Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (86th Issue, September 2013) – Incident in Focus

Clostridium botulinum in Powdered Formulae for Infants and Young Children

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, the New Zealand Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) announced that some batches of whey protein concentrate produced by Fonterra were potentially contaminated with Clostridium botulinum (C. botulinum). The concerned products were sold and mixed with other ingredients to form various food products including powdered formulae for infants and young children. In Hong Kong, a brand of follow up formula was recalled as a precautionary measure. This article discusses the risk of C. botulinum in powdered formulae.

C. botulinum and Botulism

C. botulinum is a bacterium that produces heat-resistant spores which are widely distributed in the environment. When the conditions become favourable, for example in the absence of oxygen, the spores germinate, grow and excrete dangerous neurotoxins that can cause a rare but potentially fatal illness called botulism.

Foodborne botulism is caused by the ingestion of pre-formed toxin in contaminated food. Common implicated foods include lightly preserved foods and inadequately processed canned or bottled low-acid foods such as home-canned low-acid vegetables and vacuum packed meat and fish products.

On the other hand, intestinal botulism (formerly infant botulism) is caused by the ingestion of C. botulinum spores which germinate in the intestine and release toxin. Intestinal botulism rarely happens in persons over one-year-old as better developed natural microbiological flora in the intestine do not favour the germination and growth of the bacteria. There are several possible sources of intestinal botulism and spore-contaminated honey has been implicated in a number of cases in infants. Hence, it is recommended not to feed honey to infants less than one-year-old.

Locally, there has been no case of botulism recorded in Hong Kong since this disease was made statutory notifiable on 14 July 2008. Prior to that, one suspected case of botulism was recorded in 2007 but no implicated food could be identified.

C. botulinum
C. botulinum survives in form of spores under adverse conditions. If the conditions become favourable, the spores germinate into bacteria, grow and produce toxin. Photo by courtesy of the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

C. botulinum Risk in Powdered Formulae

Powdered formulae for infants and young children are not sterile products and may be contaminated with pathogens that can cause serious illness.

In general, using hot water no less than 70oC to make up powdered infant formula (PIF) can kill certain harmful bacteria like Cronobacter sakazakii. However, this practice can neither destroy toxin nor spores produced by C. botulinum since such toxin can only be destroyed by boiling for ten minutes or longer while inactivation of the spores requires much higher temperature.

Having said that, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and the World Health Organization consider that the causality between the illness caused by C. botulinum and PIF consumption is less plausible or not yet demonstrated. Although C. botulinum has been identified in PIF, it has not been implicated as causing illness in infants.

The Evolvement of the Incident

According to MPI’s investigation on the incident, the contamination of the concerned whey protein concentrate occurred when it was processed through a temporary connection pipe which had been contaminated.

Initially, the whey protein concentrate had produced test results suggesting the presence of spores of C. botulinum. However, subsequent validation conducted by MPI and the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention confirmed that the bacterium was not C. botulinum but another Clostridium species which is not pathogenic. In view of the latest finding, MPI confirmed that there was never a food safety risk associated with the concerned products and the precautionary advisory of these products has been revoked.

Actions Taken by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)

Upon receipt of the information that certain powdered formulae potentially contaminated with C. botulinum were available in Hong Kong, the CFS took prompt actions including issuing food alert and press release , setting up designated hotline, liaising with the New Zealand authority and the local trade etc.

As a precautionary measure, the CFS also took ad hoc dairy product samples for children aged under one-year-old manufactured in New Zealand to test for C. botulinium. Results were all satisfactory.

Key Points to Note:

  • Intestinal botulism is caused by the ingestion of C. botulinum spores that germinate and grow in the intestine of infants and release toxin.
  • Use hot water no less than 70oC to make up PIF to kill certain pathogens, but this cannot destroy C. botulinum toxin or spores.
  • Although C. botulinum has been identified in PIF, it has not been implicated as causing illness in infants.

Advice to the Public

  1. Caretakers should follow the “ Infant Feeding Guide to Bottle-feeding ” published by the Department of Health when reconstituting PIF. Although the guide is not targeted to address C. botulinum, it provides general safety advice on preparing powdered formulae for infants.
  2. Use hot water no less than 70oC to make up PIF. Even it cannot destroy C. botulinum toxin or spores, it kills certain pathogens of concern.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Ensure foods imported and for sale are fit for human consumption.
  2. Obtain food and food ingredients from reliable sources.
  3. Manufacturers of powdered formulae should refer to relevant Codex guidance and recommendations on hygienic manufacture of powdered formulae for infants and young children.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-09-2013

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年九月第八十六期)-焦點個案

嬰幼兒配方奶粉中的肉毒桿菌

食物安全中心
食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士報告

新西蘭初級產業部上月宣布,恆天然集團製造的濃縮乳清蛋白有部分批次懷疑受肉毒桿菌污染。問題產品已售出並與其他材料混合製成各種食品,包括嬰幼兒配方奶粉。為謹慎起見,本港一款較大嬰兒配方奶粉因而被回收。本文將探討配方奶粉含肉毒桿菌的風險。

