Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (79th Issue, February 2013) – Incident in Focus

Review of Food Incidents in 2012

Reported by Dr. Yu-chi LI, Medical & Health Officer,
Risk Management Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Food incidents refer to events which have potential food safety implications. As the majority of food supply in Hong Kong is imported, apart from monitoring local food incidents, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) also conducts daily surveillance of food incidents reported by overseas authorities and the mass media.

Food Incidents in 2012

In 2012, a total of 1,008 food incidents were identified by the CFS. The figure was slightly higher as compared to 915 cases in 2011. As in past years, non-local incidents constituted the majority (98.3%) of all cases. Taiwan (45%), North America (27%), Mainland China (9%), Europe (8%) and Australia/ New Zealand (5%) reported the most cases. A 60% increase in cases reported by Taiwan had mostly accounted for the overall rise in incidents identified in 2012. No major food incident was identified in Taiwan.

Incidents involving vegetables, cereal, fruits and their products had the greatest increase, followed by those concerning aquatic products (Figure 1). Chemical and microbiological hazards accounted for most of the incidents as in previous years. Compared with the average percentage of 2007-2011, however, the percentage of chemical hazard related cases rose significantly in 2012 from 45.4% to 51% (Figure 2).

Figure 1. Number of food incidents by food commodity in 2007-2012.
Figure 1. Number of food incidents by food commodity in 2007-2012.
 
Figure 2. Percentage of food incidents by type of hazards in 2007-2012.
Figure 2. Percentage of food incidents by type of hazards in 2007-2012.

Actions Taken by the CFS

The CFS assesses the public health significance of each incident and takes appropriate actions, which might include contacting relevant authorities, issuing rapid trade alert, conducting sales check, and taking food samples for testing, making public announcement and initiating recall or issuing prohibition order. In 2012, the CFS issued 380 trade alerts, 14 press releases and 19 food alerts related to these incidents. In addition, the CFS has been posting incidents assessed to have limited local impact through the “Food Incident Post” on its website since September 2012 to alert individuals who might be in possession of related food products through e-trade, travel, or other personal reasons. A total of 139 incidents were posted in 2012.

Important Food Incidents

Three of the detected food incidents that raised greater concerns in 2012 are highlighted below.

1. Canadian beef product contaminated with E. coli O157:H7

In September 2012, the CFS learned from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s website that beef products from an establishment in Canada were contaminated with E. coli O157:H7 and 18 human cases were reported. Some consignments of the affected beef products had been exported to Hong Kong. The CFS immediately conducted investigation and took necessary actions including suspension of import of beef products from the establishment concerned, alerting the trade, tracing distribution and initiating recall of the beef products. A press release was issued to inform the public.

The import suspension was lifted on 18 December 2012 upon receiving Canadian authority’s assessment report concluding that the risk of contamination has been effectively controlled at the establishment. There has not been any related local human infection case.

2. Peanut butter from the United States (US) contaminated with Salmonella

In September 2012, the CFS noted a multistate outbreak of Salmonella in the US with 42 people affected. One peanut butter manufacturer was suspected to be the source. Various peanut butter products and secondary products were recalled.

Investigation by the CFS found that an importer in Hong Kong had imported two of the products and recall was initiated. The importer voluntarily surrendered all remaining stocks for disposal. Sales check by the CFS at retail level did not find any affected products. The CFS alerted the trade to stop selling the products concerned and a press release was issued to advise the public not to consume them. There has not been any related local outbreak.

3. Substandard cooking oil

In mid-December 2012, a newspaper alleged that a suspected unlicensed food processing establishment supplied substandard cooking oil with high level of benzo[a]pyrene (B[a]P) to restaurants. The CFS immediately conducted investigation and took cooking oil samples from different premises for testing. Three oil samples of the same brand from a supplier were found to contain B[a]P at levels exceeding the Mainland limit of 10 μg/kg.

In consultation with the Expert Committee on Food Safety, the CFS has set an action level of 10 μg/kg for B[a]P in cooking oil for necessary enforcement actions. A targeted surveillance project on cooking oil was conducted and test results of B[a]P in 102 samples taken from various levels of the supply chain were all satisfactory. More information about the incident can be found at the “Benzo[a]pyrene in Cooking Oil” webpage.

