Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (33rd Issue, April 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrient and Health – Cholesterol

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

We examined different types of fat in the last issue. This time, we will explore another common lipid - cholesterol.

Sources of Dietary Cholesterol

Dietary cholesterol is found in most animal foods, with egg white being an exceptional case. Often, people think that foods containing high saturated fat have significant amount of cholesterol. The truth is that there is no link between saturated fat and cholesterol contents in foods. For example, shrimps have high cholesterol (180mg cholesterol per 100g) and low saturated fat (0.4g saturated fat per 100g) contents.

Illustration: Egg and cuttlefish have high cholesterol content

Dietary Cholesterol and Lipoprotein

There is confusion about the difference between dietary cholesterol and blood cholesterol. Dietary cholesterol in food is a lipid compound and cannot be separated into “good” or “bad” ones, whereas the commonly known blood cholesterol in the body is a lipoprotein, which is a complex of lipids and proteins. Lipoprotein carries lipids from liver to cells and vice versa. In other words, lipoprotein is responsible for transporting triglyceride and cholesterol in the body.

The so called “bad” cholesterol and “good’ cholesterol in blood are the low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) and high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C), respectively. Generally speaking, individuals with higher level of “bad” cholesterol (i.e. LDL-C) and/or lower level of “good” cholesterol (i.e. HDL-C) will have higher risk of heart diseases.

Sources of Cholesterol in the Body

The relationship between dietary cholesterol and cholesterol in the body is rather intricate. Simply speaking, dietary cholesterol only contributes a small portion of the cholesterol in the body. Majority of the cholesterol found in the body is made by our own liver. For healthy individuals, there is a self-regulatory mechanism in our body to help control the level of cholesterol.

Functions of Cholesterol

Cholesterol is an important part of the cell membranes. Besides, it is the material for synthesising vitamin D, bile and some hormones, such as sex hormones (e.g. testosterone) and adrenal hormones (e.g. cortisol).

Health Effects of Cholesterol

Many people think cholesterol is the “bad” guy as it increases the risk of cardiovascular diseases. In point of fact, cholesterol is vitally important in the body and its adverse health effects are found only if the level exceeds certain limit.

Cholesterol is carried by lipoprotein in the body. While flowing in the bloodstream, some cholesterol forms deposits in the walls of the blood vessels which may lead to atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries) and in turn increases the risks of developing heart attacks and strokes.

It is worth noting that some evidence shows that intake of saturated fat and trans fat are more critical than dietary cholesterol in terms of the risk of cardiovascular diseases. In particular, some findings indicate that increasing intake of saturated fat may increase the production of cholesterol in the body. Therefore, reducing the intake of dietary cholesterol alone may not help lower the blood cholesterol level. For heart health purpose, besides dietary cholesterol, we should pay more attention to the saturated fat and trans fat intake.

Intake of Dietary Cholesterol and Saturated Fat

According to the Chinese Adequate Intake (AI), less than 10% of energy contribution should come from saturated fat, which means that there should be less than 22g of saturated fat from all food sources in a 2 000-kcal diet. As for dietary cholesterol, the reference intake is not related to the energy requirement (i.e. the amount of kcal in the diet) as it does not contribute to energy production in the body. It is suggested that an adult should consume less than 300 mg (a much lower order than saturated fat) of dietary cholesterol daily.

Cholesterol Contents in Foods

Food (per 100g, unless otherwise stated)

Dietary Cholesterol (mg)

Chicken egg (1 piece ; ~50g)

293

Beef tripe

104

Pig liver

288

Shrimp

181

Cuttlefish

226

Scallop

140

Dried scallop

348

Please visit the Nutrient Information Inquiry System at the CFS’s website for more information.

