Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (60th Issue, July 2011) – Incident in Focus

Plasticisers and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Melva CHEN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,Centre for Food Safety

In the past issue we talked about our responses to plasticiser-tainted food incident originated in Taiwan. Concerns remain as potential problems associated with plasticisers continue to unfold. This article continues to discuss risks associated with plasticisers and the related food safety issues.

Plasticisers are Used Primarily in Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC) Products

Since the emergence of the plasticiser-tainted food incident, many people worried about the migration of plasticisers from plastic materials into food and the associated health risk. In fact, plasticisers are substances mainly used in hard plastics to improve their flexibility and durability. PVC is the most common hard plastic material that uses plasticisers. Therefore, food containers, commercial cling films, gaskets used to seal the metal lids of glass jars, conveyer belts, gloves, made of PVC as well as adhesives and printing ink on food packaging contain plasticisers. On the other hand, soft plastics such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and polyethylene (PE) are inherently flexible and therefore do not require the use of plasticisers (see Table 1).

The industry has been using many types of plasticisers including phthalates, adipates, epoxy esters and citrates. Of these, phthalates such as DEHP and DBP have received the most regulatory and scientific attention due to their toxicity on reproduction and development in experimental animals.

Table 1. Types and Applications of Plastic Materials

* Note: The resin identification code system is a set of symbols placed on plastics to identify the polymer type. The primary purpose of the codes is to allow efficient separation of different polymer types for recycling.

Source of information: Environment Protection Department, Plastics New Zealand, British Plastics Federation and International Life Sciences Institute


What Affects Migration of Plasticisers into Food

When PVC food contact materials are properly manufactured and used, the plasticisers contained in the materials are not expected to migrate excessively into foodstuffs. However, as plasticisers are oil-soluble, plastics containing plasticisers, especially phthalates (i.e. in the case of PVC products) should not be used in food contact materials for holding fatty foods. Local and overseas data showed that some fatty foods such as edible oils, oil-based sauces and cheese were detected with low levels of phthalates, possibly related to environmental contamination or inappropriate use of food contact materials. Migration of plasticisers also increases with temperature and contact time. Plastics containing phthalates plasticisers should not be used in food contact materials intended for foods for infants and children under three years old as they are more susceptible to the toxicity of phthalates. On the whole, manufacturers of food contact materials have the responsibility to conduct prior use tests on their products to ensure that they are safe under the intended conditions of use.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Plasticisers are used primarily in PVC products.
  2. Migration of plasticisers from PVC materials increases when in contact with fatty or hot foods.
  3. Exposure to low level of plasticisers is unavoidable due to their widespread presence as environmental contaminants but can be reduced with proper use of food contact materials.

Actions Taken by the CFS

The CFS has been actively managing the plasticiser-tainted food incident originated in Taiwan , especially in two main aspects:

(1) Surveillance and Testing: The CFS has enhanced surveillance and testing of various categories of food products for phthalates including DEHP, DINP and DBP. We have worked closely with trade on minimising the impact to the public. Press release and food alerts will be issued when public health is of concern.

(2) Risk Communication: The public are updated on the test results and the latest development at the CFS designated webpage Plasticisers in Food which also provides explanations to questions that are of public concern. The CFS webpage provides safety information related to food contact materials, including risk assessment studies of disposable plastic containers for take-away meals , instant cup noodle containers and melamine-ware available for use on local food premises and risk-in-briefs on the safety of bisphenol A and reusing of PET bottles .

Reducing Exposure to Plasticisers from Food

Plasticisers are widely used industrial chemicals. Due to their widespread presence as environmental contaminants, exposure to low levels of plasticisers through food, water or skin contact with plastics is unavoidable. Our bodies can effectively metabolise and excrete plasticisers such as phthalates. Exposure to low levels of phthalates is unlikely to pose a health risk. We can take the following measures to reduce our exposures to phthalates.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Follow manufacturer’s instructions especially on the temperature specifications and microwave and dishwasher instructions when using plastic food containers.
  2. Do not use PVC or unidentifi ed plastic containers to hold fatty foods or hot foods. Use glass, ceramic or stainless steel containers instead.
  3. When using or reusing glass jar, make sure the fatty foods do not come into contact with the gasket of the lid.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Manufacturers of food contact materials should provide product information and instructions on use.
  2. Food trade should observe good manufacturing and food safety practice. Ensure food products comply with local regulations.
  3. Avoid using phthalate-containing food contact materials, especially for fatty foods and food intended for infants and young children.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22 -07-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

食物安全焦點(二零一一年七月第六十期)- 焦點個案

塑 化 劑 與 食 物 安 全

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任陳蓉蓉女士報告

本欄在上一期闡述了食物安全中心 ( 中心 ) 就台灣的 塑化劑污染食物事件 所採取的應變行動。由於陸續發現有關塑化劑的潛在問題,市民仍然關注事件,故本文會繼續討論有關塑化劑的風險及相關食物安全事宜。

