Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (12th Issue, July 2007) – Incident in Focus

Listeria monocytogenes and its Control

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Listeria monocytogenes in Food

Food incidents concerning Listeria monocytogenes contamination occur in overseas countries from time to time. From January to June 2007, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) identified about 20 of such incidents from various websites of food safety authorities in the Mainland, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States. The CFS responded to these food incidents promptly by contacting relevant authorities, making appeal to retailers to stop selling and warning the public not to consume the affected products as appropriate.

Listeria monocytogenes and Listeriosis

The genus Listeria consists of seven species of gram positive, non-spore forming facultative anaerobes, which are found almost everywhere in the environment. However, Listeria monocytogenes is the only human illness causing species. Such bacteria have an optimum growing temperature of around 37°C. Unlike other pathogens, it can also grow slowly at 0°C.

It is widely recognised that listeriosis is principally attributable to foodborne transmission of Listeria monocytogenes. However, listeriosis is not a common disease in Hong Kong with some 20 confirmed cases in the past 3 years.

Control of Listeria monocytogenes in Food

The CFS conducts regular food surveillance at import, wholesale and retail levels to ensure food safety. For ready-to-eat food, microbiological monitoring using various parameters including Listeria monocytogenes is carried out. From January to May 2007, the CFS tested some 70 samples of ready-to-eat food for Listeria monocytogenes and all were satisfactory (i.e. not detected in 25g). Besides, the CFS monitors food incidents including those involving Listeria monocytogenes contamination occurred in other countries and takes appropriate actions if necessary.

To assist officers in food safety control and facilitate the trade in devising measures to enhance food safety, the CFS developed a set of Microbiological Guidelines for Ready-to-eat Food (the Guidelines) in 2002 and revised it in 2007, in consultation with microbiological experts of the Expert Panel on Microbiological Safety of Food. The revised Guidelines issued in May 2007 stipulate the Listeria monocytogenes limit for all ready-to-eat food at less than100 colony-forming units per gram (cfu/g) except for (i) food under refrigeration (excluding frozen food) and (ii) food intended for infants, where a“not detected in 25g”limit is set.

Tripartite Collaboration to Control Listeria monocytogenes in Food

Ensuring food safety requires tripartite collaboration – the government, the trade and consumers. Apart from government’s effort in monitoring and controlling food safety, the trade also has a vital role to play in producing safe food. They should put Good Manufacturing Practices in place and observe the Listeria monocytogenes limits set in the Guidelines so as to ensure the food they produce is safe for consumption. Besides, members of the public should practise sound food and personal hygiene, and the susceptible populations including pregnant women, the elderly and those with lowered immunity, should avoid the consumption of high risk food.

Illustration: Examples of foods that have to meet the “not detected in 25g” limit for Listeria monocytogenes (from top to bottom): coleslaw, yoghurt, milk, soft cheese, sliced ham and baby food

More About the Current Guidelines

Q1.What are the rationales for setting such criteria ?

A1.The CFS sets the criteria with reference to the best available scientific evidence and international practices. The “zero tolerance” approach to regulate Listeria monocytogenes in all ready-to-eat foods has been criticised by food technologists and scientists internationally and was considered as an over-cautious approach in light of the latest scientific evidence. Recent risk assessment study conducted by international authorities revealed that most listeriosis cases were associated with the consumption of foods that did not meet current standards for Listeria monocytogenes, regardless of whether the standard was zero tolerance or less than 100 cfu/g. Studies also showed that certain foods were more likely to be implicated in listeriosis and certain populations were more susceptible to the infection. Due to the ubiquitous nature of Listeria monocytogenes, it would be difficult to maintain its absolute absence in all kinds of ready-to-eat food. Adopting a non-zero tolerance policy for low risk foods will allow efforts and resources to be focused on areas that may have greater health benefit. Developed countries like Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom have also adopted an approach of control on Listeria monocytogenes by having a more stringent requirement towards high risk foods and a limit of less than100 cfu/g for other types of foods, resulting in better resource allocation.

Q2.Why are there two different limits for ready-to-eat food ?

A2.A wide range of food may be contaminated by Listeria monocytogenes. However, they pose different health risks to different populations.

Ready-to-eat foods kept under refrigeration (excluding frozen condition) pose higher risk to human because Listeria monocytogenes can grow at refrigeration temperatures and its number may reach infectious dose if given sufficient time. On the other hand, ready-to-eat foods that can be stored at room temperature are likely to be shelf-stable where the conditions do not support the growth of bacteria including Listeria monocytogenes. Under frozen condition, Listeria monocytogenes is unable to multiply. Therefore, foods kept at temperatures other than refrigeration (including frozen food) are at lower risk and thus subject to less stringent limit i.e. less than100 cfu/g.

Moreover, infants are more susceptible to Listeria monocytogenes infection. Therefore the CFS takes a stringent approach “not detected in 25g” towards ready-to-eat products intended for infants.

Q3 .Will the current Guidelines affect the occurrence of listeriosis ?

A3.Based on current available scientific evidence, setting a Listeria monocytogenes limit for low risk items at less than100 cfu/g is not expected to result in increased number of listeriosis incidence.

