Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (70th Issue, May 2012) – Food Incident Highlight

Expiry Date: Safety Vs Quality

To ensure quality and safety of our food, it is important to check expiry dates on food products before consumption. Under the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W), prepackaged food shall be marked or labelled with appropriate durability indication.

In the case of some highly perishable prepackaged food (e.g. pasteurised fresh milk, eggs, sandwiches, etc.) which are likely after a short period to constitute an immediate danger to human health, a “use by” date should be used. For other prepackaged food products, a “best before” date shall be indicated. The food may not be at its best flavour and quality beyond the date.

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducts regular checks on labels, including information on expiry date, of prepackaged food products available in the local market. Under current regulations, it is an offence to sell any food after its “use by” date. In 2011, the CFS conducted more than 55 000 label checking and 25 prosecutions were pursued. Consumers are advised to choose food before its “use by” date and be wary of the quality of food beyond the “best before” date.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-05-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年五月第七十期 - 食物事故點滴

食 用 期 限 : 安 全 與 品 質

為確保食物的品質與安全,在進食前先檢查食物上的食用期限是非常重要的。根據《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》(第132W章),預先包裝食物須加上說明適當保質期的標記或標籤。

有些預先包裝食物特別容易腐壞(例如經巴士德消毒的鮮奶、雞蛋、三文治等),只能存放一段短時間。如過期後食用,可能會對人體健康構成即時的危險,這類食物須說明“此日期或之前食用”(use by)日期。其他預先包裝食物則須標示“此日期前最佳”(best before)日期。食物在此日期之後未必能保持最佳味道及品質。

食物安全中心(中心)會定期檢查本港市面上出售的預先包裝食物上的標籤,食用期限便是其中一項檢查項目。根據目前的規例,售賣過了“此日期或之前食用”(use by)日期的食物,即屬違法。二零一一年,中心檢查了超過55 000 個食物標籤,提出了25宗檢控。市民在購買食物時,應選購未過“此日期或之前食用”(use by)日期的食物,而過了“此日期前最佳”(best before)日期的食物,則應留意其品質。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-05-2012