Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (73rd Issue, August 2012) – Food Safety Platform

Aflatoxins in Food

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

This is the second article in a series of three on mould toxins in food. This article will focus on the most commonly encountered mould toxins in food – the aflatoxins.

What are Aflatoxins?

Aflatoxins are the secondary metabolites from a number of mould of the Aspergillus family, which include A. fl avus , A. parasiticus and A. nomius etc. The name “aflatoxin” itself was taken from “Aspergillus flavus toxin”, when the toxin was isolated during the early days of modern mycotoxin research in 1960s. Aflatoxins are heat-resistant and can withstand exposure to normal cooking temperatures.

There are a number of naturally-occurring aflatoxins, which include aflatoxin B1, aflatoxin B2, aflatoxin G1 and aflatoxin G2. Among them, aflatoxin B1 is the most common, the most toxic and the most potent in terms of causing liver cancer in human. Aflatoxins G1, M1, B2, G2 are in order of decreasing strength in terms of causing cell mutations. Aflatoxins M1 and M2 are mostly found in milk and milk products.

Where are Aflatoxins Found?

Aflatoxins occur mainly in the tropical regions of the world. The high humidity, high temperature of the environment, combined with less than ideal handling and storage of crops after harvest in developing countries, cause them to be more commonly found in a variety of crops like peanuts, maize, cereals, cottonseeds, tree nuts and some spices etc. On the other hand, when aflatoxins B1 and B2-contaminated crops are fed to cows, they are converted to the less potent aflatoxins M1 and M2 respectively and can be found mainly in milk, but also in the liver and kidneys.

Aflatoxins can exist in crops like maize and peanuts as a result of mould infestation (Photo by courtesy of International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center)
Aflatoxins can exist in crops like maize and peanuts as a result of mould infestation (Photo by courtesy of International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center )

Health Effect of Aflatoxins

Aflatoxins are best known for their potential in causing liver cancer. The International Agency for Research on Cancer has classified all naturally occurring aflatoxins to be carcinogenic and aflatoxin M1 to be possibly carcinogenic to humans. Some researchers suggest that the effect of aflatoxin B1 in causing cancer is stronger in people carrying hepatitis B virus or hepatitis C virus. Hepatitis B is a common disease in Hong Kong and some 8-10% of the adult population are carriers. Researches on the interaction between aflatoxins and hepatitis viruses are still ongoing.

Aflatoxins also cause cell mutations in liver. The effect is found to be strongest in aflatoxin B1 than in aflatoxins G1, G2 and B2. Other researches in animals suggest that they possibly affect the immune system and impair growth. Cases of acute aflatoxin poisoning are still known to happen sporadically in developing countries.

Reduction of Aflatoxins in Food

Since Aspergillus species are ubiquitous in nature, it is not possible to totally eliminate aflatoxins from food. However, there are methods that can help reduce the amount of aflatoxins in the food supply. Proper agricultural practices can reduce the chance of stressing the plants, which in turn lower the possibility of pre-harvest aflatoxin contamination. Efforts should be focused on keeping aflatoxin levels in food as low as reasonably possible and those exceed legal limit should not be used as food.

During harvesting, crops should best be harvested at maturity if the weather permits. The harvested crops should then be dried as quickly as possible and removal of damaged products also helps. The crops should then be stored at proper temperature and humidity to minimize mould growth. Food manufacturers should also ensure that the aflatoxin level in raw materials they received complies with the safety standards.

Consumers should store food under dry and cool condition and discard food with signs of mould infestation.

We shall talk about other types of mould toxins in food in the next issue.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-08-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年八月第七十三期)- 食物安全平台

食 物 中 的 黃 曲 霉 毒 素

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

我們一連三期介紹食物中的霉菌所產生的毒素,本文為該系列之二,主要探討食物中最常見的霉菌毒素 ― 黃曲霉毒素。

黃曲霉毒素是甚麼?

黃曲霉毒素是由黃曲霉菌屬(Aspergillus)的一些霉菌(包括黃曲霉、寄生曲霉及A.nomius等)產生的二次代謝物。科學家在60年代開始對霉菌毒素進行現代化研究時,發現一種由黃曲霉菌產生的毒素,遂命名為“黃曲霉毒素”。黃曲霉毒素耐熱,在一般的烹調溫度下不易被破壞。

黃曲霉毒素是一組天然存在的毒素,主要包括B1、B2、G1及G2四類。在各類黃曲霉毒素中,以黃曲霉毒素B1最常見,毒性最大,引致肝癌的能力最強。黃曲霉毒素G1、M1、B2和G2導致細胞產生突變的程度依序遞減。黃曲霉毒素M1和M2多在奶類和奶類產品中發現。

黃曲霉毒素藏在哪 ?

黃曲霉毒素多見於熱帶地區。濕度高、溫度高的環境,加上發展中國家的農作物在收成後沒有作適當的處理和貯存,往往令花生、玉米、穀物、棉籽、木本堅果、部分香料等農作物受到污染。另一方面,當乳牛吃了受黃曲霉毒素B1和B2污染的飼料後,毒素會分別轉化為毒性較小的黃曲霉毒素M1和M2,主要存在於乳汁中,部分積存在肝臟和腎臟中。

玉米和花生等農作物因受霉菌感染而帶有黃曲霉毒素( 照片由International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center提供)
玉米和花生等農作物因受霉菌感染而帶有黃曲霉毒素(照片由International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center 提供)

黃曲霉毒素對健康的影響

很多人都知道黃曲霉毒素會導致肝癌。國際癌症研究機構把所有天然存在的黃曲霉毒素列為令人類患癌的物質,而黃曲霉毒素M1則被列為或可能令人類患癌的物質。有些研究人員認為,黃曲霉毒素對帶有乙型或丙型肝炎病毒的人致癌作用比較明顯。乙型肝炎是本港的常見病,約有8-10%的成人是這種病毒的攜帶者。目前,研究人員仍在研究黃曲霉毒素與肝炎病毒的相互影響。

另外,黃曲霉毒素還會誘發肝細胞產生突變,在黃曲霉毒素B1、G1、G2和B2中,以黃曲霉毒素B1的誘發作用最強。一些動物實驗結果顯示,黃曲霉毒素很可能影響免疫系統和令發育遲緩。至今仍不時聽聞發展中國家發生黃曲霉毒素急性中毒事件。

減少食物中的黃曲霉毒素

黃曲霉菌屬的各種霉菌在大自然中無處不在,要完全消除食物中的黃曲霉毒素是不可能的。即使如此,還是有辦法減少糧食供應中的黃曲霉毒素分量。只要採用適當的農耕作業,便能減少植物因生長條件欠佳而在收成前受黃曲霉毒素污染的機會。各方應集中精力,使糧食中的黃曲霉毒素含量盡可能減到最低,那些含量超標的不應作為食物。

在收成時,如天氣許可的話,宜待農作物成熟才收割。收割好的農作物應盡快烘乾,剔除受損的農作物對防治黃曲霉毒素污染也有幫助。農作物收成後應貯存在溫度和濕度適中的地方,以抑制霉菌生長。食品生產商亦應確保收到的原材料中的黃曲霉毒素含量符合安全標準。

消費者應把食物存放在陰涼乾燥的地方,如發現食物有發霉的迹象,便應棄掉。

下一期我們會繼續談談其他種類的霉菌毒素。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-08-2012