Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (82nd Issue, May 2013) – Incident in Focus

Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus and Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Veronica YU, Veterinary Officer,
Veterinary Public Health Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In light of human cases infected with avian influenza A(H7N9) virus in Mainland China and Taiwan since March, coupled with subsequent detection of the virus in commercial poultry including pigeons, chickens and ducks, and a wild pigeon, there are concerns over the imminent risk of local transmission of avian influenza from poultry and their products to humans. As of 14 May 2013, there are 131 human cases reported in the Mainland and Taiwan. This article aims to look at food safety issues associated with avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

What is Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus?

Avian influenza A H7 viruses are a group of influenza viruses that circulate among birds. Although some H7 influenza viruses have occasionally been found to infect humans in the past decade, no human infections with H7N9 viruses have been reported until recent outbreaks in Mainland China .

Generally, H7 subtypes are found to be low pathogenic which cause mild or no disease in domestic poultry and are therefore difficult to detect in poultry. In contrast, the previous “bird flu” of H5N1 strains are highly pathogenic avian influenza virus that cause severe disease and high mortality in chickens.

Human Infection with Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus

Thus far, most patients identified with this infection have had severe pneumonia. Symptoms include fever, cough and shortness of breath. It is still unclear concerning both the source of infection and the mode of transmission of the virus, though a number of the human H7N9 cases in Mainland China have been reported to have contact with domestic poultry or the environments where they are housed. According to the National Health and Family Planning Commission (NHFPC), the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is of avian origin and people are mainly infected through exposure to infected poultry or its contaminated environment. Contact with infected poultry and visiting wet markets with live poultry are important risk factors of human infection caused by the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

Is It Safe to Eat Poultry and Poultry Products?

Thorough cooking of poultry meat and eggs with centre temperature reaching at least 70oC can inactivate the virus. The World Health Organization therefore advises that it is safe to eat properly prepared and cooked meat, including poultry and game birds. It is important to wash hands thoroughly with soap or liquid cleanser after handling live poultry, poultry products and eggs. All the working surfaces, utensils and equipment that have been used for handling the above should also be cleaned thoroughly.

Actions Taken by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)

Live, chilled and frozen poultry imported from the Mainland for consumption are sourced from poultry farms that are under the supervision of the Mainland authority. The imported poultry have to be accompanied with health certificates issued by competent authority in the Mainland, declaring that the animals are free of avian influenza.

From 11 April 2013 onwards, the CFS has started testing imported poultry at Man Kam To border against H7 virus, in addition to the existing measure to test against H5. Only the poultry with satisfactory test results would be released for sale at the wholesale markets. These surveillance programmes are considered sufficient in detecting avian influenza A(H7N9) virus despite its low prevalence in poultry.

Officer of the Centre for Food Safety taking a blood sample from a live chicken imported from the Mainland at Man Kam To Animal Inspection Station to test for avian influenza
Officer of the Centre for Food Safety taking a blood sample from a live chicken imported from the Mainland at Man Kam To Animal Inspection Station to test for avian influenza

There are no human cases detected in Hong Kong to date but members of the public are advised to remain vigilant by maintaining good personal hygiene practice. Further information can be found at the Centre for Health Protection website.

Key Points to Note:

  • Avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is of avian origin, yet the exact route of transmission to human is still under investigation.
  • Consumption of thoroughly cooked poultry and poultry products is safe.
  • Wash hands thoroughly with soap or liquid cleanser after handling live poultry, poultry products or eggs.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Avoid touching chickens or their faeces when buying live chickens.
  2. Wash hands thoroughly with soap after handling live poultry, poultry products or eggs. All working surfaces, utensils and equipment should be cleaned after handling the above products.
  3. Cook poultry and poultry eggs thoroughly, all parts of the poultry meat should reach 70oC.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Live poultry kept on the premises for sale should only come from wholesale markets or other sources approved by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.
  2. The entire wall, floor surfaces and the cages at the premises selling live poultry should be kept clean. They should be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected together with other utensils and equipment including the defeathering machine at the end of a business day.
  3. Workers should observe personal hygiene such as washing their hands with soap immediately after slaughtering and dressing of poultry. Light coloured protective clothing including aprons and rubber boots should also be worn.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-05-2013

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年月第八十二期)-焦點個案

甲型H7N9禽流感病毒與食物安全

食物安全中心
獸醫公共衞生組
余欣庭獸醫報告

中國內地和台灣自三月起發生多宗人類感染甲型H7N9禽流感病毒個案,加上其後在鴿子和雞鴨等食用家禽以及一隻野鴿中檢出病毒,令市民擔心禽流感隨時會通過家禽及其製品傳入本港。截至二零一三年五月十四日,內地和台灣共有131宗人類確診個案。本文將探討與H7N9禽流感病毒有關的食物安全問題。

甚麼是甲型H7N9禽流感病毒?