肉毒桿菌與肉毒中毒

肉毒桿菌是一種會產生耐熱孢子的細菌,其孢子普遍存在於環境中,一旦環境變得有利,例如沒有氧氣,孢子便有可能萌發生長,並釋出極危險的神經毒素,引致一種罕見但可致命的疾病―肉毒中毒。

食源性肉毒中毒是因為吃下含有肉毒毒素的食物。容易受肉毒桿菌污染的食物包括輕微醃製的食物及未經妥善加工處理的罐頭或樽裝低酸食物,例如自製低酸蔬菜罐頭和真空包裝的肉類和魚類製品等。

另一方面,腸道性肉毒中毒(舊稱嬰兒肉毒中毒)的成因是嬰兒吃下肉毒桿菌孢子後,孢子在其腸道內萌發和生長,繼而釋出毒素。此病極少發生在一歲以上的人身上,因為其腸道內的天然微生物菌羣已發展得較為成熟,不利這些孢子萌發。腸道性肉毒中毒有幾個可能的感染源,其中已知受肉毒桿菌孢子污染的蜜糖與若干嬰兒病例有關。因此,不應給一歲以下嬰兒餵食蜜糖。

在香港,自二零零八年七月十四日肉毒中毒被列為法定須呈報的疾病以來,尚未錄得感染個案。二零零七年曾有一宗懷疑肉毒中毒個案,但未能找出引致中毒的食品。

肉毒桿菌
肉毒桿菌在惡劣的環境下以孢子的形式存活。一俟環境變得有利,孢子便萌發成細菌生長並釋出毒素。照片由美國疾病控制及預防中心提供。

配方奶粉含肉毒桿菌的風險

嬰幼兒配方奶粉並非無菌產品,有可能受病原體污染,引致嚴重疾病。

一般來說,用不低於攝氏70度的熱水沖調嬰兒配方奶粉,已可消滅阪崎克羅諾桿菌等有害細菌,但對肉毒桿菌產生的毒素和孢子卻起不到作用。原因是肉毒桿菌的毒素需要煮沸十分鐘或以上才能被破壞;要使其孢子喪失活性,則需要更高溫度。

話雖如此,聯合國糧食及農業組織及世界衞生組織均認為因進食嬰兒奶粉而染上肉毒桿菌引致的疾病的可能性不高,亦未有證據支持這種說法。雖然嬰兒配方奶粉中曾驗出肉毒桿菌,但沒有接到有嬰兒因食用這些奶粉而致病的報告。

事件新發展

根據新西蘭初級產業部的調查,這次濃縮乳清蛋白受污染,肇因是一根處理蛋白的臨時管道受到污染。

最初的檢測結果顯示,這批濃縮乳清蛋白含肉毒桿菌的孢子。然而,新西蘭初級產業部和美國疾病控制及預防中心經反覆驗證後證實,在這批濃縮乳清蛋白粉中發現的細菌,並非肉毒桿菌,而是一種無害的桿菌。基於最新的檢測結果,新西蘭初級產業部確認有關產品根本不存在食物安全風險,故撤銷之前針對該產品的預防措施。

食物安全中心(中心)採取的行動

中心得悉一款在本港有售的配方奶粉懷疑受肉毒桿菌污染後,隨即採取行動,包括發出食物警報新聞公報,設立熱線電話,並與新西蘭當局和業界聯絡等。

為防萬一,中心還特地在市面上抽取了新西蘭製造供一歲以下嬰兒食用的乳製品樣本作肉毒桿菌檢測,檢測結果全部合格。

注意要點:

  • 腸道性肉毒中毒的成因是嬰兒吃下肉毒桿菌孢子後,孢子在其腸道內萌發和生長,繼而釋出毒素。
  • 使用不低於攝氏70度的熱水沖調嬰兒配方奶粉,可殺死部分病原體,但不能消滅肉毒桿菌毒素及孢子。
  • 雖然在嬰兒配方奶粉中曾驗出肉毒桿菌,但沒有接到嬰兒因食用這些奶粉而致病的報告。

給市民的建議

  1. 依照衞生署編製的《奶瓶餵哺指引》沖調奶粉。雖然該指引的著眼點並非肉毒桿菌,但提供了正確沖調配方奶粉的方法。
  2. 使用不低於攝氏70度的熱水沖調嬰兒配方奶粉。這樣做即使不能消滅肉毒桿菌毒素及孢子,但至少可殺死某些與嬰兒配方奶粉有關的病原體。

給業界的建議

  1. 確保進口和出售的食物適宜供人食用。
  2. 向可靠的供應商購買食物及食材。
  3. 奶粉製造商應遵循食品法典委員會有關生產嬰幼兒配方奶粉的衞生指引和建議。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:18-09-2013