Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (96th Issue, July 2014 ) – Food Safety Platform

Food, Carcinogens and Cancer -- Part II

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

This is the second article in a series on the relation of food, carcinogens and cancer.

How do Carcinogens Act?

A carcinogen is a substance that can cause cancer. Carcinogens can be classified according to their mode of action into genotoxic and non-genotoxic. Genotoxic carcinogens induce cancers via a mechanism involving direct damage to DNA. For this type of carcinogens, it is assumed that no level of exposure is entirely safe and even at low levels, some damage to the genetic material may increase the chance of developing cancer. Therefore, no safe reference value can be established. For non-genotoxic carcinogens, instead of acting on DNA, they induce cancers through other mechanisms such as disrupting structure of the cell, changing the rate of cell division and other processes that increase the risk of genetic error. There is usually a threshold dose for non-genotoxic carcinogens, below which no toxic or carcinogenic effects are seen.

Evaluation of Substances for the Likelihood of Causing Cancer

Carcinogenicity refers to the ability or tendency to produce cancer. As evaluation of the carcinogenicity of substances involves complicated processes and complex scientific judgement, the work is often coordinated by esteemed cancer research organisations such as the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) of the World Health Organization (WHO). When evaluating the carcinogenicity of substances to humans, IARC considers the body of evidence as a whole in order to reach an overall evaluation. The substances are classified into four groups according to the strength of evidence derived from studies in humans and in experimental animals and other relevant data.

IARC classification of substances based on their carcinogenicity

Healthy Lifestyle Can Reduce Cancer Risk

Cancer is caused by a variety of factors. The most important established cause of cancer is tobacco smoking; others include diet, alcohol consumption, physical activity, infections, hormonal factors and radiation. According to the WHO, dietary factors are estimated to account for about 30% of cancers in industrialised countries, making diet second only to tobacco as a theoretically preventable cause of cancer. This proportion is thought to be about 20% in developing countries. Hence, you can reduce your risk of developing cancer by having a healthy diet and lifestyle. The WHO, besides stressing the importance of maintaining suitable body weight and regular physical activity, gives the following recommendations related to foods and drinks:

  • Consumption of at least 400g per day of total fruits and vegetables is recommended. This can be achieved by following the Department of Health’s recommendation of having at least two servings of fruits and three servings of vegetables daily.
  • Consumption of alcoholic beverages is not recommended.
  • Chinese-style fermented salted fish should only be consumed in moderation, especially during childhood. Overall consumption of salt preserved foods and salt should be moderate.
  • Consumption of preserved meat (e.g. sausages, salami, bacon, ham, etc.) should be moderate.
  • Exposure to aflatoxins should be minimised. Aflatoxins are mycotoxins that are more likely to be found in mouldy peanuts, tree nuts, corn, dried figs, cereals and their products.
  • Do not consume foods or drinks when they are at a very high temperature, i.e. scalding hot.
In the next issue, we will go into more details about certain food carcinogens and the measures to reduce their levels in foods.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-07-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年七月第九十六期)-食物安全平台

食物、致癌物質與癌症–下篇

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

我們這幾期會探討食物、致癌物質與癌症三者之間的關係,本文為該系列之二。

致癌物質是如何引致癌症的?

致癌物質是指會引發癌症的物質,按其致癌機理可分為基因毒性致癌物和非基因毒性致癌物兩類。基因毒性致癌物是透過直接破壞脫氧核糖核酸(DNA)而誘發癌症。這類致癌物沒有一個絕對安全的攝入量,即使少量也有可能破壞基因物質,從而增加發生癌症的機會,因此不可能為基因毒性致癌物釐定一個安全參考值。非基因毒性致癌物則不是與DNA產生反應,而是通過破壞細胞結構、改變細胞分裂速率及其他增加基因錯誤風險的作用而致癌。非基因毒性致癌物通常可確定閾值,低於此值將觀察不到毒性或致癌作用。

評估物質的致癌性

致癌性是指可引致癌症的能力或傾向。物質的致癌性評估過程極其複雜且涉及嚴謹細密的科學判斷,通常由權威癌症研究組織,例如世界衞生組織(世衞)轄下的國際癌症研究機構統籌進行。該機構在評估物質對人類的致癌性時,會通盤考慮所有掌握的證據,以作出全面的判斷。根據人體研究結果、動物實驗結果以及其他相關數據等證據的充分程度,有關物質被分為四組。

國際癌症研究機構按物質致癌性制定的分類

健康生活模式可減低患癌風險

癌症由多種因素引起,其中吸煙被確定為最主要的致癌成因。其他的致癌因素還包括膳食、飲酒、體能活動、傳染病、激素和輻射等。據世衞估計,在工業化國家,膳食因素約與30%的癌症有關,成為僅次於煙草,理論上可預防的致癌因素。而在發展中國家,估計這一比例大概亦佔20%左右。因此,只要建立健康的飲食習慣和生活模式,便能減低患癌的風險。世衞除了強調保持體重適中和定期進行體能活動的重要性外,在飲食方面還提出了下列建議:

  • 每日應進食最少400克蔬果。只要遵循衞生署的建議,每天進食最少兩份水果和三份蔬菜,便可達到這個目標。
  • 建議不要飲用含酒精的飲料。
  • 經發酵的中式鹹魚的食用量要適中,尤其是在兒童期。鹽醃食物和食鹽的總食用量應適中。
  • 不要食用太多醃製肉類(如香腸、沙樂美腸、煙肉、火腿等)。
  • 盡量減少攝入黃曲霉毒素。黃曲霉毒素是一類霉菌毒素,較常見於發霉的花生、木本堅果、玉米、無花果乾、穀物和上述食物的製品中。
  • 不要食用太熱(滾燙)的食物或飲料。
下一期我們會詳細探討幾種食物中的致癌物質,以及如何減少這些物質在食物中的含量。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:16-07-2014