甲型流感的H7病毒是一組於鳥類中傳播的流感病毒。雖然過去十年間偶有人類感染某些H7流感病毒的個案,但直到最近內地出現確診病例前,一直沒有人類感染H7N9病毒的個案。一般來說,H7亞型病毒是低致病性的,家禽感染這種病毒後只會引起輕微疾病,甚至不會發病,因此很難分辨出染上病毒的家禽。相反,之前的H5N1屬於高致病性的禽流感病毒,受感染的雞隻病情嚴重,死亡率甚高。

人類感染甲型H7N9禽流感病毒的情況

目前來說,大部分受感染人士曾出現嚴重肺炎,症狀包括發燒、咳嗽和呼吸急促。雖然據報有感染H7N9的內地病人曾接觸家禽或到過放置家禽的地方,但病毒的感染源頭和傳播途徑至今未明。國家衞生和計劃生育委員會指出,甲型H7N9禽流感病毒源自禽鳥,人們染病主要是由於暴露於受感染的家禽或其污染的環境。因此,接觸受感染的家禽或涉足有售賣活家禽的街市都是人類感染禽流感的高危因素。

食用家禽和家禽製品安全嗎?

把家禽及蛋徹底煮熟,令其中心溫度最少達攝氏70度,可使流感病毒失去活性。故世界衞生組織指出,肉類(包括家禽和野禽)經適當處理和烹煮後可安全食用。處理活家禽、家禽製品和禽蛋後,切記用肥皂或清潔液徹底洗淨雙手,並且清洗乾淨所有用過的工作枱面、器皿和用具。

食物安全中心採取的行動

本港從內地輸入的鮮活、冰鮮和冷藏家禽全部來自內地當局監管的家禽農場。進口家禽必須附有內地主管當局簽發的衞生證明書,證明這些家禽沒有患上禽流感。

從二零一三年四月十一日起,除現有的H5禽流感測試外,中心亦開始在文錦渡邊境對進口家禽進行H7病毒測試。只有測試結果令人滿意的家禽,才會放行在批發市場售賣。雖然甲型H7N9禽流感病毒在家禽中的發病率低,但這些監察措施已足以檢測出患病家禽。

食物安全中心人員在文錦渡牲畜檢疫站抽取活雞血液樣本作禽流感測試
食物安全中心人員在文錦渡牲畜檢疫站抽取活雞血液樣本作禽流感測試

雖然本港沒有出現人類感染個案,市民仍不可掉以輕心,應時刻保持良好個人衞生。如欲了解更多資料,請瀏覽衞生防護中心網頁

注意要點:

  • 甲型H7N9禽流感病毒源自禽鳥,但人類的感染途徑仍在調查中。
  • 進食已徹底煮熟的家禽和家禽製品是安全的。
  • 處理活家禽、家禽製品和禽蛋後,要用肥皂或清潔液徹底洗淨雙手。

給消費者的建議

  1. 選購活雞時,避免接觸雞隻或雞糞。
  2. 處理活家禽、家禽製品或禽蛋後,要用肥皂或清潔液徹底洗淨雙手,並且清洗乾淨所有用過的工作枱面、器皿及設備。
  3. 家禽和禽蛋必須徹底煮熟才可食用,禽肉各部分溫度須達至攝氏70度。

給業界的建議

  1. 處所售賣的活家禽必須來自食物環境衞生署認可的批發市場或來源。
  2. 售賣活家禽的處所內所有牆壁、地面及禽籠須保持清潔,並須在每日收市後連同器皿和設備(包括去毛機)一併徹底清洗及消毒。
  3. 工作人員須穿上淺色保護衣物(包括圍裙及膠靴),並保持個人衞生,例如在屠宰及清洗家禽後,馬上用肥皂洗手。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:15-05-2013