Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (116th Issue, March 2016) – Incident in Focus

Review of Foodborne Disease Outbreaks Related to Food Premises and Food Businesses in 2015

Reported by Dr. Karen CHEUNG, Medical & Health Officer,
Food Incidents Response & Management Unit,
Centre for Food Safety

In this article, we review the foodborne disease outbreaks related to local food premises and food businesses reported to the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) in 2015.

Foodborne Disease Outbreaks Related to Local Food Premises and Food Businesses

In collaboration with the Department of Health (DH), the CFS is responsible for the investigation and control of foodborne disease outbreaks related to local food premises and food businesses. In 2015, the CFS received 256 referrals from the DH on foodborne disease outbreaks affecting 993 persons. Over the past decade, the number of referrals decreased from 859 in 2006 to 279 in 2010, and has since remained stable between 216 and 350 per year (see Figure).

Number of foodborne disease outbreaks related to food premises and food businesses and the corresponding number of persons affected, 2006 to 2015

Causative Agents and Contributing Factors

Bacterial foodborne agents remained the leading cause (78%) of all foodborne disease outbreaks in 2015. Salmonella, Vibrio parahaemolyticus and Clostridium perfringens were the top three agents. For the viral causes, norovirus, associated with the consumption of raw or undercooked bivalves, was the commonest viral agent causing 9% of all the outbreak referrals.

Of the 256 cases investigated last year, contamination by raw food, inadequate cooking and contaminated raw food (food to be consumed raw) were the most frequently identified contributing factors.

Two Major Food Poisoning Outbreaks

A large-scale food poisoning outbreak related to “Hung Rui Chen” sandwiches

Between July and August 2015, there were a total of 34 clusters of Salmonella food poisoning outbreaks notified to the DH which involved 96 patients consuming different varieties of “Hung Rui Chen” sandwiches purchased through various channels. All patients have since recovered without serious complications.

Investigation showed that the incriminated sandwiches were manufactured and prepackaged in Taiwan, and imported or brought by different importers or individuals into Hong Kong. Identical Salmonella Enteritidis strain was isolated from patients of 10 clusters as well as unconsumed sandwiches collected from the patients of one cluster. Of note, the same outbreak strain was isolated from the stool specimen of one patient who purchased the sandwiches directly from a shop at the Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport. The available findings pointed to a common source of contamination and the site of contamination was likely to have occurred outside Hong Kong before the sandwiches were packaged. Subsequent prolonged and improper storage of the sandwiches might have provided favourable conditions for the bacteria to grow and thus aggravated the size of the outbreak.

Upon knowing the incident at the initial stage, the CFS immediately followed up with the trade, traced the sources and distribution of the affected products, and urged the public not to consume the affected products that were brought into Hong Kong by themselves or purchased from shops or online. The trade was reminded to stop selling or using the affected products. To safeguard public health, the CFS banned all “Hung Rui Chen” sandwiches from being imported into and sold in Hong Kong on 3 August 2015.

Enhanced inspection and surveillance of selling of the sandwich in question at retail outlets, collection points and online were mounted. No sale of the remaining stock of affected products was detected in any of these channels. Furthermore, the CFS also enhanced food safety publicity regarding the microbiological risks of perishable foods such as sandwiches.

A large-scale school lunchbox food poisoning outbreak

In September 2015, there was a major food poisoning outbreak affecting 120 children and staff of a school. All affected persons had consumed the same type of lunchboxes, suspected to be contaminated with C. perfringens, that were provided by a food factory.

The CFS visited the food factory and the school immediately upon receipt of notification. It was found that the cooked food ingredients were delivered to the school earlier than usual on the day of consumption of the meal in question and the documentation of temperature control was less than satisfactory. The CFS instructed the catering service to follow good food safety practices, particularly in keeping the cooked food for lunchboxes at a proper holding temperature before consumption. Enhanced follow-up inspections to the concerned food factory were conducted and no further related cases were reported afterwards.

Large-scale school lunchbox food poisoning outbreaks do occur from time to time locally. C. perfringens, commonly present in raw meat and poultry, is a well-recognised cause for foodborne disease in this setting. As the foods are prepared in large quantities in advance and supplying a relatively large number of persons, any lapse in food safety measures may lead to large-scale food poisoning outbreaks. The providers must cook the food thoroughly and keep them at safe temperatures, i.e. above 60˚C or at or below 4˚C, as effective preventive measures.

