Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (25th Issue, August 2008) – Food Safety Platform

Biological Hazard in Food – Pathogenic Bacteria (Part II)

Reported by Dr. Ken Chong, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

  In the last issue , we presented spoilage and pathogenic bacteria in food as well as various ways of toxin production by pathogenic bacteria. We would continue to discuss pathogenic bacteria in this issue.

  Apart from the weapon – toxins, some pathogenic bacteria have a shield to help them survive the cooking process. Bacteria can live in a vegetative state in which they can grow and reproduce. Few of them can also exist in spore form which is unable to grow or reproduce but can help the bacteria to survive in an environment that is unfavourable for growth.

Spore-Forming Pathogenic Bacteria in Ready-to-Eat Food

  Bacillus cereus and Clostridium perfringens are examples of pathogenic bacteria that can exist in both spore and vegetative forms. The thick-walled structure of the spore is resistant to heat and it can help the pathogenic bacteria survive the heat of cooking. The heat of cooking not only activates the germination of spores to become vegetative cells, but can also kill other bacteria that are not heat-resistant resulting in an environment short of competitors for the vegetative cells to grow. Foods, which are improperly left at a moderate temperature (e.g. room temperature) for a long time after cooking, allow the growth of large amount of vegetative cells. Therefore, we should avoid prolonged cooling of cooked food and immediately store cooled food at 4oC or below.

  Some people may think that prolonged cooling and storage at room temperature is not a problem if the food products are reheated thoroughly before consumption, since reheating kills the vegetative cells. This is partially true, but there is a catch. You may recall from the last issue that Bacillus cereus can also produce heat-resistant toxin which cannot be destroyed by cooking process.

Illustration: Vegetative cells (left) and spores (right, under the arrow) of Bacillus spp. (Photo: Dr. Samson S.Y. Wong, Department of Microbiology, University of Hong Kong)

Non-Spore-Forming Pathogenic Bacteria in Ready-to-eat Food – Common Cause of Food Poisoning in Hong Kong

  Although spore-forming pathogenic bacteria are difficult to wipe out, locally the most common food poisoning causative agents in 2006 were found to be Vibrio parahaemolyticus, Salmonella species, and Staphylococcus aureus, all of them are not sporeforming pathogenic bacteria. You may wonder why it is so.

  Some other factors may be more important than the spore-forming ability of the pathogenic bacteria in causing foodborne diseases. Vibrio parahaemolyticus can be found naturally in marine water, and commonly associated with raw or undercooked seafood products and cross-contaminated cooked food. Consumption of raw seafood from unhygienic sources may be one of the reasons to account for its high prevalence. Salmonella species can be found on meats and poultry as well as fresh produce tainted with contaminated water. Inadequate cooking and cross-contamination during storage or food preparation may result in salmonella infection. Humans are the common reservoir for Staphylococcus aureus. Contamination of food, especially in case of poor personal hygiene, can occur by direct contact, indirectly by skin fragments, or through respiratory tract droplets. In addition, storage of foods at improper temperature can help all these bacteria to grow to large number. You can see that most of the problems are due to improper or unhygienic handling of foods.

Temperature for Storage and Cooking

  No matter whether the bacteria can form spore or not, storage of potentially hazardous food outside the danger zone (4 to 60oC) can prevent the growth of the pathogenic bacteria. You can find from the table in the previous page that most pathogenic bacteria can grow at danger zone temperature.


* Optimal growth temperatures are shown in brackets
Source: Bad Bug Book from the US FDA and Microbial Pathogen & Data Sheets from the New Zealand Food Safety Authority

  Although Listeria monocytogenes can survive and multiply at 0oC, it can be destroyed by normal cooking. It is important to avoid post-cooking contamination of ready-to-eat food and prolonged storage of raw foods that may contain this bacterium.

  Bacteria are destroyed under different temperature/time combination. In general, cooking food to an internal temperature of 75oC for at least 30 seconds can kill most of the pathogenic bacteria (but not the spore form).