Conclusion

Early intervention of food incidents is vital in controlling and aborting the potential risks associated with food hazards. The effective food incident surveillance and response system put in place has enabled the CFS to detect and manage food incidents in a timely manner.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-02-2013

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一三年二月第七十九期) - 焦点个案

二零一二年食物事故回顾

食物安全中心
风险管理组
李育奇医生报告

食物事故是指可能影响食物安全的事件。由于本港大部分食品均由外地入口,除了监察本地食物事故外,食物安全中心(中心)每天均密切留意海外食物规管当局及传媒报道的食物事故。

二零一二年的食物事故

二零一二年,中心一共监察到1008宗食物事故,数目比二零一一年915宗略高。一如以往,非本地个案依然占大多数(98.3%)。台湾(45%)、北美(27%)、中国内地(9%)、欧洲(8%)和澳纽(5%)的个案最多。台湾公布的食物事故上升了60%,致使二零一二年的食物事故总数有所增加。期内台湾并无重大食物事故发生。

在监察到的食物事故中,以涉及蔬菜类、谷类、水果及其制品的增幅最大,其次为水产(见图一)。与往年一样,大部分事故与化学物质和有害微生物超标有关(见图二)。但与二零零七至二零一一年的平均数字比较,涉及化学危害的个案占整体个案的比率有所上升,由45.4%增至51% (见图二)。

图一:2007至2012年按食物类别划分的食物事故数字
图一:2007至2012年按食物类别划分的食物事故数字
 
图二:2007至2012年按危害类别划分的食物事故比率
图二:2007至2012年按危害类别划分的食物事故比率

中心采取的行动

中心每次发现食物事故,都会评估该事故对市民健康的影响,以决定最适当的跟进行动,包括联络有关当局,向业界发出快速警报,派员到市面巡查以了解有关产品有否在本港出售,抽取样本进行测试,发出新闻公报,以及发起回收行动或颁布禁止令等。二零一二年,中心因应食物事故发出了380则业界警报、14则新闻公报和19则食物警报。此外,由二零一二年九月起,中心在网页上新辟“食物事故报表”栏目,刊登经评估后认为对本港人口影响有限的食物事故,用意是提醒那些可能透过网购、旅游或其他个人原因而拥有这些产品的个别市民。二零一二年共刊登了139宗这类事故。

重大食物事故

二零一二年,中心监察到不少引起公众关注的重大食物事故,现撮述三宗如下:

1. 加拿大牛肉制品受O157:H7型大肠杆菌污染

二零一二年九月,中心从加拿大食物检查局网页上得悉加拿大境内有食品加工场的牛肉制品受O157:H7型大肠杆菌污染,事件涉及18宗人类感染个案。这些受影响的牛肉制品有部分批次出口至香港。中心随即展开调查,并采取所需行动,一方面禁止有关加工场的牛肉制品输入本港,通知业界,追查分销情况,并指示回收牛肉制品;另一方面发布新闻公报,通知市民。

其后中心收到加拿大当局的评估报告,指有关食品加工场的污染情况已受到控制,中心遂于二零一二年十二月十八日解除输入禁令。事件中并无本地感染个案。

2. 美国花生酱受沙门氏菌污染

二零一二年九月,中心留意到美国多个州份爆发沙门氏菌感染,有42人患病。源头怀疑是一花生酱生产商。该生产商的各种花生酱及其副产品已一一回收。

中心调查发现本港进口商曾进口其中两款产品,遂发起回收行动。进口商亦自愿交出剩下的存货作销毁。中心派员巡查,并无在零售层面发现受影响的产品。中心已通知业界停止出售上述产品,并发布新闻公报,建议消费者停止进食相关产品。问题产品并无在本港引致相关的食物中毒爆发事件。

3. 食油质素有问题

二零一二年十二月中旬,有报章报道一无牌食品加工场向食肆供应质素有问题的食油,并检测出食油含高量苯并[a]芘(benzo[a]pyrene)。中心立即展开调查,从不同处所抽取食油样本作化验。其中一名供应商的同一品牌食油有三个样本的苯并[a]芘含量超出每公斤10微克的国家标准。

中心谘询食物安全专家委员会的意见后,为食油中的苯并[a]芘含量制定每公斤10微克的行动水平,以便采取执法行动。此外,中心又进行专项食品调查,从供应链的不同层面抽取102个食油样本作苯并[a]芘检测,结果全部合格。有关事件的更多资料,请浏览“食油中的苯并[a]芘”专题网页。

总结

及早对食物事故采取行动,对于控制及消除因食物危害所带来的潜在风险尤关重要。中心设立的监察及应变系统一直行之有效,使中心能适时监察及处理食物事故。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-02-2013