Conclusion

The number of foodborne disease outbreaks has remained at a relatively low level over the past few years as compared with previous years. While the CFS will continue to be vigilant in safeguarding food safety, the trade and the public need to recognise the risks involved and adopt and adhere to the “Five Keys to Food Safety”.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-03-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年三月第一百一十六期)-焦点个案

二零一五年有关食肆及食物业的食源性疾病个案回顾

食物安全中心
食物事故应变及管理小组
张家慧医生报告

本文就食物安全中心(中心)在二零一五年接获有关本港食肆及食物业的食源性疾病食源性疾病个案作出回顾。

与本港食肆及食物业相关的食源性疾病个案

中心的职责之一是与卫生署合作调查及监控有关食肆及食物业的食源性疾病个案。在二零一五年,中心接获256宗由卫生署转介的怀疑食源性疾病个案,共有993人受影响。在过去十年,该类转介个案由二零零六年的859宗逐年下降至二零一零年的279宗。近年数字转趋平稳,保持在每年216至350宗之间(见图)。

2006至2015年有关食肆/食物业的食源性疾病个案数目及受影响人数

病原体及成因

在二零一五年所有个案中,由细菌引起的仍然占大多数(78%),排在头三位的是沙门氏菌、副溶血性弧菌和产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌。至于病毒所引起的食源性疾病个案,最常见的是因进食生的或未彻底煮熟的双壳贝类而感染诺如病毒,占中心接获个案总数的9%。

在去年调查的256宗食源性疾病个案中,最常见的三个成因分别是食物被生的食物污染、食物未经彻底煮熟和生吃的食物受污染。

两宗大型食物中毒事件

“洪瑞珍”三文治引发的集体食物中毒个案

二零一五年七月至八月间,卫生署接获34个群组的食物中毒事件报告,涉及96人,患者均曾进食从不同渠道购买的“洪瑞珍”三文治。所有患者均已康复,没有严重的并发症。

调查发现,涉事三文治是在台湾制造和预先包装的,有些经不同入口商进口,有些是由市民自携入境的。其中10个群组部分患者的粪便样本和一个群组的患者未吃的三文治被验出同一种肠炎沙门氏菌。值得注意的是,一名粪便样本被验出该菌的患者所吃的三文治购自台湾桃园国际机场的店铺。根据掌握的资料显示,污染来自同一个源头,且很可能发生在三文治包装前,故三文治应不是在香港受到污染。三文治受到细菌污染后,长期和不当的储存或为细菌滋长提供了有利环境,令食物中毒个案激增。

中心接报后即时展开跟进行动,包括追查问题食物的来源和分销情况,呼吁市民不要食用自携入境或从市面或网上购买的有关产品,并提醒业界停止出售或使用受影响产品。为保障公众健康,中心于二零一五年八月三日禁止“洪瑞珍”三文治进口及在香港出售。

中心又加强检查和监察各零售店、取货点和网上商店,并没有发现有店铺出售问题三文治的存货。此外,中心还加强教育公众有关三文治等易坏食物的微生物风险。

学校午餐饭盒引发的集体食物中毒个案

二零一五年九月,一所学校发生集体中毒事件,共有120名师生受影响。患者均曾进食由食物制造厂供应的同一款午餐饭盒。调查人员怀疑饭盒受产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌污染。

中心接报后立即到涉事的食物制造厂和学校视察,发现煮好的食物配料在事发当天较平时提早送到学校,而有关温度控制的纪录未如理想。中心已指示有关供应商遵循良好的食物安全守则,尤其是要注意在食用前存放饭盒食物的正确温度。中心已跟进检查涉事的食物制造厂房,其后再没有收到新的个案。

事实上,本港不时发生大型学校午餐饭盒食物中毒个案,而普遍存在于生的肉类和家禽中的产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌是此类个案的重要成因。由于供应商需要预先制作大量食物供应给大量人群食用,食物安全措施稍有不足,便有可能造成集体食物中毒事故。因此,供应商必须采取有效预防措施,包括把食物彻底煮熟,并存放于安全温度(即摄氏60度以上或摄氏4度或以下)。

结语

虽然有关食肆及食物业的食源性疾病个案数目与早年相比,在过去数年一直维持在相对低的水平,中心仍会一如既往地努力保障食物安全,而业界和市民亦应时刻谨守“食物安全五要点”,以预防食源性疾病个案的发生。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 16-03-2016