Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (79th Issue, February 2013) – Food Safety Platform

DHA in Formula Products for Infants and Young Children — More is Not Better

Reported by Ms. Melissa LIU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we introduced macronutrients in breastmilk and infant formula. In this issue, we will discuss docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), a nutrient often added to formula products for infants and young children.

What is DHA?

DHA is a long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acid which has a critical role in normal retinal and brain development of foetus and the first two years of life. DHA presents in varying amounts in human breastmilk, fish oils, and marine algae. Apart from its dietary sources, the body can produce DHA from α-linolenic acid, which is found in plant oils as well as breastmilk and infant formula.

Breastfeeding is best for babies (courtesy of the Department of Health)
Breastfeeding is best for babies (courtesy of the Department of Health)

Controversy of Adding DHA in Formula Products

Some formula manufacturers add DHA-containing ingredients in their formula products. This is mainly to mimic the composition of breastmilk (mean DHA content ranges from 0.2-1.0% of fatty acids), and to take into consideration the typically higher blood level of DHA in breastfed infants than that in infants fed with formulae not containing DHA.

However, when coming to the question about the actual benefit of adding DHA to formula products, the issue is still controversial. There are studies suggesting that some infants, such as premature infants, may benefit from direct consumption of DHA. Some studies also suggest that including DHA in infant formulae may have positive effects on visual function and neural development of infants over a short term.

However, other studies in infants do not confirm the above benefits, nor are there any long-term beneficial effects demonstrated. For children aged two or above, there is currently insufficient evidence to link increased intake levels of DHA to improved physical or mental development or specific functional benefits. As such, the European Union only accepts claims mentioning that DHA intake contributes to the normal visual development of infants up to 12 months, while claims mentioning function of DHA intake on brain development of non-breastfed infants or eye development for infants and children above 12 months are not accepted.

In fact, there are concerns that for nutrients added to formula products, including DHA, their structures and functions may not be the same as those present in breastmilk as they are extracted from cows milk or other ingredients (such as marine oils in the case of DHA). Therefore, taking into account that DHA could be synthesised in the body from α-linolenic acid, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) does not consider DHA to be an essential composition of infant formula and follow-up formula products.

DHA Intake in Infants and Young Children

Theoretically, when DHA is taken in large amount or inappropriate ratio to other fatty acids, metabolism of other fatty acids in the body may be affected, which might eventually have impact on a number of body functions such as renal function, blood coagulation and immunological reactions.

However, this is normally not a concern to breastfed infants who can usually obtain the right amount of dietary DHA from breastmilk. For infant formula, in view of the possible benefits to certain babies, addition of DHA is generally acceptable. Codex recommends that DHA, if added, should normally not exceed 0.5% of total fat content unless due to unavoidable technical constraints and should be present in specific ratio to certain fatty acids, i.e. arachidonic acid (AA) content should reach at least the same concentration as DHA, and the content of eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) should not exceed that of DHA. Such level does not pose any known major safety concern or adverse effects on growth. Therefore, when it is desired to feed infants with DHA added formula, it is advisable to choose one that fulfils the Codex recommendation.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-02-2013

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主页 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一三年二月第七十九期)-食物安全平台

婴幼儿配方奶中的DHA — 过多无益

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任廖佩珊女士报告

我们在上一期介绍了母乳和婴儿配方奶中的常量营养素,这次我们会探讨一种婴幼儿配方奶产品中常见的营养素—二十二碳六烯酸 (DHA)。

DHA是什么?

DHA是一种长链多元不饱和脂肪酸,是胎儿和婴儿出生头两年视力和脑部正常发育的关键元素。母乳、鱼油和海藻中都含有不同分量的DHA。除了从膳食中直接摄取外,人体亦可利用从植物油、母乳和配方奶中摄取的α-亚麻酸自行制造DHA。

母乳喂哺对婴儿最好(由卫生署提供)
母乳喂哺对婴儿最好(由卫生署提供)

配方奶产品添加DHA的争议

为了模拟母乳的成分(母乳中DHA平均占脂肪酸的0.2至1.0%不等),并考虑到相比起喂哺不含DHA配方奶的婴儿,喂哺母乳的婴儿血液中的DHA水平一般相对较高,有些配方奶生产商会在产品中添加含DHA的配料。

然而,配方奶添加DHA是否真的有利于婴幼儿的生长发育,至今仍然莫衷一是。有研究指出直接摄取DHA对部分婴儿,例如早产婴有好处。亦有研究指在婴儿配方奶添加DHA有助婴儿短期内的视觉和神经发育。

然而,其他有关婴儿的研究并没有为上述益处提供佐证,亦没有显示婴儿吃了添加DHA的配方奶会带来长期的有利影响。对于两岁或以上的幼儿,目前没有足够的证据证明,增加DHA摄取量能促进幼儿的体格或智力发展或对某项功能有益。因此,欧盟只允许描述DHA有助12个月以下婴儿的正常视力发育的声称,而不允许描述DHA有益于非母乳喂哺婴儿的脑部发育或12个月以上婴幼儿的眼部发育的声称。

事实上,有意见认为配方奶产品中添加的DHA等营养素源自牛奶或其他配料(例如DHA是从海产油类中提取),其构造和功能未必可与母乳中的成分相提并论。再加上身体可以自行把α-亚麻酸制成为DHA,食品法典委员会因此未有把DHA列为婴儿和较大婴儿配方奶产品的必需成分。

婴幼儿摄取DHA的情况

理论上,大量摄取DHA或所摄取的DHA分量与其他脂肪酸的比例失衡,可能影响身体对其他脂肪酸的代谢作用,以致身体多项功能受影响,例如肾功能、凝血和免疫反应等。

母乳喂哺的婴儿一般没有这方面的问题,因为他们通常可以从母乳中摄取恰当分量的DHA。至于婴儿配方奶,添加DHA一般是可以接受的,因为这对部分婴儿的发育可能有利。食品法典委员会建议,如果在配方奶中添加DHA,除非技术所限,否则DHA的含量不能超过总脂肪量的0.5%,而且与特定脂肪酸须保持特定的比例,具体来说,即花生四烯酸(AA)的含量应至少达到DHA的同等浓度,而二十碳五烯酸(EPA)含量不应超过DHA。这个水平不会构成已知的重要安全问题,亦不会对婴幼儿的发育造成不良影响。因此,如果市民想以添加DHA的配方奶喂哺婴儿,便应选择那些符合食品法典委员会建议的产品。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-02-2013