Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (90th Issue, January 2014) – Incident in Focus

Oyster and Food Safety Risk

Reported by Dr. Baw LUKE, Medical & Health Officer,
Food Incidents Response & Management Unit,
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, two clusters of food poisoning involving 49 persons who had dined in Happy Valley were reported to the Centre for Food Safety. The predominant symptoms among the victims were vomiting and diarrhoea which appeared about 40 hours after the meal. Findings of epidemiological investigation suggested that the food poisoning was caused by consumption of norovirus contaminated raw oysters.

As oysters feed by filtering large volumes of seawater from their surrounding environment, viruses, bacteria and heavy metals can accumulate in oysters.

Oyster, delicacy that carries inherent risk.
Oyster, delicacy that carries inherent risk.

Norovirus and Oysters

Among the different disease-causing viruses found in oysters, norovirus in oysters is well-known to cause foodborne disease outbreaks worldwide, making raw oysters a high risk food item. Besides being foodborne, the virus can also be spread from person to person and from contaminated surroundings, both of which are important routes of infection. Norovirus infection is more common in winter months, and thus it is sometimes called the "winter vomiting disease".

Norovirus affects people of all ages and only a few viral particles are required to cause disease. However, it is more common among the elderly and children under five years of age. Typically, symptoms of vomiting, nausea, abdominal cramps and diarrhoea develop 24 to 48 hours after the ingestion of contaminated food or water while headache and fever may also occur. Although vomiting can be severe and debilitating, symptoms generally last for one to two days and the illness is usually self-limiting with no long term complication.

Bacteria in Oysters

Vibrio bacteria are often implicated in contaminated seafood, including oysters. There are different kinds of Vibrio. They like to live in warm coastal sea water. Vibrio parahaemolyticus is the commonest type of Vibrio which causes food poisoning. Symptoms of affected persons include diarrhoea, abdominal cramps, fever, nausea and vomiting.

Heavy Metals in Oysters

Oysters can also be contaminated by heavy metals like cadmium and lead. Acute toxicity resulting from consumption of contaminated food is uncommon but chronic exposure can result in undesirable toxic effects. Toxicity from heavy metals depends on the type of metals and the amount taken, for example, cadmium and lead affect the kidney and neurodevelopment respectively.

Action Taken

For the two food poisoning outbreaks, prompt action was taken to stop the import and sale of the concerned oysters. At the same time, the World Health Organization was informed of the outbreaks through its International Food Safety Authorities Network (INFOSAN), which in turn alerted other food safety authorities at the international level.

Key Points to Note:

  • Oysters harvested from contaminated water can cause disease in human.
  • Despite rigorous monitoring, currently there is no foolproof method to ensure oysters are absolutely safe for raw consumption.
  • Consumption of raw oysters carries an inherent risk of food poisoning.

Advice to the Public

  1. Eating raw oysters carries potential microbiological and chemical risks.
  2. To reduce risk, raw oysters should only be consumed in or obtained from reliable licensed premises.
  3. Susceptible populations (the elderly, young children, pregnant women and people with weakened immunity) should avoid taking raw oysters.
  4. Maintain a balanced diet and avoid over indulgence in oysters.
  5. Thorough cooking of oysters can significantly reduce the food poisoning risk.

Advice to the Trade

  1. All shellfish, including oysters, should be obtained from reliable sources with health certificates issued by relevant authority of the exporting countries.
  2. Selling raw seafood, such as oysters, requires permission in writing/endorsement from the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene.
  3. Efforts should be made to source oysters that were grown in and harvested from areas of clean water.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-01-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年一月第九十期)-焦點個案

蠔的食物安全風險

食物安全中心
食物事故應變及管理小組
陸坡醫生報告

食物安全中心上月接獲兩宗涉及49人的集體食物中毒個案報告。患者均曾於跑馬地用膳,並於進食後約40小時出現嘔吐和腹瀉等主要病徵。流行病學調查顯示,肇因是進食了受諾如病毒污染的生蠔。

由於蠔以過濾大量海水的方式進食,體內很容易積聚了各種病毒、細菌和重金屬。

蠔--暗藏風險的美食
蠔--暗藏風險的美食

諾如病毒與蠔

蠔所含的各種病毒中,最為人熟知的是諾如病毒。世界各地都有因進食含諾如病毒的蠔所引致的食物中毒事件,因此生蠔屬於高危食物。除經食物傳播外,諾如病毒的主要傳播途徑還包括人傳人及接觸受病毒污染的環境。諾如病毒感染多在冬季爆發,故又稱“冬季嘔吐症”。

諾如病毒只須少量粒子便會致病,不同年齡的人士都會受影響,但以長者和五歲以下幼兒較易染病。一般而言,進食受污染的食物或飲用受污染的食水後24至48小時內會出現嘔吐、噁心、腹部絞痛和腹瀉等症狀,有時也會出現頭痛和發燒。雖然患者或會嘔吐得很厲害,及出現身體虛弱的情況,但症狀一般在一至兩天後便自行消退,及不會有後遺症。

蠔所含的細菌

受污染的海產(包括蠔)經常含有弧菌。弧菌生活在溫暖的海岸水域,種類繁多,其中最常引致食物中毒的是副溶血性弧菌,病徵包括腹瀉、腹部絞痛、發燒、噁心和嘔吐等。

蠔所含的重金屬

蠔亦會受鎘和鉛等重金屬污染。雖然因進食受重金屬污染的食物而引致急性中毒的情況並不常見,但長期攝取重金屬可能會對健康帶來不良的影響。重金屬對身體的毒性視乎重金屬的種類和攝入量而定。舉例來說,鎘會影響腎臟,而鉛則對神經系統的發育有影響。

控制措施

發生上述兩宗食物中毒事件後,食物安全中心立即下令禁止進口及銷售有關蠔隻,同時透過國際食品安全當局網絡把事件通知世界衞生組織,由該組織循國際層面知會其他食物安全機構。

注意要點:

  • 採自受污染水域的蠔可以致病。
  • 雖然已有嚴格的監管措施,但目前沒有萬無一失的方法,可以保證吃生蠔是絕對安全的。
  • 進食生蠔有潛在的食物中毒風險。

給市民的意見

  1. 食用生蠔存在微生物和化學風險。
  2. 為減低風險,無論是進食還是購買生蠔,都應光顧可靠的持牌店鋪。
  3. 高風險人士(長者、幼童、孕婦和免疫力較弱的人)應避免進食生蠔。
  4. 保持均衡飲食,避免過量進食蠔。
  5. 把蠔徹底煮熟可大幅減低食物中毒的風險。

給業界的意見

  1. 貝類海產(包括蠔)應購自可靠的供應商,並須附有原產地有關當局簽發的衞生證書。
  2. 賣生吃海鮮(例如蠔)須獲得食物環境衞生署署長的書面許可/批准。
  3. 盡量採購在乾淨水域生長和採獲的蠔。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期: 15-01-2014