Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (42nd Issue, January 2010) – Incident in Focus

Formaldehyde in Noodlefish

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has recently released the results of targeted food surveillance on noodlefish. Results showed that a noodlefish sample was found to contain formaldehyde, a non-permitted preservative, at 1200 mg/kg. This article provides food safety information on formaldehyde in food especially noodlefish.

Fresh noodlefish photo


What is Formaldehyde?

Formaldehyde, also known as methanal, is a colourless gas but with a pungent and irritating smell. It is highly reactive and readily soluble in water. Pure formaldehyde is not commercially available while formalin (about 37% formaldehyde) is the most common formaldehyde-containing solution. Formaldehyde is generally used in industry for the production of plastic resins. It can also be used in a variety of products such as fertilisers, preservatives, disinfectants, cosmetics, fungicides and textiles.

Formaldehyde is ubiquitous in the environment. Its presence is either produced from natural or manmade sources. Formaldehyde occurs naturally in the environment through various processes such as forest fires. It also exists at low levels in many living organisms as a metabolic intermediate. The manmade sources of formaldehyde include combustions (e.g., vehicle emissions, wood burning, power plant and waste incineration), building materials and tobacco smoke.

Inhalation, especially indoor air, is the major exposure route of formaldehyde among the general population. People may also be exposed to formaldehyde from other sources such as cosmetics and food. Even though it is difficult to estimate the daily intake of formaldehyde from food, the World Health Organization (WHO) estimated it may range between 1.5 and 14 mg in average adult. Other oversea report suggested that if the major contribution is from food, an adult may be exposed up to about 10.55 mg formaldehyde per day.


Formaldehyde in Food

Naturally Occurring

Formaldehyde is present in many animal and plant species as a product of their normal metabolism. Formaldehyde can be found naturally in food including fruits, vegetables, meats, marine fish and crustacean, with levels up to 300 to 400 mg/kg. However, there is no report that formaldehyde is naturally present in noodlefish. Study conducted by the CFS suggested that formaldehyde found in noodlefish was a result of abuse.

For more information on naturally occurring formaldehyde, please refer to “Formaldehyde in Food” in the Food Safety Focus (6th Issue, January 2007).

Illegal Use as Food Additive

Formaldehyde is used as a food preservative illegally since it can prolong the shelf-life of a food by protecting against deterioration caused by microorganisms.

High level of formaldehyde (1200 mg/kg) detected in the concerned noodlefish is likely to be added deliberately as a preservative after the fish was caught, during transportation or storage.

The texture of noodlefish adulterated with formaldehyde is likely to be stiff since formaldehyde would react with the fish protein and result in muscle toughness and reduce its palatability.


Health Effects of Formaldehyde

Ingestion of a small amount of formaldehyde is not likely to cause any acute effect; however, the intake of formaldehyde in a large amount can cause severe abdominal pain, vomiting, coma, renal injury and possible death in humans. Prolonged ingestion of formaldehyde in drinking-water caused stomach irritation in experimental animals.

The cancer-causing property is the main health concern of formaldehyde. In 2004, the International Agency for Research on Cancer of the WHO classified formaldehyde as “carcinogenic to humans” (Group 1), with consideration that there is sufficient evidence indicating formaldehyde causes nasopharyngeal cancer in humans through occupational exposure. However, in view of the available evidence, WHO considered formaldehyde is not cancer-causing upon ingestion.


Safety Reference Value

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has established a chronic oral reference dose of 0.2 mg/kg bw/day for formaldehyde. Adverse health effects due to prolonged consumption of the concerned noodlefish with formaldehyde at 1200 mg/kg cannot be ruled out.

 Key Points to Note

  • The presence of formaldehyde in food either occurs naturally or is added illegally.

  • Adverse health effects due to prolonged consumption of noodlefish with high level of formaldehyde cannot be ruled out. However, formaldehyde is not cancer-causing upon ingestion.

  • Formaldehyde is not a permitted preservative in food in Hong Kong .


Local Situation

In Hong Kong , under the Preservatives in Food Regulation, formaldehyde is not a permitted preservative in food.

Over the past years, the CFS has been monitoring the illegal use of formaldehyde in noodlefish. In 2007-2009, a total of 46 noodlefish samples were collected, in which 18 (39%) were found to have used formaldehyde illegally. Improvements were shown last year with the unsatisfactory rate declined from 50% in 2007 to 8% in 2009.


Advice to Public

  • Patronise reliable food premises and food retailers.

  • Choose only fish that are fresh and avoid those with unusual smell and noodlefish that are stiff.

  • Wash noodlefish thoroughly before cooking as formaldehyde is water-soluble.

  • Take a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive intake of food chemicals from a small range of food items.


Advice to Trade

  • Carefully check the origins of food products, and only obtain them from reliable sources.

  • Do not add formaldehyde in food. Store noodlefish at low temperatures, preferably at frozen condition, to minimise spoilage.

  • Maintain a proper cold chain to ensure that fish and fish products are kept safely throughout processes including storage, transportation and display for sale.