  Different characteristics of pathogenic bacteria may aid in causing foodborne disease, but the primary causes of food poisoning are improper or unhygienic handling of foods by humans. More emphasis on the proper food handling practices can readily reduce risk of bacterial food poisoning.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :28-08-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零八年八月第二十五期)-食物安全平台

食物中的生物危害:致病細菌(下篇)

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告

我們在上一期介紹了食物中的腐敗細菌和致病細菌,又概述了致病細菌產生毒素的不同方式,今期將會繼續探討致病細菌。

除了毒素這種武器外,有些致病細菌會有保護層,令其可熬過烹煮過程。細菌可透過具有生長和繁殖能力的繁殖體形式生存。此外,有一小部分還可以孢子的形式存在,雖然這種形式的細菌無法生長或繁殖,但卻能讓其在不利生長的環境下存活。

即食食物中能夠產生孢子的致病細菌

蠟樣芽孢桿菌和產氣莢膜梭狀芽孢桿菌都是可透過孢子形式或繁殖體形式存在的致病細菌,其孢子有一層厚壁保護着,能夠抵受熱力,故這兩種致病細菌都能抵受烹煮過程所產生的熱力。烹煮的熱力不但能誘發孢子發芽,成為繁殖細胞,還會殺死其他不耐熱的細菌,減少環境中與繁殖細胞競爭生長的其他細菌。食物如在烹煮後長時間不當地存放在中等溫度的情況下(例如室溫),便可讓繁殖細胞大量生長,因此,我們要避免長時間把已煮熟的食物冷卻,應立即把已冷卻的食物存放在攝氏 4度或以下的雪櫃內。

有些人可能會認為,翻熱過程既然能夠殺死繁殖細胞,只要在進食前徹底翻熱食物, 長時間把食物冷卻和貯存在室溫下的問題就不大。這種說法有部分正確,但卻存在漏洞。讀者可能還記得,我們在上一期曾說過蠟樣芽孢桿菌可產生耐熱的毒素,而這些毒素是不能透過烹煮過程去消滅。

插圖﹕ 芽孢桿菌的繁殖細胞(左)和孢子(右,箭咀下)(照片來源:香港大學微生物學系黃世賢醫生)

即食食物中不能產生孢子的致病細菌:本港食物中毒事故的主因

雖然產生孢子的致病細菌難以消滅,但二零零六年本港食物中毒事故中最主要致病媒介卻是副溶血性弧菌、沙門氏菌和金黃葡萄球菌,而這些都是屬於不能產生孢子的致病細菌。讀者不禁會問原因何在呢 ?

就引致食源性疾病而言,可能有其他因素比致病細菌能夠產生孢子的能力更為重要。副溶血性弧菌天然存在於海水中,常與生或未經徹底煮熟的海鮮和受污染的已煮熟食物有關。進食來自不合衞生來源的海鮮可能是副溶血性弧菌感染個案經常發生的原因之一。沙門氏菌可於肉類、家禽和沾染了受污染的水的新鮮農作物中發現。沒有徹底煮熟食物和在貯存或配製期間與其他食物交叉感染均可引致沙門氏菌感染。人類是金黃葡萄球菌的常見宿主。食物會透過直接接觸或間接經皮屑或呼吸道飛沫等途徑受污染,尤其是在個人衞生不佳的情況下。此外,把食物貯存在不當溫度亦會令上述細菌大量繁殖。由此可見,大部分問題都是由不當或不合衞生的食物處理程序所引致的。

貯存和烹煮的溫度

不論細菌能否產生孢子,避免把有潛在危險的食物貯存在危險溫度範圍 (攝氏4至60度)可防止致病細菌生長。我們以下的表中可見大部分致病細菌都可在危險溫度範圍內生長。


* 括號內為最佳生長溫度
資料來源:美國食物及藥物管理局編製的《惡菌書》 (Bad Bug Book) 及新西蘭食物安全局編製的微生物病菌資料單 (Microbial Pathogen & Data Sheets) 。

雖然李斯特菌可在攝氏0度生存並繁殖,但此菌可透過正常烹煮殺死。我們必須避免即食食物在烹煮後受到污染,以及避免長時間貯存可能含有李斯特菌的未經烹煮的食物。

我們可利用不同的溫度和處理時間殺死不同的細菌。一般而言,把食物烹煮至中心溫度達攝氏75度,並保持至少30秒便能殺死大部分致病細菌(但以孢子形式生存的致病細菌除外)。

雖然引發食源性疾病的致病細菌的特性各有不同,但食物中毒的主要原因是人們不當或不合衞生的處理食物程序。大家只要多點留意有關處理食物的正確方法,就能輕易減低由細菌引致的食物中毒風險。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 28-08-2008