In the next issue which will be the last in this “Nutrient and Health” series, we will take a look at sodium, another nutrient that is related to heart health.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :15-04-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年四月第三十三期)- 食物安全平台

營養素與健康:膽固醇

食物安全中心
風險傳達組
科學主任馮慧中女士報告

我們在上一期介紹了各類脂肪,今期將會探討另一種常見的脂類:膽固醇。

膳食膽固醇的來源

膳食膽固醇存在於大部分動物源性食物(蛋白除外)。人們常常以為飽和脂肪含量高的食物會有大量膽固醇。事實上,食物中的飽和脂肪含量與膽固醇含量並無關係。舉例來說,蝦便是膽固醇含量高(每100克含180毫克膽固醇)但飽和脂肪含量低(每100克含0.4克飽和脂肪)的食物。

插圖﹕ 蛋類和魷魚含有大量膽固醇
仿瓷餐具 仿瓷餐具

膳食膽固醇與脂蛋白

有些人會弄不清膳食膽固醇與血膽固醇的分別。食物中的膳食膽固醇是複合脂類,不能區分為“好”和“壞”,而我們常指在人體內的血膽固醇則是脂類與蛋白質合成的脂蛋白。脂蛋白把脂類由肝臟輸送到細胞,又或由細胞輸送到肝臟。換言之,脂蛋白負責在人體內輸送甘油三酸酯及膽固醇。

血液中所謂的”壞”膽固醇和“好”膽固醇,分別指低密度脂蛋白膽固醇(LDL-C)和高密度脂蛋白膽固醇(HDL-C)。一般而言,“壞”膽固醇(即低密度脂蛋白膽固醇)水平偏高及/或“好”膽固醇(即高密度脂蛋白膽固醇)水平偏低的人會較容易患上各類心臟疾病。

人體內膽固醇的來源

膳食膽固醇與人體內膽固醇的關係相當複雜。簡單而言,人體內膽固醇只有一小部分是來自膳食膽固醇,大部分是由肝臟自行合成。身體健康的人可透過體內的自行調節功能,幫助控制膽固醇水平。

膽固醇的功能

膽固醇是人體細胞膜的主要成分,亦是合成維他命D、膽汁和部分荷爾蒙(如睪丸素這種性荷爾蒙及皮質素這種腎上腺荷爾蒙)的必需元素。

膽固醇對健康的影響

許多人認為膽固醇是“壞”東西,因為會增加患上心血管系統疾病的風險。事實上,膽固醇對人體極其重要,只有在膽固醇水平超逾某限度時,才會危害健康。

膽固醇在人體內由脂蛋白輸送。當膽固醇在血管中運行時,有一部分會在血管壁內沉積,這樣可能會引致動脈粥樣硬化症(動脈硬化),因而增加患上心臟病或中風的風險。

值得我們注意的是,有證據顯示,以患上心血管系統疾病的風險而言,攝入飽和脂肪及反式脂肪比攝入膳食膽固醇更為重要,特別是有些研究結果指出,增加攝入飽和脂肪或會令人體製造更多膽固醇,因此單憑減少攝入膳食膽固醇未必有助降低血膽固醇水平。為心臟健康着想,除了膳食膽固醇外,我們更應留意飽和脂肪及反式脂肪的攝入量。

膳食膽固醇與飽和脂肪的攝入量

根據中國適宜攝入量,飽和脂肪應佔少於10%的能量攝入量,即2000千卡的膳食應從各類食物中共攝取少於22克飽和脂肪。至於膳食膽固醇,其參考攝入量與能量需要量(即膳食中的千卡數量)無關,因為膳食膽固醇不會令人體產生能量。我們建議一名成年人每天應進食少於300毫克膳食膽固醇(遠低於飽和脂肪攝入量)。

食物中的膽固醇含量

食物(以每100克計,除非另有訂明)

膳食膽固醇(毫克)

雞蛋(1隻;~50克)

293

牛肚

104

豬膶 / 豬肝

288

181

墨魚

226

鮮貝 / 帶子

140

瑤柱 / 元貝

348

如需更多資料,請瀏覽食物安全中心網頁內的 食物資料查詢系統

們將會在下一期推出《營養素與健康》系列的末篇,探討與心臟健康有關的另一種營養素:鈉。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 15 -04-2009