Further information

The CFS Risk in Brief on “Formaldehyde in Food”.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-01-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零一零年一月第四十二期)- 焦点个案

白饭鱼中的甲醛

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

食物安全中心(中心)最近公布有关白饭鱼含有甲醛的情况的专项食品调查结果,发现一个白饭鱼样本含有甲醛这种非准许防腐剂,含量为每公斤1200毫克。本文将会提供有关食物(特别是白饭鱼)含有甲醛的安全资讯。


新鲜白饭鱼


甲醛是什么?

甲醛是一种无色但刺鼻难闻的气体,具有高反应性,并易于溶在水中。市面上并无纯甲醛出售,而福尔马林(约含37%甲醛)则是最常见含有甲醛的溶液。甲醛一般用于制造塑胶树脂的工业上,又可用于肥料、防腐剂、消毒剂、化妆品、除真菌剂及纺织品等不同产品。

甲醛在环境中无处不在,可经由天然或人工途径产生。甲醛可透过森林火灾等多种途径天然存在于环境中。此外,许多有生命的生物体内都含有小量在新陈代谢过程中产生的甲醛。至于甲醛的人工产生途径,则包括燃烧(例如车辆废气、焚烧木材、发电厂、焚烧废物)、建筑物料和吸烟时产生的烟。

一般人主要透过吸入空气(尤其是室内空气)摄入甲醛。此外,人们亦可从化妆品和食物等其他途径摄入甲醛。即使难以估计人们每天从食物中摄入甲醛的分量,但世界卫生组织 (世卫估计普通成年人每天可能摄入1.5至14毫克甲醛。其他外国报告估计,如甲醛主要来自食物,一名成年人每天最多可能摄入约10.55毫克甲醛。


食物中的甲醛

天然存在

甲醛存在于多种动物和植物体内,属于正常新陈代谢过程中的产物。甲醛亦可在水果、蔬菜、肉类、海鱼及甲壳类动物等食物中天然存在,含量最高可达每公斤300至400毫克。不过,现时并无报告指甲醛天然存在于白饭鱼。中心进行的研究认为,白饭鱼中的甲醛是由滥用所致。

如欲了解更多有关食物天然含有甲醛的情况,请参阅《食物安全焦点》(二零零七年一月第六期)内“食物中的甲醛”一文。

非用作食物添加剂

由于甲醛可防止食物出现由微生物引致的腐坏,从而延长食物的保质期,故此有人会非法使用甲醛作为食物防腐剂。

在有关白饭鱼中验出的高水平甲醛(每公斤1200毫克)很可能是在捕获白饭鱼后,在运送或贮存白饭鱼期间,有人刻意添加作为防腐剂。

搀有甲醛的白饭鱼多会较韧,这是由于甲醛会与白饭鱼中的蛋白质产生反应,导致肌肉变硬和味道变差。


甲醛对健康的影响

吃下小量甲醛不会造成急性中毒,但吃下大量甲醛则会令人出现严重腹痛、呕吐、昏迷、肾脏受损甚或死亡。以往有实验动物因长期从饮用水摄入甲醛而出现胃部问题。

甲醛对人类健康的主要关注是其致癌性。二零零四年,世卫辖下的国际癌症研究机构把甲醛列为“会令人患癌”(第1组),指出有充分证据证明从工作环境中摄入甲醛可令人患鼻咽癌。不过,世卫根据现有证据认为,透过进食而摄入的甲醛不会致癌。


安全参考值

美国国家环境保护局已把甲醛的长期口服参考剂量订为每日每公斤体重0.2毫克。有关白饭鱼的甲醛含量为每公斤1200毫克,长期进食不能排除会对健康造成影响。

注意要点

  • 甲醛可天然存在或非法添加在食物内。


  • 长期进食甲醛含量高的白饭鱼不能排除会对健康造成不良影响。不过,透过进食而摄入的甲醛不会致癌。


  • 在本港,甲醛并非可用于食物中的准许防腐剂。


本港情况

在本港,根据《食物内防腐剂规例》,甲醛并非可用于食物中的准许防腐剂。

中心过去一直监察在白饭鱼内非法使用甲醛的情况。二零零七年至零九年,中心一共抽取了46个白饭鱼样本,当中发现18 个(39%)曾非法使用甲醛。有关情况在去年已有改善,不合格比率由二零零七年的50%下降至二零零九年的8% 。


给公众的建议

  • 光顾可靠的食肆及食品零售商。


  • 只选购新鲜的鱼类,避免购买有异味的鱼类和肉质较韧的白饭鱼。


  • 甲醛可溶于水,因此应在烹煮前彻底清洗白饭鱼。


  • 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食几类食物而摄入过量化学物。


给业界的建议

  • 谨慎查明食物来源,并应只向可靠的供应商采购食物。


  • 切勿在食物中添加甲醛。为尽量减少腐坏情况,把白饭鱼贮存在低温环境(最好在冷藏环境)。


  • 确保鱼类及其制品在贮存、运送和陈列以供出售的整个过程中妥善冷冻和保存。


更多资料

中心编制有关“食物中含甲醛”的《风险简讯》。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-01-2010