Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (24th Issue, July 2008) – Food Incident Highlight

Salmonella and Tomato

In early June 2008, the United States (US) Food and Drugs Administration (FDA) warned the public not to eat certain red plum, red Roma and round red varieties of raw tomatoes in the US because they might be linked to outbreak of disease caused by Salmonella Saintpaul, an uncommon type of Salmonella. It was reported that at least 1 017 cases and 203 hospitalizations were caused by this particular type of Salmonella in some tomatoes in US since mid-April. The Centre for Food Safety is closely monitoring the situation and has taken samples for analysis. The test results were all satisfactory.

Salmonella is a group of bacteria that can be found in the intestinal tract of humans and both wild and domestic animals (including poultry, pigs and pets like dogs, cats and reptiles). Generally, Salmonella is more commonly found in beef, pork, poultry, milk, eggs and their products, but produce may be contaminated during the farming processes by manure, contaminated water, wild animals or workers. By eating raw (including raw tomatoes) or under-cooked food that contains the bacteria or by consuming cooked ready-to-eat food that had been cross-contaminated with Salmonella from other foods or infected humans, food poisoning can occur. The incubation period is from 6 to 48 hours, usually about 12 to 36 hours. The symptoms, which include nausea, fever, abdominal pain, diarrhoea and sometimes vomiting, are more severe in infants and the elderly. Salmonella present in raw food can be destroyed by cooking thoroughly, but care should be taken to prevent re-contamination with Salmonella.

Consumers should follow the CFS advice in preparing tomatoes for raw consumption. Once tomatoes are contaminated with Salmonella, it can be difficult to remove all the surface bacteria by washing. Therefore, the elderly, children, pregnant women and persons with lowered immunity should be careful when choosing food, especially high risk foods such as salads (including those with raw tomatoes).

Illustrations: Tomatoes implicated in the Salmonella outbreak in the USA (Photo: US FDA)

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :18-07-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零八年七月第二十四期)-食物事故點滴

沙門氏菌與番茄

今年六月初,美國食物及藥物管理局呼籲市民不要進食某些生的紅李番茄、紅羅馬番茄及圓紅番茄,因為有關番茄可能與多宗品種罕見的聖保羅沙門氏菌感染個案有關。據報,該國自四月中起因部分番茄含有聖保羅沙門氏菌導致至少1 017人染病和203人進院。食物安全中心正密切留意事態發展,並已抽取樣本化驗。化驗結果全部令人滿意。

沙門氏菌是一組可在人類、野生及飼養動物(包括家禽、豬和寵物(如狗、貓和爬蟲類動物))的腸道中存在的細菌。一般而言,沙門氏菌較常見於牛肉、豬肉、家禽、奶類、蛋類及前述食物的製品。不過,農作物在耕種期間亦可能會受糞肥、受污染的水、野生動物和工人所污染。吃下含有沙門氏菌的生的(包括生番茄)或未經徹底煮熟的食物,或進食受到沙門氏菌污染的其他食物或受感染人類交叉污染的已烹煮即食食物,均可引致食物中毒。潛伏期由 6至48小時不等,通常約為12至36小時。病徵包括噁心、發燒、腹痛和肚瀉,有時更會出現嘔吐。這些病徵在嬰兒和長者身上會更為嚴重。生的食物中所含的沙門氏菌可經徹底烹煮殺死,而已煮熟食物則必須小心處理,以免再受沙門氏菌污染。

消費者在配製用作生吃的番茄時,應遵從中心建議。番茄一旦受沙門氏菌污染,就難以透過清洗擦掉表面上的沙門氏菌。因此,長者、兒童、孕婦及免疫力較弱的人應小心選擇食物,尤其是高風險食物,例如沙律(包括加了生番茄的沙律)。

插圖﹕涉及美國沙門氏菌感染個案的不同品種番茄(圖片來源﹕美國食物及藥物管理局)

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-07-2008