Consumer Zone
Consumer Zone >> Iodine in Infant Formula Email to Friend Print Friendly

Banner of Iodine in Infant formula

Frequently Asked Questions

Concerns of Locally Available Infant Formula

1.1
Why was the study conducted?
The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has embarked on a two-year programme to test the nutritional composition of infant and follow-up formula available in the local market and planned to collect 48 products for laboratory testing in 2012-2013.
   
1.2
How was the study done?

At present, there are about 40 brands encompassing about 60 infant formula products in the retail market according to the latest available information. In May 2012, 14 products were taken by CFS for analysis of their nutritional composition.

   
1.3
What are the salient findings of the first round of the study?

Among the 14 products analysed, results of iodine content of 6 were found not complied with the Codex standard. Codex is an internationally recognised organisation which develops harmonised international food standards to protect the health of the consumers and ensure fair trade practices in the food trade.

Taken into consideration the World Health Organization (WHO)’s recommended daily iodine intake level, CFS is of the view that 2 of the 6 products, namely Wakodo 和光堂初生嬰兒奶粉 and Morinaga 森永初生嬰兒奶粉 , would pose public health risks to exclusively formula-fed infants who would rely solely on the formulae due to iodine deficiency.

To overcome the limitation of a possible within lot variation of the nutrient content, the CFS had collected further samples of each of the two alleged Japanese infant formulae, namely Wakodo and Morinaga, for a repeated testing. The results reported on 6 August found that Wakodo contained iodine of 94μg/kg and Morinaga contained iodine of 180μg/kg.

Such results indicated that exclusively feeding an infant 0-6 months old of an average weight with the alleged Wakodo product, according to the manufacturer’s instruction, may increase his/her risk of subclinical hypothyroidism. If the thyroid gland's normal functions are significantly affected, there may be potential impact on the brain development of infants.

Such results indicated that exclusively feeding an infant 4-6 months old of an average weight with the alleged Morinaga product, according to the manufacturer’s instruction, may increase his/her risk of subclinical hypothyroidism. If the thyroid gland's normal functions are significantly affected, there may be potential impact on the brain development of infants.

In view of the fact that, out of the first batch of 14 samples analysed, two Japanese infant formula samples were detected with rather low iodine content and may have impact on infants’ thyroid function, the CFS has stepped up sampling of powdered formulae catered for infants below six months old available in the market for testing on their iodine content. The results will be uploaded on to the CFS website.

By the end of August, the CFS has announced the test results of 59 infant formulae. Only six infant formulae manufactured in Japan were found to have rather low iodine content.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 13-09-2012

消费者资讯天地
消费者资讯天地 >> 婴儿配方奶粉中的碘 寄给朋友 友善列印

婴儿配方奶粉中的碘横额

常 见 问 题

关注市面上的婴儿配方奶粉

1.1 为什么要进行研究?
  食物安全中心(中心)进行为期两年的计划,以检测市面上初生婴儿及较大婴儿奶粉的营养素含量。中心计划于2012-2013年抽取市面上共48款婴儿配方奶粉样本作检测。
   
1.2 研究是如何进行的?
 
根据最新资料,本港零售市场约有来自不同国家的40个品牌大约60款婴儿配方奶粉。于2012年5月,中心抽取了14个产品样本,分析奶粉中的营养素含量。
   
1.3 研究的第一轮主要结果是什么?
 

结果发现14个产品样本中,6个产品的碘含量不符合食品法典委员会的标准。食品法典委员会是公认的国际组织,制订协调一致的国际食品标准,以保障消费者的健康和确保食品公平贸易。

参考世界卫生组织(世卫)推荐的每日碘摄入量,中心认为6个产品其中2个,即Wakodo和光堂初生婴儿奶粉及Morinaga森永初生婴儿奶粉,对于只单纯进食这些产品的婴儿,从公共卫生角度,可能会引致婴儿碘缺乏的风险。

为避免不同生产批次的产品可能有营养素含量不同的问题,中心再抽取相关日本婴幼儿配方奶粉,即和光堂及森永,进一步测试。于8月6日报告的结果发现,和光堂的碘含量是每公斤94微克,而森永的是每公斤180微克。

这些结果显示,只单纯以该和光堂产品喂哺(根据制造商的指示)一个平均体重的0-6 个月婴儿,可能会增加他/她患上临床症状不明显甲状腺功能不足症及脑部受损的风险。

这些结果显示,只单纯以该森永产品喂哺(根据制造商的指示)一个平均体重的4-6个月婴儿,可能会增加他/她患上临床症状并不明显的甲状腺功能不足症 及脑部受损的风险。


鉴于首批十四个样本中,两个日本婴儿配方奶粉的碘含量较低,有可能影响婴儿甲状腺功能,中心即时加紧抽取市面上出售的其他供六个月以下婴儿食用配方奶粉样本作碘含量检测,并将结果上载于中心网页

直至八月底,中心已公布了五十九款婴儿配方奶粉的检测结果,其中只有六款日本生产婴儿配方奶粉的碘含量过低。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 13-09-2012