Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (116th Issue, March 2016) – Food Safety Platform

Group 1 Carcinogens in Food – Alcoholic Beverages

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the previous issue, we discussed some of the Group 1 carcinogens that are more commonly found in locally consumed foods. In this issue, we will discuss the relationship between consumption of alcoholic beverages and cancer.

Prevalence of Alcohol Consumption

Although Group 1 agents are deemed “carcinogenic to humans” by the IARC, some cannot be totally eliminated from the food supply due to their ubiquitous nature. We can, however, avoid consuming some of the food that contains carcinogens as their consumptions is a matter of lifestyle choices.

Consumption of alcoholic beverages is entrenched in many cultures, especially during festivities. Drinking is quite common among the population of Hong Kong. Locally, according to a Department of Health (DH) survey in 2014, about 62.7% of the adult population had at least one drink in the past year, and about 6.8% of the adults engaged in binge drinking (i.e. at least five glasses or cans of alcoholic drinks on one occasion) at least once a month. The per capita consumption of alcohol in Hong Kong per year from 2004 to 2014 stood between 2.53 and 2.87 litres. A surge was observed in 2008 due to the exemption of duty for wine and liquor of an alcoholic strength not more than 30% in that year. From 2009 to 2014, the alcohol consumption per capita of Hong Kong showed an increasing trend.

Understanding what a “unit of alcohol” is (i.e. contains about 12ml by volume or 9.5g by weight of alcohol) can facilitate monitoring the amount of drinks consumed.
Understanding what a “unit of alcohol” is (i.e. contains about 12ml by volume or 9.5g by weight of alcohol) can facilitate monitoring the amount of drinks consumed.
From left to right, each is equivalent to one unit of alcohol: 1 pub measure (~30ml) of hard liquor with 40% alcohol; 1 small glass (~100ml) of wine with 12% alcohol; and ¾ can (~250ml) of beer with 5% alcohol. Reference: Department of Health

Alcohol Consumption, Cancer, and Other Health Risks

However, alcoholic beverages consumption, especially excessive consumption, can impact health, including likelihood of cancers. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) of the World Health Organization classified the consumption of alcoholic beverages as carcinogenic to humans (Group 1 agent) in 2007. Studies from around the world have consistently shown that regular alcohol consumption is associated with an increased risk for oral, pharyngeal, laryngeal and oesophageal cancers. When compared with people who do not drink, consumption of about 50g of alcohol (about 5.3 units) daily will increase the risk of the above cancers two to three times. Another research has found that daily consumption of 50g of alcohol will increase the risk of breast cancer 1.5 times when compared with non-drinkers.

The effect of smoking and drinking on cancer seems to multiply the risk. Additionally, many studies suggest that alcohol consumption is a risk factor for liver cancer. Drinking can also cause many non-cancer health problems, affecting the heart, brain, liver, mouth, gut, sex organs and the mind.

Moreover, drinking will expose drinkers to acetaldehyde. It is a chemical formed during alcohol fermentation and converted inside the body after alcohol consumption. The IARC has also classified acetaldehyde associated with consumption of alcoholic beverages as carcinogenic to humans (Group 1 agent). Acetaldehyde is especially harmful for up to 30% of the East Asian populations, as they have only about 10% of the enzyme activities that breakdown acetaldehyde, due to a genetic condition. This will lead to a higher risk of alcohol-related oesophageal, head and neck cancers when compared with the rest of the population.

Benefits of Alcohol Consumption – Is It True?

The DH considers that although some researchers found that drinking moderate amounts of alcohol may be associated with better heart health in certain populations, the evidence remains controversial. If one is looking to protect the heart, healthy eating and maintaining an active lifestyle are effective means to achieve protection.

Minimising Harm Caused by Alcohol

If you want to improve health, do not start drinking if you do not drink at all. If you decide to drink, limit the amount of drinks to minimise the harm. For alcohol-related cancers, the larger the amount consumed, the higher the risk for the cancers.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-03-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年三月第一百一十六期)- 食物安全平台

第1组食物致癌物 – 酒精饮品

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

上期我们探讨了本港食物中较常见的一些第1组致癌物。这期我们会谈谈饮用酒精饮品与癌症之间的关系。

港人饮酒有多普遍?

很多地方的人都有饮酒的习惯,每逢节日更少不了觥筹交错,举杯畅饮。香港人饮酒的情况也很普遍。根据卫生署在二零一四年进行的调查,在调查前一年内曾饮最少一杯酒精饮品的成年人约有62.7%,而曾每月至少一次暴饮(一次过饮至少5杯或5罐酒精饮品)的约有6.8%。在二零零四年至二零一四年期间,本港的每年人均饮酒量介乎2.53至2.87升。随着葡萄酒和酒精浓度不多于30%的饮品酒税于二零零八年获豁免,本港的人均饮酒量在该年出现明显升幅。而二零零九至二零一四年间,本港的人均饮酒量呈上升趋势。

了解何谓“酒精单位”(一个单位相等于12亳升容量或8克重量的纯酒精),有助监察饮酒的数量。
了解何谓“酒精单位”(一个单位相等于12亳升容量或8克重量的纯酒精),有助监察饮酒的数量。
从左至右,每杯均相等于一个酒精单位:一个酒吧杯(约30毫升)酒精含量为40%的烈酒;一小杯(约100毫升)酒精含量为12%的葡萄酒;以及四分三罐(约250毫升)酒精含量为5%的啤酒。资料来源:卫生署

饮酒、癌症与其他健康危害

饮酒,尤其是过量饮酒对健康有害(包括患癌)。世界卫生组织辖下的国际癌症研究中心(IARC)于二零零七年把饮酒列为“令人类致癌”(第1组)。世界各地的研究一致证明经常饮酒会增加患口腔癌、咽喉癌、喉癌和食道癌的风险。每天喝大约50克酒精(约5.3个酒精单位)的人患上述癌症的风险比不饮酒的人高两至三倍。另一项研究发现每天喝50克酒精,患乳癌的风险比不喝酒的人高一倍半。

同时有抽菸及喝酒习惯的人,患癌的风险更会倍增。此外,多项研究发现饮酒会导致肝癌。除了患癌外,饮酒还会对心脏、大脑、肝脏、口腔、消化道、性器官和神智造成不良影响。

饮酒会摄入乙醛。乙醛是一种化学物,既会在酒的发酵过程中产生,亦会在酒精进入人体后转化而成。而“与饮酒有关的乙醛”已被IARC列为“令人类致癌”(第1组)的致癌物质。因为基因遗传的关系,将近有三成东亚人体内分解乙醛的酵素活性约只有一般人的10%。乙醛对这些人的伤害尤大,这些酵素功能不好的人饮酒,患食道癌和头颈癌的机率比其他人高。

饮酒有益–是真的吗?

卫生署指出,虽然有研究指饮用少量酒精或对某些人具有适度保护心脏健康的作用,但相关研究结果仍具争议性。要保护心脏健康,健康饮食和多做运动才是有效的方法。

减少与酒精相关的危害

要改善健康,如果从没饮酒的便不要饮酒。就算要饮酒,也应有所节制,以尽量减少与酒精相关的危害。饮用酒精饮品能引致多种癌症,饮酒越多,患上这些病的机会就越高。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 16-03-2016