塑化劑主要用於聚氯乙烯(PVC)產品

自發生塑化劑污染食物事件後,許多人擔心塑化劑從塑膠物料遷移至食物的情況和相關的健康問題。其實,塑化劑是用來加入硬塑料中,使更具彈性和更加耐用。 PVC 是最常使用塑化劑的硬塑料,因此,用 PVC 製成的食物容器、商用保鮮紙、用來密封玻璃瓶的金屬蓋墊片、輸送帶、手套以及黏合劑和食物包裝上的印墨都含有塑化劑。而軟塑料(例如聚對苯二甲酸乙二醇酯 (PET) 及聚乙烯 (PE) )本身具有彈性,因此無須使用塑化劑 ( 見表一 ) 。

塑化劑之中,業界常用的有多種,包括鄰苯二甲酸酯類、己二酸類、環氧酯類和檸檬酸類等,當中以鄰苯二甲酸酯類 ( 例如鄰苯二甲酸二 (2 -乙基己酯 )(DEHP) 及鄰苯二甲酸二正丁酯 (DBP)) 在規管和科研方面最受關注,因為這類塑化劑對實驗動物的生殖及發育具有毒性影響。

表一 : 塑膠物料的種類及應用

* 註: 塑膠分類標誌系統是印在塑膠上用以識別聚合物種類的一組標誌,其主要目的是為了有效區分各類聚合物以供循環再用。


資料來源:環境保護署、新西蘭塑膠業協會、英國塑膠業聯會及國際生命科學學會

影響塑化劑遷移至食物的因素

採用正確程序生產和使用的 PVC 食物接觸物料不會有過量的塑化劑遷移至食物中。但是,由於塑化劑會溶於油中,因此,含塑化劑(尤其是鄰苯二甲酸酯類)的塑膠物料 ( 即 PVC 產品 ) 不應用於盛載油性食物的食物接觸物料。本港及海外數據顯示,食油、油性醬料及芝士等部分油性食物曾驗出含有小量鄰苯二甲酸酯,可能由環境污染或不當使用食物接觸物料所致。溫度越高及接觸時間越長,塑化劑的遷移量就越多。此外,由於嬰幼兒較易受鄰苯二甲酸酯的毒性影響,含鄰苯二甲酸酯類塑化劑的塑膠物料不應用作專供盛載三歲以下嬰幼兒食物的食物接觸物料。總的來說,食物接觸物料生產商有責任為旗下產品進行使用前測試,以確保產品在指定條件下可供安全使用。

 

注意要點

  1. 塑化劑主要用於PVC產品。
  2. 當PVC物料與油性或高溫食物接觸,塑化劑的遷移量會增加。
  3. 由於塑化劑是廣泛存在於環境中的污染物,我們無可避免會攝入小量塑化劑,但正確使用食物接觸物料可減少攝入量。



中心採取的行動

中心一直主動跟進台灣食品攙雜塑化劑一事,尤其在以下兩方面:

(1) 監察及檢測:中心已加強監察食物,並檢測不同類別食品的鄰苯二甲酸酯含量,包括 DEHP 、鄰苯二甲酸二異壬酯 (DINP) 及 DBP 。此外,中心又與業界緊密合作,盡量減低對市民造成的影響。如有食物對市民健康構成潛在風險,中心會發出新聞公報和食物警報。

(2) 風險傳達:中心已特設 “ 食物中含塑化劑 ” 網頁提供檢測結果及最新情況,闡釋市民關注的問題。中心網頁亦載列有關食物接觸物料的安全資料,包括 外賣飯 盒雜質釋出量 即食杯麵容器 本地食肆使用的仿瓷餐具 的風險評估研究,以及 雙酚 A 再用 PET 膠樽 的《風險簡訊》。

減少從食物攝入塑化劑

塑化劑是廣為使用的工業化學物。由於塑化劑廣泛存在於環境中的污染物,我們無可避免會透過食物、水或皮膚與塑膠接觸等不同途徑攝入小量塑化劑。人體可有效代謝和排出鄰苯二甲酸酯等塑化劑。攝入小量鄰苯二甲酸酯不會影響健康,我們更可採取以下措施減少攝入鄰苯二甲酸酯。


給消費者的建議

  1. 使用塑膠食物容器時,應遵從生產商的指示,特別是溫度限制和在微波爐和洗碗碟機使用的指示。
  2. 切勿使用 PVC 或用料不明的塑膠容器盛載油性或高溫食物,應改用玻璃、陶瓷或不銹鋼容器。
  3. 使用或重複使用玻璃瓶時,應確保油性食物不會與蓋口墊片接觸。

給業界的建議

  1. 食物接觸材料生產商應提供產品資料和使用指示。
  2. 食物業應奉行優良製造規範和有關食物安全的良好習慣,並確保食品符合本港規例。
  3. 避免使用含鄰苯二甲酸酯的食物接觸物料盛載食物,特別是油性食物和專供嬰幼兒食用的食物。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 22 -07-2011