Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Reusing Disposable PET Bottles

Risk in Brief

Bisphenol A and Food Safety

Bisphenol A

1.
Bisphenol A (BPA) is an industrial chemical used to make a hard plastic called polycarbonate and epoxy resins.
2.
Polycarbonate (PC) is used in a number of household items, including baby bottles, reusable water bottles and other storage containers. Epoxy resins are used as a protective coating in metal-based food and beverage cans. The coating prevents corrosion of the can and contamination of food and beverages with dissolved metals.
3.
Plastics and resins made from bisphenol A can also be used in a range of other products including thermal papers used for cash register receipts, dental sealants, medical devices, electronics and automotive parts, etc.
4.
Food is the major source of BPA exposure. Consumer exposure via food can occur through migration of BPA from food contact materials.

Health Issue of BPA

1.
BPA has been used in food contact materials for more than 40 years with no known risk to human health as a result from this application. Available data from local and overseas showed the migration levels of BPA from PC baby bottles were either very low or not detectable.
2.
BPA has low acute toxicity and does not cause cancer. Some recent studies in experimental animals suggested that low levels of BPA may have adverse effects on nervous system, behaviour during the developmental period and on reproductive system while other studies indicated no effect. Similar consequences in consumers at these low concentrations are considered unlikely because BPA is rapidly inactivated and then excreted in the urine.
3.
The safe level called the Tolerable Daily Intake (TDI) for BPA established by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) is 0.05 mg per kilogram of body weight per day. This TDI is considered to be a conservative value based on all the information currently known on the toxicity of BPA.
4.
According to risk assessments on BPA by food safety authorities in Europe , USA , Canada , Australia and New Zealand , the amount of BPA that people including infants currently absorb from all food and drinks is very low and is not expected to pose a health risk.

International development

1.
An international panel of experts established by the World Health Organization and the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations assessed the safety of BPA in November 2010. The meeting considered that, based on current knowledge of BPA, it was premature to use study results of low dose of BPA in experimental animal to realistically assess the human health risk.
2.
The experts commented that some alternatives to BPA-containing materials for PC bottles containers and epoxy can linings are available on the market or proposed for use. As a result of the broad usage of BPA, it appears that it will not be possible to identify a single replacement for all uses, particularly for can coatings. The functionality and safety of any replacement material need to be carefully assessed.
3.
Some overseas countries have taken precautionary measures to reduce BPA exposure of the public, especially infants. Canada, the USA, the European Union and mainland China have banned BPA or PC resins in baby bottles. Other countries such as Japan and Australia encourage voluntary phase out of baby bottles made with BPA by industries in response to consumer preference and demand.
4.
Majority of countries have permitted the use of BPA in food containers (other than those intended for infants and young children use) and food cans.

Local situation

1.

Consumer goods including baby bottles and food containers on sale in HK have undergone testing by Customs and Excise Department regularly. Over the past few years, all samples tested for BPA migration complied with the safety standard.

2.
CFS will keep in view the international development on latest assessment work on BPA for follow-up actions.

Advice to public

Canned foods
1.
Remove food from the can before heating the food. Do not re-use empty cans for cooking. Leftover food should be placed in a sealable container that can be stored in the fridge or freezer.

Baby bottles

2.
When using baby bottles, always follow the instructions on the infant formula for preparation and use. The following advice applies to all baby bottles or cups, whatever type of plastic they are made from:

Discard any scratched bottles or feeding cups as they may harbour germs. However, there is no need to replace old bottles unless they are damaged or scratched.

Do not put boiling or very hot water, infant formula, or other liquids into bottles while preparing them for your child. However, water used to reconstitute powdered infant formula for infant no more than 12 months should be boiled and left for no more than 30 minutes, to ensure it is still hot enough ( no less than 70oC) to kill harmful bacteria potentially inherent in the powder.

Do not heat baby bottles of any kind in the microwave - the liquid may heat unevenly and burn your baby.

Sterilise and clean bottles according to instructions on infant formula labels and they should be left to cool to room temperature before adding infant formula.

Parents who are concerned with BPA exposure can choose to use alternatives to PC baby bottles such as glass bottles.

Advice to trade

1.
CFS supports the industry’s actions to stop producing and selling BPA-containing baby bottles and infant feeding cups and makes efforts to replace BPA or minimise BPA levels in food can lining .
2.
Manufacturers of food containers should provide instructions for the intended use of the product including temperature specifications and restrictions on use.

