Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (30th Issue, January 2009) – Incident in Focus

Dioxins in Irish Pork

Reported by Dr. Anna S. P. TANG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

On 6 December, 2008 , the Government of Ireland recalled from the market all Irish pork products produced from pigs slaughtered in Ireland from 1 September 2008 , after laboratory results of animal feed and pork fat samples obtained by the Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI) confirmed high levels of dioxins. This article provides more information on dioxins contaminations in foods.

Illustration: Pork ribs

What are Dioxins?

Dioxins are a group of persistent environmental pollutants resulting from various industrial processes and combustion activities. A number of structurally and chemically similar chlorinated compounds including polychlorinated dibenzo-para-dioxins (PCDDs), polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDFs), and certain dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) with similar toxic properties are together classified as “dioxins and dioxin-like compounds”. The term dioxins used below refer to above group of dioxins and dioxin like compounds. Since these pollutants are found ubiquitously throughout the world, all people have background exposure and a certain level of dioxins in the body.

How Do Dioxins Get Into Foods?

Deposition of dioxins present in the atmosphere, application of pesticides and spreading of contaminated sewage may pollute water, sediments, soils, plants, feeds, and accumulate in body tissues in terrestrial and aquatic animals via the food chain. In the current incident, the cause of dioxins contaminations in pork was found to be the use of contaminated animal feed. For most people, about 90% of overall exposure to dioxins may be from diet. Food of animal origin (e.g. meat, poultry, fish, milk, eggs and their products) is the predominant source of human exposure to dioxins. Since dioxins tend to accumulate in animal fat, foods that are rich in animal fats may contain higher levels of dioxins.

Effects of Dioxins on Human Health

Short-term exposure of humans to high levels of dioxins could lead to the development of chloracne (a skin disease), excessive body hair and other skin lesions such as skin rashes and skin discolouration. Exposure to food products of contamination to such an extent is uncommon nowadays. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has classified 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-para-dioxin (TCDD), the most toxic dioxin compound, as human carcinogen. Animal studies showed that long-term exposure to dioxins may affect the immune system, reproductive function, endocrine system and the developing nervous system. Associations with diabetes, thyroid dysfunction and heart diseases in humans have been reported in some studies.

Tolerable Intake Level

Considering the long half-lives of dioxins and dioxin-like compounds, ingestion each day may have a small or even negligible effect on overall intake. In order to assess health risk, the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) considered that tolerable intake for these compounds should be assessed over a period of at least one month, hence a provisional tolerable monthly intake of 70 pg WHO-TEQ (toxic equivalent) / kg body weight was established. Occasional short-term exposure above this tolerable intake would have no health consequences provided the average intake over a long period is not exceeded.

EFSA Risk Assessment

In response to this incident, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)

was requested to carry out a risk assessment for human health related to the possible presence of dioxins in Irish pork and pork products. EFSA considered that contamination of dioxins only occurred over a short period of time. Although the tolerable intake level might be exceeded within this short period, there would be no health concern for this single event for an average consumer over the long term.

 
 Key Points to Note:

  • Dioxins are a group of highly toxic environmental pollutants which tend to accumulate in the food chain.
  • Dioxins are concentrated in fats. Consumers may reduce dioxins intake from foods by reducing intake of animal fat in the diet.
  • Short-term excursion above tolerable intake level would have no health consequences provided the average intake over a long period is not exceeded.

Control of Dioxins in Foods in Hong Kong

The Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) stipulates that all food for sale in Hong Kong must be fit for human consumption. The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department has been monitoring dioxins in foods as part of the Food Surveillance Program since 1999. When elevated levels of dioxins are found, risk assessment and follow-up actions will be taken.

Of the 341 food samples tested for dioxins from 2006 to 2008, the results were all satisfactory.

Advice to Consumers

Consumers may reduce dietary intake of dioxins by:

  • maintaining a balanced diet so as to minimise excessive exposure to dioxins from a small range of food items;
  • trimming fat from meat and meat products avoiding the use of animal fat for food preparation and cooking;
  • using cooking methods that can reduce fat (e.g. broiling, baking);
  • consuming low-fat products.

