Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (79th Issue, February 2013) – Food Incident Highlight

Plasticiser in Distilled Spirits

In December 2012, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department received a food complaint that a bottle of Chinese distilled spirits labelled as Moutai contained plasticiser. Test result on the submitted sample in an unsealed bottle showed that it contained a plasticiser, di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), at 2.8 mg/kg which exceeded the action level set for food. Risk assessment showed that the dietary exposure to DEHP by the average and high consumers of the distilled spirits at the detected level would not exceed the safety reference value established by the World Health Organization.

DEHP is widely used in polyvinyl chloride (PVC) products to improve flexibility and durability of the plastic material. It may be present in food due to migration from PVC food contact materials or as an environmental contaminant. DEHP has low acute toxicity.

Currently, there is no international standard for maximum limits of plasticisers in distilled spirits. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has set an action level of 1.5 mg/kg for DEHP in food during the food incident involving the adulteration of plasticisers in five categories of Taiwanese food in 2011. There is currently no evidence that DEHP has been added deliberately to distilled spirits. As distilled spirits are not considered as a normal part of the diet of the general population and some plasticisers (including DEHP) are highly soluble in alcohol, the action level for food might not be appropriate for distilled spirits. Taking into account the risk assessment result and relevant European data, the CFS has set a separate action level of 5 mg/kg for DEHP in distilled spirits.

Alcohol is a cancer-causing agent. Alcohol consumption has both immediate and long-term effects on health. It also increases the risk of intoxication, even death. Non-drinkers should not start drinking. For those who choose to drink alcoholic beverages, they should limit the amount of alcohol consumed to minimise alcohol-related harm.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-02-2013

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一三年二月第七十九期) - 食物事故点滴

烈酒中的塑化剂

二零一二年十二月,食物环境卫生署接获市民投诉一瓶标示为茅台的酒含塑化剂,该市民并提供一已开封的酒样本。该样本检测出每公斤酒样本含有2.8毫克的塑化剂邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己酯)(DEHP),超出食物所含DEHP的行动水平。风险评估结果显示,对于烈酒饮用量一般及高的市民,通过饮用上述DEHP分量的烈酒不会超出世卫有关DEHP的安全参考值。

DEHP普遍用于聚氯乙烯(PVC)产品,使塑料更具弹性和耐用。食物含有DEHP,可能是因PVC食物接触物料中的塑化剂迁移到食物中,又或食物受环境污染。DEHP的急性毒性低。

目前,国际上仍没有烈酒中塑化剂的限量标准。食物安全中心(中心)在二零一一年处理台湾五类食品被搀杂塑化剂的事故时,把行动水平定于每公斤食物含1.5毫克DEHP。目前并无证据显示有人故意在烈酒中掺入DEHP。由于烈酒并非一般香港市民日常的饮食,而且某些塑化剂(包括DEHP)较易溶解于酒精中,以上针对一般食物的行动水平不适用于烈酒。因此,中心根据风险评估的结果及参考欧洲国家的有关数据,为烈酒另订行动水平为每公斤烈酒含5毫克DEHP。

酒精是一种致癌物质。喝酒对健康会构成即时和长远的影响,亦会增加酒精中毒甚至死亡的风险。不饮酒人士不应开始饮酒。如选择饮用酒精饮品,亦应节制以尽量减少酒精带来的危害。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-02-2013