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
January 2013

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 07-01-2013

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

聚對苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(簡稱“PET”)用完即棄膠樽的使用問題

風 險 簡 訊

雙 酚 A 與 食 物 安 全

雙酚A

1.
雙酚A是一種工業用化學品,用於製造硬塑料-聚碳酸酯及環氧樹脂。
2.
許多家居用品包括嬰兒奶瓶、可再用水樽及其他貯存容器都是以聚碳酸酯製造,而環氧樹脂則用作金屬質的食物罐和飲料罐的保護塗層,以防止金屬罐腐蝕,以及食物和飲料被溶解出的金屬污染。
3.
以雙酚A製造的塑料和樹脂可廣泛應用於其他產品,包括收銀機收據使用的熱敏紙、牙科的密封劑、醫療器材、電子和汽車零件等。
4.
食物是攝入雙酚A的主要來源。消費者從食物中攝入的雙酚A,可能是由食物接觸物料遷移到食物。

與雙酚A有關的健康問題

1.
雙酚A用於食物接觸物料已超過40年,至今沒有證據顯示雙酚A用作食物接觸物料會對人類健康構成風險。海外及本地現有的資料顯示,從聚碳酸酯嬰兒奶瓶遷移出的雙酚A分量極微,甚或檢測不到。
2.
雙酚A的急性毒性偏低,且不會致癌。最近一些動物實驗研究結果顯示,低劑量雙酚A會對動物的神經系統、發育期的行為和生殖系統有不良影響。不過,另一些研究結果卻顯示沒有影響。由於雙酚A在人體會迅速代謝,然後經尿液排出,所以相信低劑量雙酚A不會對消費者造成上述影響。
3.
歐洲食品安全局(European Food Safety Authority)訂定的雙酚A安全水平,亦即所稱的每日可容忍攝入量,按每公斤體重計算為每日0.05毫克。根據現時所有已知有關雙酚A毒性的資料,上述每日可容忍攝入量可視為一個保守的數值。
4.
根據歐洲、美國、加拿大、澳洲及新西蘭等國的食品安全管理當局就雙酚A進行的風險評估,人們(包括嬰兒)現時從所有食物和飲料中攝入的雙酚A份量極低,相信不會對健康構成風險。

國際發展

1.
2010年11月,聯合國世界衞生組織與糧食及農業組織國際專家小組舉行會議,評估雙酚A的安全性,認為根據目前已知的雙酚A資料,暫時未能以低劑量雙酚A的動物研究結果,來確切評估其對人類健康的風險。
2.
專家表示,市面上已有一些替代物料,或建議可供使用的替代雙酚A物料,可於用作製造聚碳酸酯瓶子及罐的環氧樹脂內層。由於雙酚A的用途廣泛,因此沒有一種替代物料能夠適用於所有用途,特別是罐的塗層。至於替代物料的功能及安全,亦須小心評估。
3.
一些海外國家紛紛採取預防措施,減少國民(特別是嬰兒)攝入雙酚A的機會。加拿大、美國、歐洲和中國內地已禁止含雙酚A或聚碳酸酯的嬰兒奶瓶。日本和澳洲等其他國家也因應消費者的選擇和需求,鼓勵業界自願取締用雙酚A製造的嬰兒奶瓶。

4.
目前大部分國家均容許在食物容器(擬供嬰兒和幼兒使用者除外)和罐頭使用雙酚A。

本地情況

1.
在香港出售的消費品,包括嬰兒奶瓶和食物容器,均由香港海關定期進行測試。過去數年,所有接受雙酚A遷移測試的樣本均符合安全標準。
2.
食物安全中心會留意國際間有關雙酚A最新評估工作的發展,以跟進處理。

給消費者的建議

罐頭食物

   
1.
把食物從罐頭取出來後才加熱。空罐勿再用來煮食。吃不完的食物應放在可於雪櫃或冷藏櫃貯存的密封容器內。
嬰兒奶瓶
2.
使用嬰兒奶瓶時,切記按照嬰兒配方奶粉的沖調和用法指示。以下的建議適用於各類型的塑膠製嬰兒奶瓶或杯子:
刮花的奶瓶或餵食杯可能藏有細菌,應予丟棄。不過,除非用過的瓶子已損毀或刮花,否則無須更換。
為孩子沖調奶粉時,切勿把滾水或溫度很高的熱水、嬰兒配方奶粉或其他液體倒進奶瓶內。不過,為不超過12個月大的嬰兒沖調配方奶粉所用的水應該煮沸,然後放置時間不要超過30分鐘,以確保水溫(不低於攝氏70度)可殺死奶粉內可能存在的有害細菌。
切勿用微波爐加熱任何類型的嬰兒奶瓶,因為熱力可能不均勻,瓶內的液體或會燙傷嬰兒口腔。
依照嬰兒配方奶粉標籤上的指示消毒和清潔奶瓶,然後待涼至室溫,才加入嬰兒配方奶粉。
擔心嬰兒攝入雙酚A的家長可選用其他可替代聚碳酸酯嬰兒奶瓶的容器,例如玻璃奶瓶。

給業界的建議

1.
中心支持業界停止製造和出售含雙酚A的奶瓶和嬰兒學習杯,並致力以其他物料取代雙酚A或盡量減低食物罐內層的雙酚A含量。
2.
食物容器製造商應為產品的指定用途提供指示,包括指定的溫度和使用的限制。

食物安全中心
風險評估組
2013年1月

 

 
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-01-2013