Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Dioxins in Foods

What are Dioxins

  1. Dioxins are a group of polychlorinated aromatic compounds arising either naturally or as by-products of industrial activities e.g. metal smelting, molding or burning of chlorine-containing organic chemicals such as plastics. It is toxic and stable. Once produced, it tends to persist in the environment and concentrates in the food chain.
  2. Different dioxin compounds have different degree of toxicity. Of all types of dioxin-related compounds that have been identified, the most toxic one is 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-para-dioxin (TCDD).
  3. Some dioxin-related food crises occurred in overseas countries have raised considerable public attention and concern. In Hong Kong , the situation of dioxins in foods has been closely monitored by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.

Public Health Significance of Dioxins

  1. Dioxins dissolve in fat in nature and are not easily broken down. They tend to accumulate in fatty tissues and are passed up the food chain from plants to animals to humans.
  2. Sources of human exposure to dioxins include food intake, drinking water, air inhalation and skin contact. Dietary intake is by far the most important and accounts for over 90% of dioxins exposure. Fatty foods such as meat, poultry, seafood, milk, egg and their products are the major dietary sources of dioxins.
  3. Accidental exposure to large amount of dioxins could lead to the development of chloracne, a skin condition, excessive body hair and other skin lesions such as skin rashes and skin discolouration. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has classified the TCDD congener as human carcinogen. Long-term exposure to dioxins is linked to impairment of the immune system, reproductive function, endocrine system and the developing nervous system. Associations with diabetes, thyroid dysfunction and heart diseases in humans have been reported in some studies.

Assessment of Dioxins

  1. The level of dioxins in food is expressed as toxic equivalent TEQ (unit is picogram (pg) TEQ per gram or parts per trillion (ppt)).
  2. There is no international consensus on standard of dioxin level in food. In Hong Kong , the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department initiates follow up action for foods found to contain high levels of dioxins in the food surveillance program.
  3. To accurately determine the risk of the population due to exposure to dioxins, an exposure assessment needs to be performed. In evaluating dietary exposure to dioxins, one needs to examine the dioxin levels in different food items and the food consumption amount in the population.
  4. The World Health Organization (WHO) has set a tolerable daily intake (TDI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds at a range of 1 - 4 pg TEQ per kilogram of body weight (bw) per day in 1998. WHO also stressed that the upper range of the TDI of 4 pg TEQ/ kg bw/ day should be considered as a maximal tolerable intake on a provisional basis and that the ultimate goal is to reduce human intake levels below 1 pg TEQ/ kg bw/ day.
  5. Following a further evaluation carried out in 2001, the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) concluded that, in view of their long half-lives, tolerable intakes for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds should be expressed as a monthly value and allocated a Provisional Tolerable Monthly Intake (PTMI) of 70 pg WHO-TEQ/ kg bw per month.
  6. PTMI is the amount of a toxic substance, expressed on a body weight basis, which an individual may ingest monthly over a lifetime without appreciable risk to health. It stresses on lifetime exposure. Occasional short-term exposure above the PTMI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over long period is not exceeded.
  7. Dietary intake of dioxins is estimated by assessing the level of dioxins in food and food consumption pattern of the population. The estimated dioxins intake is then compared with the PTMI established by JECFA to assess the associated health risk.
  8. Individual food item exceeding action level of dioxin monitoring does not imply presence of immediate health hazard.

Food Surveillance of Dioxins in Hong Kong

  1. Starting from 1999, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department has been monitoring dioxins in foods.
  2. Of the 330 food samples tested from the year 2006 to April 2008, the results were all satisfactory. The surveillance program will be continued and closely monitored.

How to reduce the risk of dioxin exposure

  1. Prevention of excessive exposure to dioxins should start with environmental control.
  2. As dioxins are mainly present in the fatty part of food, consuming low-fat products, trimming fat from meat and meat products, reducing the amount of animal fat used in food preparation and using cooking methods that reduce fat (e.g. broiling, baking) are useful measures to minimise dietary dioxin exposure.
  3. The public is advised to maintain a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to contaminants from a small range of food items

