配方奶粉或较大婴儿配方奶粉 。

如果母乳是宝宝食物的一部分,我们鼓励授乳母亲进食更多含碘量丰富的食物,并在烹调时以碘盐取代非碘盐(从所有来源的盐/钠摄入量应低于每日5克盐或2000毫克钠)。

食物法典委员会要求婴儿配方奶粉每100千卡含有10-60微克碘。例如每100克提供500千卡的一般婴儿配方奶粉,如每100克奶粉含最少50微克碘,便大约可符合食品法典委员会的要求。有特殊营养需要的婴儿,请咨询家庭医生或儿科医生。

中心已设热线(号码是3978 0600),供公众查询有关受影响产品。

中心亦已将香港部分品牌的婴儿配方奶粉中的碘含量上载至中心网页,供消费者参考。

卫生署已提供电话查询(2125 1111),供有进食受影响产品婴儿的家长查询。

3.9 针对问题1.3,如果0至6月龄的婴儿继续饮用其他4个婴儿配方奶粉,其碘含量已测试为低,是否安全?
  对于不符合食品法典委员会碘含量最低要求的婴儿配方奶粉,中心会进行风险评估研究,并考虑以下各项因素,包括各产品的餵哺指引、本地婴儿的平均体重、本地经煮沸的自来水的碘含量,并与世卫建议0至6月龄婴儿每日碘摄入量比较。风险评估研究显示,饮用相关的其他4个婴儿配方奶粉而引致0-6个月龄的婴儿有碘缺乏的明显健康问题的机会不大。