Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (28th Issue, November 2008) – Food Incident Highlight

Melamine Contamination in Eggs

       Since the publication of the Incident in Focus article in the last issue, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has expanded the sampling plan for melamine analysis on the recommendation of the Expert Group on Melamine Incident. Other than milk and processed food with milk-based ingredients, the plan for second phase included food raw materials (e.g, eggs), meat and vegetables.

       On 16 November 2008 , CFS has finished the second phase of testing. Of the 263 eggs sampled, 260 (98.9%) were satisfactory. Among the eggs sampled, 139 samples were produced in the Mainland. As regards the failed Mainland samples, it was believed that melamine entered the eggs after the hens had consumed contaminated feed. CFS has also entered into the third phase of testing since 17 November. Food samples found unsatisfactory in the previous phases will be re-tested.

       As the level of melamine in unsatisfactory egg samples is quite low, there is no need for undue concern. The Food and Health Bureau and the CFS would maintain close contact with the Mainland authorities in an attempt to reduce the risk at the source.

Number of Eggs, Chicken, Meat and Fish Samples Analysed for Melamine
(as of 16 November 2008 )

Food Category

No. of Samples Analysed

No. of Satisfactory Samples (%)

Eggs

263

260 (98.9 %)

Chicken and chicken products

93

93 (100 %)

Meat (pork / beef / other meat) and meat products

90

90 (100 %)

Fish and fish products

172

172 (100 %)

Vegetables

30

30 (100 %)

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :21-11-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年十一月第二十八期)-食物事故点滴

鸡蛋受三聚氰胺污染

    自上一期“焦点个案”专文发表后,食物安全中心(中心)已参照三聚氰胺事件专家小组的建议,把三聚氰胺检测工作的食物抽样范围扩大。除了奶类和以奶类制造的加工食物外,在第二阶段的食物抽样工作已扩及食物原材料(如鸡蛋)、肉类和蔬菜。

    于二零零八年十一月十六日,中心已完成第二阶段的检测工作。当中抽取了263只鸡蛋进行测试,当中有139个是产自内地,而测试合格的有260个(98.9%)。至于测试不合格的内地鸡蛋样本,相信是由于母鸡吃了受三聚氰胺污染的饲料所致。中心亦已在十一月十七日展开第三阶段的检测,当中会再抽验在先前两个阶段被验出不合格的食品种类。

    由于不合格鸡蛋样本的三聚氰胺含量颇低,市民无须过分担心。食物及卫生局和中心会与内地当局保持紧密联系,以期在食物源头控制上减低风险。

已进行三聚氰胺检测的鸡蛋、鸡类、肉类和鱼类样本数目
(截至二零零八年十一月十六日止)

食物类别

已检测的样本数目

测试合格的样本数目 (%)

鸡蛋

263

260 (98.9 %)

鸡类及鸡类制品

93

93 (100 %)

肉类 ( 猪肉/牛肉/其他肉类 ) 及肉类制品

90

90 (100 %)

鱼类及鱼类制品

172

172 (100 %)

蔬菜

30

30 (100 %)

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-11-2008