Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (70th Issue, May 2012) – Food Safety Platform

From Algae to Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

This is the second article in a series of three that focus on marine toxins originating from minute organisms (e.g. planktons) which can affect seafood safety.

Algae or Shellfish?

The paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) toxins are actually produced not by the shellfish but by certain species of microscopic algae known as dinoflagellates. The toxins were first noticed following food poisoning after consumption of shellfish. These algae are found in the coastal and estuarine waters across broad latitudes, ranging from the tropics to the much cooler areas like Alaska. Under favourable condition, the algae can grow profusely. Such phenomena may turn the sea reddish or brownish and is called harmful algal bloom (HAB), also commonly known as red tide.

The PSP toxins are a group of 21 structurally closely related chemicals. They can accumulate in various parts of shellfish, especially in digestive and reproductive glands. When consumed by human, the toxins affect sodium channels in the nervous system, giving rise to symptoms like tingling, numbness, burning sensation near the mouth, fever, rash and staggering within minutes to hours. The toxins also give gastrointestinal symptoms. In severe cases, the symptoms may progress to muscle paralysis, respiratory arrest and even death. However, most people recover fully in a few days.

PSP producing algae (circled) can grow rapidly under favourable weather and water condition. Shellfish filter feed on them and accumulate the PSP toxins in their bodies, which may eventually cause human poisoning.
PSP producing algae (circled) can grow rapidly under favourable weather and water condition. Shellfish filter feed on them and accumulate the PSP toxins in their bodies, which may eventually cause human poisoning.

PSP is Preventable

The number of PSP poisoning cases seems to be on the rise in the past decades internationally, but it is unclear whether it is due to heightened awareness, improved surveillance, expanded shellfish consumption or due to real increase. In Hong Kong, from 2007 to 2011, the Centre for Health Protection recorded 34 suspected shellfish toxins-related food poisoning affecting 68 persons. Among them, 14 outbreaks reported in May 2010, involving 29 persons, were found to be associated with consumption of fresh scallops. An epidemiological study conducted at that time also showed that persons who consumed the gonad of the scallops had a higher risk to develop the symptoms.

The chance of PSP poisoning can be much reduced if one avoids consuming the digestive and reproductive glands where much of the toxins concentrate. All organs of bivalves should be discarded and only the adductor muscles should be consumed when possible. The cooking liquid, especially of steamed fan shells, should also be abandoned to reduce the amount of PSP toxins present. One should always buy shellfish from reliable sources, and scrub and clean the shells thoroughly before cooking. Overindulgence in shellfish should be avoided.

Algal Bloom Watch and PSP Surveillance

Like many other food authorities, Hong Kong has put in place monitoring and management programmes to safeguard shellfish safety. On a regular basis, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducts surveillance in food. For harmful algae occurring in Hong Kong waters, the Government has established a Red Tide / HAB Management Operation Master Plan with a view to minimising the possible impacts of HAB on marine fish culture activities and human health. Under the framework, the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department informs various Departments including the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department when suspected harmful phytoplanktons are found in local waters. The CFS will take shellfish samples from markets near the areas where higher number of toxic or potentially toxic planktons are found for shellfish toxins analysis. From 2009 to 2011, 25 such extra shellfish samples were taken for PSP analysis and all results were satisfactory.

For the trade, when sourcing shellfish, source from countries with established monitoring programmes for toxic algae and avoid areas that have recently been affected by PSP toxins. Traders should also be mindful to meet the Food Safety Ordinance requirement regarding keeping relevant transaction records for tracing the source.

In the next issue, we shall talk about other shellfish poisoning toxins.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-05-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年五月第七十期) - 食物安全平台

從 海 藻 到 麻 痺 性 貝 類 中 毒

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

我們一連三期介紹由微小生物(如浮游生物)產生,並影響海產安全的海洋毒素,本文為該系列之二。

是藻類還是貝類惹的禍?

人類最初因為進食貝類中毒而發現麻痺性貝類毒素。但這種毒素其實並非來自貝類,而是由一種名為雙鞭毛藻的藻類所產生的。這種藻類分布於各緯度,從熱帶以至阿拉斯加等寒冷地區的近岸海域和河口皆有其蹤跡。在有利的環境條件下,這些藻類會迅速繁殖,令海水變成紅色或棕色。這種現象稱為“有害藻華”,亦即我們熟悉的紅潮。

麻痺性貝類毒素是一組結構上非常相近的化學物的總稱,目前已知有21種。這些毒素積聚在貝類的組織內,尤其是在消化腺和生殖腺。人們進食受污染貝類後,神經系統的鈉離子通道會受毒素影響,中毒症狀通常在數分鐘至數小時內出現,包括刺痛、痲痺、口部四周出現灼熱感覺、發燒、出疹和步履踉蹌等,而且往往會有腸胃病症狀。嚴重者可能會出現癱瘓、呼吸停頓,甚至死亡,但大部分患者通常在數天內康復。

在有利的氣候和水質環境下,產生麻痺性貝類毒素的藻類(圓圈所示)會迅速繁殖,以濾食為生的貝類吃下這些藻類後,毒素在體內積聚。人類吃了這些受污染的貝類便有可能中毒。
在有利的氣候和水質環境下,產生麻痺性貝類毒素的藻類(圓圈所示)會迅速繁殖,以濾食為生的貝類吃下這些藻類後,毒素在體內積聚。人類吃了這些受污染的貝類便有可能中毒。

麻痺性貝類中毒是可以預防的

世界各地的麻痺性貝類中毒事件在近數十年似乎有上升的趨勢,目前還不能確定究竟這是因為人們對這種毒素加深了認識;監察得力;貝類的食用量增加;還是實質的上升。在本港,根據衞生防護中心的記錄,在二零零七至二零一一年間,有34宗懷疑貝類毒素中毒個案,68人受影響。其中在二零一零年五月有14宗個案呈報,受影響的29人均曾進食新鮮帶子。當時進行的流行病學研究顯示,進食了帶子生殖腺而出現不適的風險較高。

痲痺性貝類毒素一般積聚於貝類的消化腺和生殖腺。避免進食這些部位可大大減低痲痺性貝類中毒的風險。因此,若可行的話,烹煮前應先摘除雙貝類的內臟,只食用閉殼肌。烹煮的汁液亦應棄掉(尤其是蒸扇貝),以減少毒素水平。此外,應向可靠的店鋪購買貝類,烹煮前先刷洗外殼。進食亦不宜過量。

監察紅潮及麻痺性貝類中毒

為保障貝類可安全食用,各國食物規管當局均設立了監察及管理制度,本港亦不例外。食物安全中心(中心)設有食物監察計劃,定期抽查食物。因應本港水域出現的紅潮,政府設立了紅潮/有害藻華管理行動總計劃,務求減少紅潮可能對本港海魚養殖活動及市民健康的影響。當發現本港水域出現懷疑有毒的浮游藻類時,漁農自然護理署會通知食環署等各有關部門。中心便會在懷疑有毒藻類數量偏高地區附近的街市抽取貝類樣本,進行貝類毒素化驗。中心在二零零九至一一年之間,曾在這樣的情況下額外抽取了25個貝類樣本作麻痺性貝類毒素化驗,結果全部合格。

業界應向已建立有毒藻類監察計劃的國家採購貝類,避免購入從近期受有毒藻類影響的海域撈捕的貝類。另外,業界人士亦應按照《食物安全條例》的規定,妥為備存交易紀錄,以便追查食物來源。

下一期我們會繼續介紹其他貝類毒素。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-05-2012