Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (90th Issue, January 2014) – Food Safety Platform

Toxins in our Mushrooms?

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

This article is the last in a series of three articles on natural toxins in food.

Mushrooms have been cherished by many cultures as nature’s delicacies. They provide people with food of unique aroma, flavour and texture, and at the same time provide a source of protein and other nutrients. The macroscopic mushroom, which is the reproductive spore-bearing organ of a fungus, is usually the part consumed as food.

However, there are also many wild mushrooms that contain a range of chemicals that can seriously hamper consumers’ health, causing permanent damages to organs and even death. Such tragic results have been reported in many mushroom-consuming cultures from time to time, as toxic and non-toxic species of mushrooms can look similar and identifying toxic mushrooms calls for the expertise of mycologists. Folklore methods like observing the colour, reactions with silver, etc. are not reliable indicators of mushroom toxicity. Furthermore, many mushroom toxins are heat resistant and cannot be rendered non-toxic through cooking or canning. Therefore, the only way to avoid mushroom poisoning is not to collect and consume wild mushrooms. There are also many non-lethal but still toxic mushroom toxins. In fact, the majority of the wild mushrooms in Hong Kong (about 90%) are inedible or poisonous.

Amatoxins

Amatoxins is a family of cyclic octapeptides. Amatoxins are potent toxins that are unique in staying latent in human for a period ranging from 6 to 48 hours (average 6 to 15 hours) after consumption before showing any poisoning symptoms. This symptomless latent period enables the intaken amatoxins to circulate and exert toxicities to different organs of the victim, and cause the victim to delay seeking medical attention. The symptoms initially resemble severe gut infection with abdominal pain, vomiting and watery diarrhoea. If the victims survive this stage, they may seem to recover for a short period, and followed by liver failure with loss of strength and appetite, tea colour urine and yellow skin. Death can occur from dehydration in the initial severe gut toxicity phase or more commonly from liver failure if liver transplantation cannot be arranged. Death Cap (Amanita phalloides), Guangzhou Destroying Angel (Amanita exitialis), East Asian Brown Death Cap (Amanita fuliginea) and Eastern American Floury Amanita (Amanita farinosa) are among the local wild mushroom species that contain amatoxins. There were two outbreaks of amatoxins poisoning in April 2013 after consumption of locally collected wild Amanita mushrooms, affecting three persons. All three persons suffered from serious liver damage and one of them required liver transplant.

Muscarine

Muscarine is a mushroom toxin that can affect the receptors in smooth muscles and sweat glands in the autonomic nervous system. It mainly causes profuse sweating in people who consume mushrooms with high levels of muscarine. Muscarine poisoning is also characterised by increased salivation, perspiration and tearing, and followed by abdominal pain, nausea, diarrhoea and difficulty breathing within 15 to 30 minutes of consuming the mushrooms. Clitocybe and Inocybe species of mushrooms, with some of them known to contain muscarine, are found wild in Hong Kong. There are a few local poisoning cases suspected to be caused by muscarine but the exact mushroom could not be identified.

Examples of poisonous wild mushrooms that can be found in Hong Kong. Amanita phalloides contains amatoxins while Panaeolus retirugis contains psilocin. (Photo by courtesy of Professor Chang Shu-ting, Emeritus Professor of Biology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Examples of poisonous wild mushrooms that can be found in Hong Kong. Amanita phalloides contains amatoxins while Panaeolus retirugis contains psilocin. (Photo by courtesy of Professor Chang Shu-ting, Emeritus Professor of Biology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Gastrointestinal Toxin

By far the commonest toxin in mushroom in Hong Kong or worldwide is gut irritants. These ill-defined gastrointestinal toxins exist in a number of local mushrooms and cause more than 90% of mushroom poisoning in Hong Kong. Patients would have early onset (0.5 to 3 hours) of epigastric pain, vomiting and diarrhoea. The disease is self-limiting and responds to fluid replacement and symptomatic treatment.

Other Mushroom Toxins

There are also other mushroom toxins that cause a range of symptoms after consumption. However, there is no local case reported so far. Some mushroom toxins can cause drunk-like symptoms, illusions, hallucinations or even convulsion, others can cause renal or muscle injury, while one of them can cause symptoms only after co-ingestion of alcohol.

Do Not Self-collect and Consume Wild Mushrooms

As there is no easy way for the general public to ensure correct identification of edible wild mushrooms, the public should not collect wild mushrooms themselves for consumption. Edible, inedible and poisonous wild mushrooms can look quite similar and distinguishing mushroom species is difficult. Contamination in field collected mushrooms is common, and it is easy to have spoiled mushrooms in a collection. Consuming edible but contaminated or spoiled wild mushrooms also leads to poisoning. The consequence of consuming incorrectly identified or unsafe mushrooms can be severe and life threatening.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-01-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年一月第九十期-食物安全平台

菇類含毒素嗎?