Advice to the Trade

Farmers, feed and food manufacturers should:

  • adopt good agricultural practices, good animal feeding practices and hygienic practices during primary production, processing, distribution and sale of food and feed;
  • prevent and reduce contamination and formation of dioxins during food and feed processing
  • purchaser and user of feed should pay attention to substances added to feeds and origin of feed ingredients for possible dioxins contaminations
Further information
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :23-01-2009

食物安全焦点(二零零九年一月第三十期)- 焦点个案

爱尔兰猪肉含二噁英

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任邓绍平博士报告

二零零八年十二月六日,鉴于爱尔兰食物安全局早前的化验结果证实,有关动物饲料和猪脂肪的样本含大量二噁英,爱尔兰政府从市面上回收自九月一日或之后在爱尔兰屠宰的猪制成的所有爱尔兰猪肉制品。本文提供有关食物受二噁英污染的更多资料。

插图﹕ 排骨

二噁英是什么?

二噁英是一组由各种工业过程和燃烧活动产生的持久性环境污染物。多种在结构和化学上相近的氯化化合物,包括多氯二苯并二噁英、多氯二苯并呋喃和毒性特性相近的一些类似二噁英的多氯联苯,均归类为 "二噁英和类似二噁英化合物"。下文所用"二噁英"一词是指上述一组二噁英和类似二噁英化合物。由于这些污染物在世界各地无处不在,所有人都会在环境中接触到二噁英,体内会有一定程度的二噁英。

二噁英如何进入食物?

在空气中沈降的二噁英,除害剂的应用和含二噁英的污水的散播会污染水、沈积物、泥土、植物和饲料,继而经食物链在陆上和水中动物的身体组织内积聚二噁英。这次二噁英污染猪肉事件的肇因,是猪只吃了受二噁英污染的动物饲料所致。对大部分人而言,所摄入的二噁英约 90% 是来自食物。动物源性食物,例如猪肉、家禽、鱼类、奶类、蛋类和上述食物的制品,是人们摄入二噁英的最主要来源。由于二噁英往往在动物脂肪中积聚,故含大量动物脂肪的食物可能会有较多二噁英。

二噁英对人们健康的影响

短期摄入大量二噁英可引致氯痤疮(一种皮肤病)、体毛过多和皮肤出疹及变色等皮肤病。从受污染食物摄入大量二噁英的情况现已十分罕见。国际癌症研究机构已把毒性最强的 2,3,7,8- 四氯二苯并二噁英列为人类的致癌物。动物研究显示,长期摄入二噁英可能会影响免疫系统、生殖功能、内分泌系统及发育中神经系统,一些研究亦发现二噁英与人类的糖尿病、甲状腺功能异常和心脏病有关。

可容忍摄入量

由于二噁英及类似二噁英化合物的半衰期较长,每天进食对整体摄入量可能只有很小甚或微不足道的影响。为了评估二噁英及类似二噁英化合物对健康造成的风险,联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会认为,这些化合物的可容忍摄入量评估期应有至少一个月,因此把二噁英及类似二噁英化合物的暂定每月可容忍摄入量订定为按每公斤体重计 70 皮克世界卫生组织的毒性当量。只要平均摄入量并非长期超出暂定每月可容忍摄入量,偶然短期摄入高于这一数值的分量也不会影响健康。

欧洲食物安全局的风险评估

在发生这次事件后,欧洲食物安全局应要求就爱尔兰猪肉及其制品可能含有二噁英对人们健康造成的影响进行风险评估。该局认为,二噁英污染情况只出现于短时间,虽然在这段短时间内人们摄入二噁英的分量可能会超出可容忍摄入量,但长期来说,一般的消费者不会因这次个别事件而影响健康。

注意重点:

规管本港食物中的二噁英

根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第 132 章)的规定,在本港出售的所有食物均须适宜供人食用。由一九九九年起,食物环境卫生署一直透过食物监察计划监察食物含二噁英的情况,一旦发现二噁英含量超出一般水平,便会进行风险评估和采取跟进行动。

在二零零六年至零八年期间,食物安全中心(中心)一共抽取了 341 个食物样本进行二噁英测试,所有结果均属满意。

给消费者的意见

消费者可透过下列方法减少从食物摄入二噁英:

给业界的意见

农民、饲料生产商和食物生产商应:

更多资料