Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus ( 94th Issue, May 2014 ) – Food Safety Platform

Slow Cooking and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In this last article of cooking methods and food safety series, let’s take a look at two ways of slow cooking i.e. via sous vide (pronounced “soo-veed”) and using a slow cooker to see if soft fire really makes sweet malt.

Sous vide

Sous vide is a French term meaning “under vacuum”. As a culinary term, it refers to a m ethod of cooking under vacuum in sealed plastic pouches at exact temperatures (generally in the range of 47°C - 88°C; often done in a water bath to control the temperatures) for a relatively long period of time.

Sous vide sounds like a new cooking method but it has decades of history in France and other international marketplaces. In Hong Kong, sous vide food is not only available at food premises but can also be prepared at home.

The vacuum sealing of sous vide food allows heat to be efficiently transferred from water to the food and increases the shelf life of food by eliminating possible cross-contamination during storage. Sous vide foods are therefore suitable for retail sale or use in food service. Sous vide can also be used to prepare food with qualities that cannot be achieved by traditional cooking methods e.g. it inhibits off-flavours from oxidation and prevents evaporative losses of flavour volatiles and moisture during cooking. The precise temperature control also allows almost-perfect reproducibility (greater control over doneness) and makes tough cuts of meat tender.

Nevertheless, there are concerns over the microbiological safety of sous vide foods. Firstly, even the oxygen reduced environment suppresses the growth of spoilage bacteria, food held at temperature danger zone (4°C - 60°C) for prolonged period of time could allow pathogens like Clostridium perfringens to grow. The heat resistant Clostridium perfringens spores which survive during normal cooking can germinate and grow in vacuum packed food if the temperature control is inadequate. Secondly, for sous vide foods stored under refrigeration for extended periods, the anaerobic (absence of oxygen) and refrigerated conditions provide an opportunity for the growth of certain facultative anaerobes (bacteria which can grow either with or without oxygen) e.g. Listeria monocytogenes and anaerobes (bacteria which require the absence of oxygen) e.g. Clostridium botulinum. Last but not least, some sous vide recipes, especially for fish, result in food that remains undercooked that any pathogenic bacteria or parasites are likely to survive.

Sous vide cooking
Sous vide cooking

To ensure food safety, it is recommended that the core temperature of sous vide food should reach at least 75°C for 30 seconds or equivalent temperature/time combination e.g. 65°C for 10 minutes; 70°C for 2 minutes; while the core temperature of food should not be less than 60°C for 45 minutes .

Food handlers should be aware that sous vide food that remains undercooked presents an increased food safety risk especially for the susceptible populations. Measures should be taken including using high quality fresh ingredients e.g. sashimi grade fish from reliable sources to improve their safety. High risk population should, however, avoid consuming undercooked food.

In addition, food grade plastic bags, certified as suitable for cooking by the manufacturer, should only be used for sous vide cooking.

Slow cooker

Slow cooker is an electrical appliance which is designed to cook food at lower temperatures for several hours.

From the microbiological point of view, cooking food by using a slow cooker properly is safe as the direct heat from the pot, prolonged cooking etc. added to destroy microorganisms that may be present in the food.

Nevertheless, there had been food poisoning outbreaks associated with slow cooked beans as the cooking temperature was not high enough to destroy phytohaemagglutinin. This natural toxin is found in many bean species, among them the highest concentration is found in red kidney beans. So if one really wants to cook beans especially red kidney beans in a slow cooker, the beans should be soaked in water and cooked thoroughly at boiling temperature beforehand, or canned beans should be used instead.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-05-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年五月第九十四期-食物安全平台

慢煮與食物安全

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士報告

這是烹調方法與食物安全系列的最後一篇,我們會探討一下真空低溫烹調法(sous vide)和慢煮鍋這兩種慢煮法,看看慢煮是否真的出美味。

真空低溫烹調法

Sous vide的法文原意是真空。作為烹飪術語,這是指把食物放入塑膠袋並且真空密封,然後以精確的溫度(通常為攝氏47度至88度之間;一般是將整袋食物放入水浴鍋中以控制溫度)長時間烹煮 。

真空低溫烹調法聽起來非常時尚,但其實這種烹調方法在法國和其他地方已有數十年的歷史。在香港,真空低溫烹調的食物不僅是餐廳的專利,在家也能做得到。

把食物真空密封後烹煮,可令水中的熱力快速傳至食物,並減少食物在貯存期間受到交叉污染的風險,從而延長食物的保質期。因此這種烹調方法可用於配製作零售及用於餐飲服務的食物。真空低溫烹調法能配製出傳統烹調法不能達致的食物品質,例如真空低溫烹調法能抑制在食物氧化過程中產生的異味,以及減少在烹煮時水分和味道揮發物的蒸發流失,令食物保存原汁原味。此外,精確的溫度控制令烹調過程容易成功複製(更易掌握食物的生熟程度),而且能令肉質較韌的部位變得軟嫩。

然而,真空低溫烹煮的食物卻有微生物安全的隱憂。首先,雖然沒有氧氣的環境不利於造成食物腐敗的細菌生長,但食物存放在攝氏4度至60度的危險溫度範圍過久,容易滋生產氣莢膜梭狀芽孢桿菌等致病菌。產氣莢膜梭狀芽孢桿菌的孢子耐熱,能在正常煮食過程中存活,如果溫度控制欠妥,可在真空包裝的食物中萌發繁殖起來。其次,真空低溫烹煮的食物長時間存放在雪櫃中,缺氧和冷藏的環境有利於李斯特菌等兼性厭氧菌(在有氧或無氧環境中均能生長繁殖的細菌)和肉毒桿菌等厭氧菌(在無氧條件下生長的細菌)的繁殖。最後,有些真空低溫烹調法的食譜,尤其是魚的食譜做法未能把食物徹底煮熟,不足以消滅食物中的致病菌或寄生蟲。

真空低溫烹調法
真空低溫烹調法

為確保食物安全,我們建議用真空低溫烹調法烹製的食物中心溫度應達至少攝氏75度30秒,或相當的溫度/時間組合,例如攝氏65度10分鐘;70度2分鐘,但食物的中心溫度不應少於攝氏60度45分鐘。

食物處理人員應留意,真空低溫烹煮的食物如果沒有徹底煮熟,會增加食物安全風險,對高危人士尤其危險。食物處理人員應採取措施,包括選用新鮮的優質食材,例如從可靠的供應商處購買刺身級的魚類,以改善有關食品的安全。但無論如何,高危人士應避免進食未經徹底煮熟的食物。

此外,只應選用製造商認證可用於煮食的食品級塑膠袋作真空低溫烹調之用。

慢煮鍋

慢煮鍋是一款用作低溫烹煮食物數小時的電器。

從微生物的角度去看,正確使用慢煮鍋來烹煮食物是安全的,因為從鍋裡直接傳至食物的熱力和長時間的烹煮,都能消滅食物中的微生物。

然而,過去曾發生因慢煮鍋溫度不足,以致未能破壞豆中的植物血球凝集素而發生的食物中毒事件。多種豆類都含有植物血球凝集素這種天然毒素,其中以紅腰豆的含量最高。因此,如果想用慢煮鍋烹煮豆類,尤其是紅腰豆,便要先行把豆浸透,並以沸水高溫徹底烹煮。不然的話,罐頭豆也是一個好的選擇。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期: 21-05-2014