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

我們一連三期介紹食物中的天然毒素,本文為該系列之完結篇。

菇類清香味美、口感獨特,並蘊含豐富的蛋白質和其他營養,古今中外皆視之為山珍。菇類屬於大型真菌,可供食用的是其產生孢子的生殖器官。

然而,很多野生菇類含有多種對健康有害的化學物,誤食可能會對器官造成永久性傷害,甚至死亡。由於有毒和無毒的菇類外形相似,非真菌學家不易鑒別,因誤食菇類而中毒的事例在有食用菇類傳統的地方時有所聞。民間流傳觀察菇類的顏色,或用銀器測試等都是沒有根據的說法,絕對不能當作判斷菇類毒性的標準。此外,很多菇類毒素都是耐熱的,烹煮或裝罐都不能去除毒性。因此,預防菇類中毒的唯一方法是不要隨便採食野菇。另外還有很多不至於致命但仍然有毒的菇類毒素。事實上,香港大部分野菇(約佔九成)都是不能食用或有毒的。

毒傘肽

毒傘肽是一類環肽化合物,屬劇毒,其獨特之處在於食用後會在人體內潛伏6至48小時(平均為6至15小時)後才會出現中毒症狀。患者在潛伏期時往往由於沒有病徵而沒有及時求診,但此時其實毒素已在侵害體內各器官。發病初期會出現腹痛、嘔吐和水狀腹瀉等嚴重腸胃感染症狀。如患者挺過這個階段,會有短暫時間彷彿已經病愈,但之後會病情惡化,出現肝衰竭、乏力、沒有胃口、尿呈茶色和皮膚發黃等病徵。中毒深的患者有可能在早期嚴重腸胃炎時因脫水而死,但更常見的是因無法安排肝臟移植而死於肝衰竭。本港的野生菇類如條紋毒鵝膏菌、致命鵝膏菌、灰花紋鵝膏菌和小托柄鵝膏菌等都含有毒傘肽。二零一三年四月本港曾發生兩宗採食野生鵝膏屬菌而毒傘肽中毒的事件,造成三人中毒,三名患者的肝都受到嚴重損害,其中一人更需肝臟移植。

毒蕈鹼

毒蕈鹼是一種菇類毒素,會影響自主神經系統的平滑肌和汗腺的受體。進食了含大量毒蕈鹼的菇類會大量流汗,毒蕈鹼的中毒症狀還包括唾液、汗液和淚液分泌增加,並在進食毒菇後15至30分鐘內出現腹痛、噁心、腹瀉和呼吸困難。本港郊外可見的杯傘屬和絲蓋傘屬某些品種含有毒蕈鹼。有些本地中毒個案懷疑是毒蕈鹼造成的,但涉及的確實菇類品種未明。

本港其中兩種有毒野菇:條紋毒鵝膏菌含毒傘肽,而花褶傘則含羥基二甲色胺。 ( 照片由中大生物學榮休講座教授張樹庭教授提供 )
本港其中兩種有毒野菇:條紋毒鵝膏菌含毒傘肽,而花褶傘則含羥基二甲色胺。(照片由中大生物學榮休講座教授張樹庭教授提供)

腸胃毒素

香港以至全世界的菇類最常含有的是刺激腸胃的毒素。本港亦有菇類含有這些成分不明的腸胃毒素,本港逾九成的菇類中毒都是由這些毒素引起的。患者很快(0.5至3小時)會出現上腹痛、嘔吐和腹瀉等症狀。這類中毒一般會自然痊癒,期間只須補充水分和輔以紓緩症狀的藥物。

其他菇類毒素

除了上述毒素外,還有其他食用後會出現不同中毒症狀的菇類毒素。但本港至今沒有這類病例報告。有些菇類毒素會引致與醉酒類似的症狀,出現錯覺和幻覺,甚至抽搐;其他則會引致腎臟或肌肉受損,其中一種菇類毒素只有與酒類同吃才會出現症狀。

切勿自行採食野生菇類

鑒別可食用的野生菇類並沒有簡單易行的方法,因此,市民不應自行採食野生菇類。可食、不可食和有毒的野生菇類外形十分相似,實難以分辨種類。野外採摘的菇類受污染的情況非常普遍,而且很容易混雜了已腐爛變質的野菇。食用受到污染或腐爛的食用菇同樣會引致中毒。誤食有毒或不安全的野菇後果可以非常嚴重,甚至致命。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期: 15-01-2014