Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (78th Issue, January 2013) – Food Safety Platform

Macronutrients in Infant Formula

Reported by Ms. Melissa LIU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

This article is the first of a series of four articles that focus on nutrients in formula products and foods for infants and young children.

Nutrition for Infants

Infants must obtain optimal nutrition from their diet for growth, tissue repair and maintenance of good health. Breastmilk is a natural source of nutrients and is the best food for infants to wholly fulfil their nutritional requirements before introducing complementary diet. However, when breastfeeding is not feasible, infants would need to rely on an imitated product, i.e. infant formula, as their nutrient source.

Energy in food provides fuel needed for daily activity, growth and development. It comes from carbohydrates, fat and protein, with carbohydrates being our primary source of energy. Getting sufficient carbohydrate intake enables normal and efficient use of dietary fat and protein in the body for other essential functions such as building new tissues.

Fat provides essential fatty acids for normal brain and eye development and absorption of the fat-soluble vitamins. Fat stored in the body also reduces body heat loss and protects body organs. Protein is required for maintaining and repairing body tissues as well as producing hormones, antibodies and enzymes.

Excessive nutrient intake may lead to health concerns. For example, taking too much protein may increase the burden to the kidney. Excessive energy intake may lead to obesity. Childhood obesity is a significant public health issue in Hong Kong. A study published last year by the Department of Health revealed that 12.7% and 2.7% of children aged 0-5 years were “having possible risk of overweight” and “overweight or obese” respectively.

Formula Feeding and Overweight

Energy and nutrient requirements of infants depends on many factors, including age, body size and growth rate. Breastfed infants are normally capable of regulating their food intake to match their energy needs. Mother’s body can also produce breastmilk with composition tailored to the infant’s energy and nutritional requirements at different stages of growth.

In contrast, infant formulae have standardised nutrient contents to cater for the needs of average infants as a whole and may provide excessive energy and nutrients, such as protein, to some infants depending on their stage of development. Besides, bottle feeding often encourages infants eat more than what they should have. Therefore, some studies have suggested that formula-fed infants and young children are more likely to be overweight. According to the above-mentioned study, over 90% of children aged 12-24 months kept drinking formula as their sole source of milk intake, and 77% of the children still used formula at 48 months. This has aroused local concern on over-dependence on formula use, which might occur as a result of parents’ misconception over the “superiority” of formula milk.

Benefits of Breastfeeding

The superiority of breastfeeding in ensuring physical and psychosocial health and wellbeing of mother and child is widely recognised. Apart from providing a tailored source of nutrients, breastmilk contains natural antibodies, living immune cells, enzymes, etc. which aid digestion and absorption of nutrients, and improve babies’ immunity. On the contrary, there is currently no sufficient clinical evidence showing that the health of formula-fed infants is comparable with that of breastfed infants. As such, the World Health Organization has recommended infants to be exclusively breastfed for the first six months of life, and thereafter receive complementary foods while breastfeeding continues for up to two years of age or beyond.

Protecting the Health of Formula-fed Infants

Codex has established standards on infant formula products to ensure they have appropriate composition. The Government is currently putting forward a legislative proposal to regulate the nutritional composition and labelling of formula products and foods for infants and young children below the age of 36 months, with reference to Codex standards and international practice. It is hoped that by enhancing the local legislative control on these products, we can better protect the health of infants and young children in Hong Kong.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-01-2013

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年一月第七十八期)-食物安全平台

嬰兒配方奶中的常量營養素

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任廖珮珊女士報告

由本期開始,我們將一連四期探討配方奶和嬰幼兒食品中的營養素。

嬰兒的營養需要

嬰兒必須從膳食中獲得充足的營養,才能生長、修復組織和保持身體健康。母乳是天然的營養來源,能全面滿足嬰兒在進食補充食物前的營養需要,是嬰兒的最佳食物。但是,如果餵哺母乳不可行,母乳的仿製品——嬰兒配方奶便是嬰兒賴以滿足營養需要的食品。

食物中的能量來自碳水化合物、脂肪和蛋白質,為嬰幼兒提供每天活動和生長發育的燃料。碳水化合物是能量的主要來源,當碳水化合物攝取充足時,膳食中的脂肪和蛋白質便得以在體內發揮其他重要功能,例如構造新組織。

脂肪提供腦部和眼睛正常發育所需的脂肪酸,並有助吸收脂溶性維他命。人體內儲存的脂肪可減少體熱流失和保護體內器官。蛋白質的功能則是修復身體組織,製造激素、抗體和酵素。

然而,營養攝入過量會影響健康。舉例來說,攝入過多蛋白質會增加腎臟的負荷。攝入過多能量會造成肥胖症。兒童肥胖症是本港的重要公共衞生議題之一。衞生署去年發表的研究報告顯示,在零至五歲的兒童中,有12.7%和2.7%分別屬於“可能有過重風險”和“過重或肥胖”。

餵哺配方奶與過重

嬰兒的能量和營養需要取決於很多因素,包括年齡、體型和生長速度等。以母乳餵哺的嬰兒一般能夠按自己的能量需要調整食量。媽媽的身體亦會因應寶寶不同時期的生長需要,製造出成分最合適的母乳,給予孩子量身定做的最佳營養。

相反,嬰兒配方奶的營養成分按一般嬰兒的需要為標準而劃一調配,對某些嬰兒而言,因應其個別發育情況,可能提供過多能量和營養素(例如蛋白質)。此外,以奶瓶餵哺的嬰兒容易吃得過量。因此有些研究指出,以配方奶餵食的嬰幼兒較易過重。上文提及的研究報告指出,12至24個月大的幼兒有超過90%仍然以配方奶為惟一的奶類食品,48個月大的兒童有77%仍然飲用配方奶。這些數據令人關注本港家長可能誤以為配方奶較為“優越”,以致過分倚賴用配方奶餵哺幼兒。

餵哺母乳的好處

母乳餵哺對於確保母嬰的生理和心理健康都有公認的優越性。母乳除了可滿足每個寶寶的獨特營養所需,還含有天然抗體、活免疫細胞、酵素等,幫助消化及吸收養分,增強寶寶的免疫力。相反,現時並無足夠的臨床證據,證實吃配方奶的嬰兒的健康可以比得上吃母乳的寶寶。有鑑於此,世界衞生組織建議,寶寶出生最初六個月應全吃母乳,其後才逐漸添加補充食物,並繼續餵哺母乳至兩歲或以上。

保障食用配方奶嬰兒的健康

食品法典委員會已建立一套嬰兒配方奶的標準,確保配方奶有恰當的成分組合。政府參照了食品法典委員會的標準及國際間的做法,現正推出一套 立法建議,規管擬供36個月以下嬰幼兒食用的配方奶產品和食品的營養成分組合和營養標籤,希望藉着立法加強監管這類產品,令本港嬰幼兒的健康能夠得到更好的保障。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-01-2013