Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (97th Issue, August 2014) – Incident in Focus

Bacillus cereus in Processed Food

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, there were two incidents involving prepackaged food products that had been contaminated with excessive amount of Bacillus cereus. Affected products included bean milk and Chinese-style soup produced by two local food chains. This article discusses the risk of Bacillus cereus in processed food and the importance of temperature control.

Bacillus cereus and its Capability

Bacillus cereus is a spore-forming bacterium and grows best at 30°C to 37°C but stops growing at below 4°C. It is commonly found in the environment and a variety of raw foodstuffs such as fruits, vegetables and herbs but the level is generally too low to cause food poisoning. These foods usually contain less than 100 spores per gram, but higher amounts may be found in some herbs and spices.

Cooking, ironically, can give a chance for Bacillus cereus to grow into large numbers when opportunity arises. Not only the spores can survive normal cooking temperatures, the heat of cooking also activates the germination of spores of Bacillus cereus to become vegetative cells. Cooking also kills other bacteria that are not heat-resistant resulting in an environment short of competitors for the vegetative cells of Bacillus cereus to grow. If cooked food is left at ambient temperatures for a prolonged period, the vegetative cells can multiply into large numbers and/or eventually produce emetic (cause vomiting) toxin.

Temperature control to restrict the growth of Bacillus cereus
Temperature control to restrict the growth of Bacillus cereus

Since the toxin is heat-stable (can resist heating at 126°C for 90 minutes), once it is formed, it cannot be destroyed even the food is thoroughly reheated. Food poisoning caused by the toxin is characterised by vomiting within a short period of time after ingestion and has generally been associated with rice products as well as other starchy foods.

On the other hand, the bacterium can cause diarrhoeal type food poisoning which is due to the ingestion of food with large numbers of bacterial cells and/or spores that can produce enterotoxins in the small intestine. Food poisoning of this type is characterised by watery diarrhoea associated with abdominal pain, in which a wide variety of food including meats, milk, vegetables and fish have been implicated.

Temperature Control to Limit the Growth

In general, the presence of more than 100 000 cells of Bacillus cereus per gram of food can cause food poisoning; a simple way to prevent this tenacious bacterium is to limit its growth. Time and temperature control following heat treatment is of prime importance to prevent extensive Bacillus cereus growth and/or formation of emetic toxin. A rapid cooling process is required for heat treated food, followed by storage at refrigerator temperature. A set of standard cooling procedures should be established and the storage condition should be monitored. Alternatively, cooked food can be kept at above 60°C to restrict the growth of the bacterium.

Actions Taken

In response to the media reports, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) has inspected the processing plants and retail outlets of the manufacturers of the two concerned local food chains and collected food samples for laboratory testing. In view of the excessive amount of Bacillus cereus detected in their products, the FEHD has requested the manufacturers concerned to review and improve the production processes. The FEHD will closely monitor the situation and step-up inspection of the manufacturers concerned.

Key Points to Note

  • Bacillus cereus is ubiquitous and presents in a variety of foodstuffs.
  • Improper storage subsequent to heat treatment can allow the bacterium to grow and form heat-stable toxin.
  • Rapid cooling followed by proper refrigeration after heat treatment helps to prevent the multiplication of the bacterium.

Advice to the Public

  1. Keep food at safe temperatures, i.e. above 60°C or at or below 4°C, if it is not consumed immediately.
  2. Consume perishable prepackaged food and beverage promptly after opening or reheating and avoid prolonged storage at ambient temperatures.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Observe Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) in food processing to assure that the food products do not pose risk to the public.
  2. Food businesses are recommended to implement the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) system, a systematic application of good practice to the prevention of food safety problems.
  3. Implement preventive measures, particularly in food businesses with large volume throughput, to restrict the growth of Bacillus cereus in heat treated food, for example:
    • install specific rapid chilling equipment to speed up the cooling process, and
    • closely monitor the temperature of refrigerator and maintain a temperature log.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-08-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年八月第九十七期)-焦點個案

加工食品中的蠟樣芽孢桿菌

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告

最近本港發生兩宗預先包裝食物含過量蠟樣芽孢桿菌的事件,受影響的產品包括本地兩間食品連鎖店生產的豆漿和中式湯品。本文將探討加工食品含蠟樣芽孢桿菌的風險及溫度控制的重要性。