Further Information

Further information about Listeria monocytogenes and the Guidelines can be obtained from the following webpages:

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :30-03-2015

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零七年七月第十二期)-焦點個案

李斯特菌及其規控

食物安全中心風險評估組
研究主任馬嘉明女士報告

食物中的李斯特菌

海外國家不時發生涉及單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌*污染的食物事故。今年一月至六月,食物安全中心(中心)透過內地、澳洲、新西蘭、英國及美國食物安全當局的網頁找出約20宗這類事故,並因應情況迅速作出回應,包括與有關當局聯絡,呼籲零售商停售問題食品以及提醒市民切勿進食問題食品。

*在本港,單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌通常簡稱為李斯特菌。

李斯特菌與李斯特菌病

李斯特菌屬包括七個品種,全部屬於革蘭氏陽性無芽孢兼性厭氧菌,在環境中幾乎無處不在。不過,單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌是唯一可令人致病的品種。此菌的最佳繁殖溫度約為攝氏37度。與其他致病菌不同,它們亦可在攝氏0度的環境下慢慢繁殖。

專家普遍認為,李斯特菌病主要從飲食途徑感染李斯特菌所致。不過,此病在本港並非常見的疾病,過去三年有20多宗證實個案。

規控食物中的李斯特菌

中心在進口、批發及零售層面定期監察食物以確保食物安全,並採用不同參數(包括單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌),對即食食品進行微生物監察。今年一月至五月,中心對 70多個即食食品樣本進行李斯特菌測試,全部令人滿意(即在25克食物樣本內沒有發現)。此外,中心監察食物事故,包括涉及李斯特菌污染的海外事故,並在有需要時採取適當行動。

為了協助當局規控食物安全及方便業界制定改善食物安全的措施,中心於二零零二年制定即食食品微生物含量指引(指引),並在徵詢食品微生物安全專家小組的微生物專家意見後,於今年作出修訂。經修訂的指引已於五月發出,當中規定所有即食食品的李斯特菌含量限值為每克食物樣本少於100個菌落形成單位,但(i)冷藏食品(不包括冰凍即食食品)及(ii)嬰兒食品則除外。這兩類食品的含量限值訂為“在25克食物樣本內沒有發現”。

三方合作控制食物中的李斯特菌

確保食物安全需要政府、業界及消費者三方的合作。除了政府致力監察及規控食物安全的工作外,業界在生產安全食物方面亦扮演重要角色。他們應執行優良製造規範,並遵從指引所訂的李斯特菌含量限值,以確保所生產的食物可供安全食用。此外,市民應奉行良好的食物及個人衞生習慣,而容易受李斯特菌感染的群組如孕婦、長者和免疫力較弱的人士等則應避免進食高風險食物。

插圖﹕須符合“在25克食物樣本內沒有發現”李斯特菌的食物例子(由上至下)﹕椰菜絲沙律﹔乳酪﹔牛奶﹔軟芝士﹔切片火腿及嬰兒食品

 

了解更多現行指引

問1 . 為什麼要制定這些準則?

答1 . 中心參考最新的科學證據及國際做法制定這些準則。採用“完全不容許”的模式規管所有即食食品中的李斯特菌,一直受各國食品技術專家及科學家批評。他們認為,根據最新的科學證據,有關模式過於謹慎。由國際組織進行並於近年發表的一項風險評估研究指出,大部分李斯特菌病個案與進食李斯特菌含量不符合現行標準的食物有關,不管有關標準是完全不容許含有該菌或每克食物樣本少於 100個菌落形成單位。此外,有些研究顯示,某些食物較多涉及李斯特菌病,而某些人又較容易受感染。由於李斯特菌無處不在,難以確保各類即食食品均完全不含此菌。對低風險食物採取有限度容許的政策,可令工作和資源集中在可能對公共衞生有更大效益的範疇上。澳洲、加拿大及英國等已發展國家對李斯特菌採取的規管模式亦是對高風險食物訂定較嚴格的規定,但對其他食物類別則訂出含量限值為每克食物樣本少於100個菌落形成單位,因而可以更有效地分配資源。

問2 . 為何對即食食品訂有兩個不同含量限值?

答2 . 許多種類的食物可能會受李斯特菌污染。不過,此菌對不同群組有不同的健康風險。

冷藏(不包括冰凍)即食食品對人類的風險較高,因為李斯特菌會在冷藏溫度繁殖,如有充足時間,其數量可達感染劑量。另一方面,可存放在室溫的即食食品,因其環境不利細菌(包括李斯特菌)的繁殖,一般可耐於保存。在冰凍環境下,李斯特菌無法繁殖,故此,存放在非冷藏溫度的食物(包括冰凍食物)的風險較低,因而訂定較寬鬆的含量限值,即每克食物樣本少於100個菌落形成單位。

此外,嬰兒較易受李斯特菌感染,因此,中心對即食嬰兒食品採用嚴格的模式,即“在25克食物樣本內沒有發現”。

問3 . 現行指引會影響李斯特菌的個案數字嗎?

答3 . 根據現有的科學證據,把低風險食物的李斯特菌含量限值訂為每克食物樣本少於100個菌落形成單位,預計不會引致李斯特菌病發病率上升。

更多資料

如欲獲得有關李斯特菌及指引的更多資料,請瀏覽下列網頁:

中心編製有關李斯特菌的單張
中心出版的食物安全焦點(二零零七年三月)
中心發出的即食食品微生物含量指引(二零零七年五月版本)
中心有關即食食品微生物含量指引的常見問題

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 30-03-2015