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
January 2009

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-01-2009

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

食 物 含 二 恶

什么是二恶英

  1. 二恶英是一组多氯性芬香族化合物,既可以从天然途径释出,亦会透过工业活动以副产品的形式产生,例如在冶炼金属、制模或燃烧含氯的有机化学品 (如塑胶)时,均会产生二恶英。这种有毒物质,不易被分解,一旦产生,往往持久地存在于环境中,历久不散,并易于在食物链内聚积。
  2. 各种二恶英化合物的毒性不一。在所有已鉴别的与二恶英相关的化合物中,毒性最强的是 2, 3, 7, 8- 四氯二苯并对二恶英 (TCDD) 。
  3. 外国曾发生几次与二恶英有关的食物危机,令公众相当关注。在香港,食物环境卫生署一直密切监察食物含二恶英的情况。

二恶英对市民健康的影响

  1. 二恶英是脂溶性的,不易分解,因此多积聚在脂肪组织,并沿食物链由植物到动物,再由动物到人类 逐渐富集。
  2. 人类会透过食物、食水、空气和皮肤接触等途径摄入二恶英。其中食物是最主要的来源,占九成以上的比例。脂肪含量较高的食物,例如肉类、家禽、海鲜、牛奶、蛋类及其制品,是人类摄入二恶英的主要膳食来源 。
  3. 人类如意外地 摄入大量二恶英,可引致氯痤疮 ( 一种皮肤病 ) 、皮肤出疹及变色等皮肤病和体毛过多。国际癌症研究机构已把 TCDD 列为人类的致癌物。长期摄入二恶英会牵涉到免疫系统、生殖功能、内分泌系统及发育中神经系统的损害,一些研究亦发现二恶英与人的糖尿病、甲状腺功能异常和心脏病有关 。  

二恶英的评估

  1. 食物的二恶英含量是用毒性当量 (TEQ) 表示,单位为皮克毒性当量 ∕ 克或以万亿分比 (ppt) 表示。
  2. 国际间对食物的二恶英含量标准并无共识。在香港,食物环境卫生署透过食物监察计划对二恶英含量高的食物采取跟进行动。
  3. 二恶英摄入量的评估有助测定全港市民摄入二恶英的风险。在评估市民从食物中摄入二恶英的情况时,我们须查验不同食物的二恶英含量及市民的进食量。
  4. 世界卫生组织于一九九八年建议,二恶英及相关化合物 的每日可容忍摄入量 (TDI) 为每公斤体重 1 至 4 皮克毒性当量。 世界卫生组织亦强调每日可容忍摄入量,即每公斤体重四皮克毒性当量的上限,应视为临时最高可容忍摄取的分量,而最终的目标是将人类的摄取量减至少于每日每公斤体重一皮克毒性当量。
  5. 联合国粮食及农业组织 ∕ 世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会 ( 下称 “ 专家委员会 ”) 在二零零一年再进行评估,结论是由于二恶英及相关化合物的半衰期较长,因此,二恶英及相关化合物 的可容忍摄入量,应以每月可容忍摄入量来表示。专家委员会于是把二恶英及相关化合物的暂定每月可容忍摄入量订定为按每公斤体重计 70 皮克世界卫生组织的毒性当量。
  6. 暂定每月可容忍摄入量是指个人于一生中,每月可摄取某一有毒物质而不致对健康构成可见风险的分量 ( 按体重而定 ) ,重点在于人一生的摄入量。只要平均摄入量并非长期超出这一数值,偶然短期摄入高于暂定每月可容忍摄入量的分量也不会影响健康。
  7. 我们评估食物的二恶英含量及市民的进食模式,藉此估计他们从食物中摄取到二恶英的情况。所得的二恶英摄入量与专家委员会订定的暂定每月可容忍摄入量比较,以评估食物含二恶英对健康影响的风险。
  8. 个别食物纵使超出监察二恶英的行动水平,也不表示对健康有即时危害。

香港对含二恶英食物的监察

  1. 由一九九九年起,食物环境卫生署一直监察食物含二恶英的情况。
  2. 在二零零六年至二零零八年四月期间所测试的 330 个食物样本中,所有结果均属满意。我们会继续进行并密切监督食物监察计划。

如何减低摄入二恶英的风险

  1. 防止摄入过量二恶英,应从环境控制着手。
  2. 二恶英主要存在于食物的脂肪部分,如欲减低从食物摄入二恶英的风险,应进食低脂肪食物,除去肉类及肉类制品的脂肪,在配制食物时减少使用动物脂肪,以及使用可减低食物脂肪含量的煮食方法 (例如烤、焗等)。
  3. 市民也应注意均衡饮食,避免从某几类食品摄入过量污染物。

风险评估组
食物安全中心
二零零九年一月

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 22-01-2009