蠟樣芽孢桿菌及其致病風險

蠟樣芽孢桿菌是一種可產生孢子的細菌,最佳生長溫度約為攝氏30至37度,在攝氏4度以下便會停止生長。蠟樣芽孢桿菌普遍存在於環境和多種食材中,例如蔬果和香草等,但含量一般極低,不至於造成食物中毒。這類食物通常含有每克少於100個孢子,但有些香草及香料可能含有較多孢子。

諷刺的是,烹煮過程反而有機會令蠟樣芽孢桿菌大量滋生。正常的烹煮熱力不但不能殺滅孢子,還會誘發孢子萌發,成為繁殖細胞。在其他不耐熱的細菌被熱力消滅的情況下,蠟樣芽孢桿菌的繁殖細胞得以在沒有競爭對手的環境中肆意滋長。烹煮過的食物如放置在室溫下過久,繁殖細胞便會大量生長及/或最終產生致吐(引致嘔吐)毒素。

通過控制溫度來抑制蠟樣芽孢桿菌的生長
通過控制溫度來抑制蠟樣芽孢桿菌的生長

這些毒素非常耐熱(能抵受攝氏126度長達90分鐘),一旦在食物中產生,即使把食物徹底翻熱,也不能將之消除。由這種毒素引起的食物中毒,患者會在進食有問題食物後數小時內出現嘔吐等症狀。這類中毒一般與米製品及其他澱粉質食物有關。

蠟樣芽孢桿菌導致的另一類中毒屬於致腹瀉型,其症狀是伴隨腹痛的水狀腹瀉,因患者吃了含大量蠟樣芽孢桿菌細胞/孢子的食物而令腸毒素在小腸中產生所致。這類中毒一般與肉類、奶類、蔬菜和魚類等多種食物有關。

控制溫度以抑制蠟樣芽孢桿菌的生長

一般而言,每克食物含有超過10萬個蠟樣芽孢桿菌細胞便有可能引致食物中毒。因此,對付這種頑強的細菌的方法很簡單,就是抑制其生長。而避免蠟樣芽孢桿菌在食物中大量生長及/或產生致吐毒素的關鍵,則是食物在加熱處理後要控制好貯存的時間和溫度。食物在加熱處理後須盡快冷卻並予以冷藏。食物生產商須制定一套標準的冷卻程序及監察貯存情況。另一方面,把烹煮好的食物保持在攝氏60度以上,亦可抑制細菌滋生。

跟進行動

事件經傳媒報道後,食物環境衞生署(食環署)隨即派員到兩間連鎖店的廠房及零售點視察,並抽取樣本作化驗。鑑於有產品檢出過量蠟樣芽孢桿菌,食環署已要求生產商檢討及改善生產流程。食環署會繼續密切跟進事件,並加強監察有關生產商的衞生情況。

注意要點

  • 蠟樣芽孢桿菌無處不在,多種食物均含有該菌。
  • 食物在加熱處理後如貯存不當,會滋生蠟樣芽孢桿菌及產生耐熱毒素。
  • 食物加熱處理後盡快冷卻並妥為冷藏可防止該菌大量滋生。

給市民的建議

  1. 如非即時進食,應把食物貯存於安全溫度(攝氏60度以上/攝氏4度或以下)。
  2. 避免把易壞的預先包裝食物和飲品放在室溫下過久;開封或翻熱後應立即食用。

給業界的建議

  1. 奉行優良製造規範加工處理食品以確保食品不會對公眾構成風險。
  2. 食物製造業應採用「食物安全重點控制」(HACCP)系統來管理食物製造過程,藉着應用良好的措施,有系統地防止出現食物安全問題。
  3. 食物業界,尤其是食品出產數量龐大的食物製造商應實施預防措施,抑制蠟樣芽孢桿菌在經加熱處理的食物中滋生,例如:
    • 安裝專門的快速冷卻裝置,加快食物的冷卻過程;以及
    • 密切監察雪櫃的溫度,並保存溫度監察的記錄。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-08-2014