Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (97th Issue, August 2014 ) – Food Safety Platform

Carcinogens in Food

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

This is the last of a series of three articles on food, carcinogens and cancer.

As discussed in the first article, carcinogens are present in many commonly consumed foods. With careful handling, carcinogens can be reduced to a low level even though complete elimination may not be possible. Below are some common examples to illustrate how we can reduce the risks.

Aflatoxins

Aflatoxin contamination of foods is common worldwide. It is estimated that up to 25% of world food crops are affected by these potent carcinogens from moulds especially in hot and humid climate. Exposure to aflatoxins is mainly through consumption of contaminated foods like corn, peanuts, cereals, nuts and dried fruits. As aflatoxin contamination is widespread in cereal staples in many parts of the world, one will inevitably ingest low levels of aflatoxins. The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has recommended that the intake of aflatoxins be reduced to as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA), which means that the current agricultural and manufacturing practices cannot completely prevent or remove these potent carcinogens from crops without rejecting a large portion of the commodities in the food supply.

The concept of ALARA can be illustrated by the Brazil nut example. JECFA has estimated that in theory, if there is no maximum level (ML) for Brazil nuts, the mean aflatoxins level would be 20 μg/kg with no rejection of Brazil nuts from the world market. However, with an ML of 20 μg/kg, the mean level would be 2.4 μg/kg with 11% rejection, whereas an ML of 4 μg/kg would result in 1.2 μg/kg mean level with 17% rejection.

Arsenic

Arsenic is a metal that exists both naturally and as a result of human activities, and its exposure is mainly through drinking water and food. Its inorganic forms are generally more of health concerns to humans than the organic forms. The arsenic level in food that originated from land is generally low with a notable exception: rice, which is particularly capable of accumulating arsenic from the soil and environment when compared with other crops. The arsenic level would be even higher when the soil is naturally high in arsenic or through contamination. It was reported that rice can accumulate up to 510 μg/kg of inorganic arsenic, while inorganic arsenic level in other foods do not usually exceed 100 μg/kg with mean value generally less than 30 μg/kg. Since rice is a local staple, it is inevitable that we ingest some arsenic through rice consumption as reported in the First Hong Kong Total Diet Study.

Alcohol, Chinese-style Salted Fish and Cured Meat Products

Alcoholic drinks are consumed by adults in many societies, even though alcoholic beverages are known to cause human cancers in many sites such as the oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, oesophagus, liver colorectum, and female breast.

N-nitroso compounds are formed during the processing of Chinese style salted fish and when cured meat products like ham and preserved sausages are consumed. The added nitrate in cured meat can inhibit toxin formation by Clostridium botulinum bacteria while imparting the distinctive reddish colour and flavour of cured meats. It is impractical to ban these foods solely because of their carcinogenic components.

Reduce Cancer Risk by Minimising Exposure to Carcinogens through Foods

Even though it is not possible to completely eliminate all carcinogens from food, there are various approaches in minimising the effect of carcinogens. For unavoidable contaminants like aflatoxins, the ALARA principle is the internationally accepted approach, taking into account the best practices in production of a particular crop and set a maximum level for the commodity accordingly. For food additives like nitrate in cured meats, maximum levels are set for their use with consideration of the minimum level to achieve the desired effect. Salt preserved foods like cured meat should only be consumed in moderation, especially so for Chinese-style salted fish. Consumption of alcoholic drinks is not recommended. Keeping the carcinogenic contaminants at reasonably low level, avoiding or only consuming in moderation of foods that contain carcinogens and maintaining a healthy lifestyle are among the viable options to reduce cancer risk.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-08-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年八月第九十七期)-食物安全平台

食物中的致癌物質

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

我們這三期一直在探討食物、致癌物質與癌症三者之間的關係,本文為該系列之完結篇。

本系列首篇曾提過,我們日常中很多食物都含有致癌物質。雖然把這些致癌物質徹底清除是不可能的,但我們可以通過各種方法把致癌物質減到最少。下文將藉一些常見例子,說明如何減少致癌風險。

黃曲霉毒素

食物受黃曲霉毒素污染是全球普遍的現象。據估計,全球達25%的食用農作物受霉菌中的強烈致癌物污染,這種情形在潮濕炎熱的氣候下更加嚴重。我們攝入黃曲霉毒素,主要是因為吃了受污染的食物如粟米、花生、穀物、堅果和乾果等。由於穀類食品受黃曲霉毒素污染的情況在世界各地非常普遍,攝入少量黃曲霉毒素是在所難免的。聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會(JECFA)建議本着“可合理達到的盡量低原則”,將黃曲霉毒素的攝入量減到最少。這意味着以目前的農耕和生產技術,如要農作物中完全不含或徹底清除這些強烈致癌物,便須面對一大部分農產品被退,無法供應市場的後果。

讓我們以巴西果仁為例,說明“可合理達到的盡量低原則”的作用。據JECFA估計,從理論上來說,假設沒有設立巴西果仁中黃曲霉毒素含量的上限,巴西果仁中黃曲霉毒素的平均含量將為每公斤20微克,國際市場上被退的巴西果仁為零。另一方面,如設上限為每公斤20微克,則平均含量將為每公斤2.4微克,有11%巴西果仁被退;如上限為每公斤4微克,則平均含量將為每公斤1.2微克,有17%巴西果仁被退。

砷是一種金屬物質,既是自然存在,亦可由人類活動產生。飲用水和食物是人體攝入砷的主要來源。一般來說,無機砷對人體健康的影響比有機砷大。陸生食物一般砷含量偏低,大米是一個顯著的例外。與其他農作物相比,大米特別容易積聚砷。如土壤本身天然或因污染而含大量砷,在該處種植的大米的砷含量將會更高。有報告指大米的無機砷含量最高可達每公斤510微克,而其他食物的無機砷含量通常不會超過每公斤100微克,平均含量一般少於每公斤30微克。香港首個總膳食研究結果顯示,由於本港市民以米飯為主食,我們難免會從米飯中攝入一些砷。

酒精、中式鹹魚和醃製肉類

雖然已知酒精飲品可導致口腔癌、咽癌、喉癌、食道癌、肝癌、大腸癌和女性乳癌等多種癌症,但各地仍有成年人飲用酒精飲品。

中式鹹魚在製作過程中會形成N-亞硝基化合物,我們進食火腿和臘腸等醃製肉類後,體內亦會產生這種致癌物。醃製肉類添加的硝酸鹽除了令肉色鮮艷和提高風味外,還可抑制肉毒桿菌產生毒素。純以含致癌物為由而禁止這些食物是不切實際的。

預防癌症 減少從膳食攝入致癌物質

食物中的致癌物質雖然無法根除,但可採用各種方法把危害減到最低。對於不可避免的污染物如黃曲霉毒素,國際上普遍秉承“可合理達到的盡量低原則”,針對每種農作物採用最佳的種植方法,並設立相應的黃曲霉毒素含量上限。對於食物添加劑如醃製肉類中的硝酸鹽,則按其達到所需效果的最低分量來制定使用上限。醃製肉類等鹽醃食物,尤其是中式鹹魚的食用量務必適可而止。不要飲用酒精飲品。把致癌污染物合理地減到最低;避免或減少進食含致癌物的食物;以及保持健康生活模式等都是一些可行的防癌之道。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-08-2014