Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (71st Issue, June 2012) – Incident in Focus

Understanding Pesticide Residues in Crops

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In April and May, a green group announced a series of reports alleging that multiple pesticide residues, including some that were prohibited in the Mainland, were detected in vegetables, loose tea leaves and tea bags collected in the Mainland and Hong Kong, and considered pesticide abuse was a serious problem. What are the public health implications if pesticide residues are found in crops? In this issue, let’s take a closer look into this subject.

Pesticide “RESIDUES” and Their Safety Assessment

To-date, the use of pesticides for effective pest management remains the prevalent practice of modern agriculture. The application of pesticides in a way strictly follows Good Agricultural Practice (GAP) can ensure the levels of pesticide residues in food as low as practicable. In general, Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) stipulated in law are the maximum concentrations of pesticide residues to be legally permitted in or on food and agricultural commodities. They are set for individual pesticide-food pairs, established by field trials using GAP. Internationally, the Codex Committee on Pesticide Residues, under the Codex Alimentarius Commission, is charged to set standards including MRLs for pesticides in foods based on the recommendation of the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) / World Health Organization (WHO) Meeting on Pesticide Residues.

Proper use of pesticides
Proper use of pesticides in accordance with Good Agricultural Practice (GAP) can reduce the levels of pesticide residues in food to minimal levels.

Regarding the safety aspect of pesticides, we will make reference to the safety reference values established based on scientific studies. The safety reference values are set based primarily on the toxic nature of the pesticide chemicals in animal models. The safety reference value of a pesticide is the amount of pesticide intake (per body weight) below which adverse health effects are unlikely to occur. The safety reference values usually have large safety margins and they also include benchmarks for prolonged exposure. For example, Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) is a chronic safety reference value. The life-long consumption of food with pesticide residue below its ADI would be unlikely to cause adverse health effects. The WHO has set safety reference values for pesticides commonly used worldwide.

Pesticide residue level in a food item found exceeding its corresponding MRL does not automatically mean that the respective safety reference value would be exceeded. The dietary health risk of a pesticide residue is assessed by comparing the overall intake of the residue in food to the respective safety reference value. MRLs are very conservative estimates of pesticide residue levels in food based on GAP and the actual residual levels in food are often substantially lower than the MRLs. Occasional exposure to pesticide residue levels above their MRLs will not cause immediate health risk under normal situations. Simply speaking, food detected with pesticide residues below MRLs is safe for consumption.

Multiple Pesticide Residues
The presence of multiple pesticide residues in food may arise from many causes. For example, alternating use of pesticides of different chemical groups is often recommended to prevent the build-up of pesticide resistance. Different pesticides may also be applied at different growing stages of a crop for controlling different target pests. Both are normal agricultural practices likely to result in the detection of multiple pesticide residues in the final produce. From the risk assessment perspective, multiple pesticide residues should not raise health concern if their respective exposures are below their respective safety reference values.

As for the claim on "non-permitted pesticides", it should be noted that some pesticides are prohibited from use in certain crops but not in all kinds of crops, i.e. the prohibition applies to specific “pesticide-food” pairs. The pesticide residues detected in the samples concerned may not be a result of blatant violation of prohibition. Further investigation would be required to reveal the potential sources of contamination.

Follow-up Actions
With regards to the reports of the green group, the CFS had evaluated their testing results and took samples of vegetables from relevant vendors for testing of pesticide residues. All results were satisfactory. The CFS will liaise with the Mainland authorities for follow-up actions.

The CFS has in place vigorous surveillance programmes for food commodities to safeguard public health. In recent years, the results of the CFS’s pesticide residues surveillance programme have been highly satisfactory. From January 2009 to March 2012, more than 57 000 samples were tested and only four unsatisfactory results were recorded. Nevertheless, there is absolutely no room for complacency. The Government has further stepped up its efforts to regulate pesticide residues in food. The Legislative Council has recently passed a pesticide residue in food regulation which provides comprehensive control of pesticide residues in food in Hong Kong. The regulation will come into operation on 1 August 2014 after a grace period of some two years.

Key Points to Note:

  1. The international communities allow the presence of pesticide residues in food at levels that are unlikely to pose risks to human health.
  2. The application of pesticides in a way strictly follows GAP can reduce the levels of pesticide residues in food to minimal levels.
  3. The Government introduced a regulation specifying MRLs for effective control of pesticide residues in food to further enhance the protection of public health.

    Advice to Trade

    • Observe GAP to ensure that only the minimum amount of pesticide is applied to food for achieving pest control need.

    Advice to Consumers

    • Take a balanced diet and eat a variety of vegetables and fruits, and drink a variety of tea so as to avoid excessive exposure to pesticide residues from a small range of food items.
    • Some pesticide residues can be removed substantially by washing and the risk can be reduced by:
      • Wash vegetables well in clean running water, soak in water for one hour and then rinse before further preparation.
      • Rinse loose tea leaves or tea bags with water before use.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 21-06-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年六月第七十一期)- 焦點個案

農 作 物 含 除 害 劑 殘 餘 之 解 讀

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主莊梓傑博士報告

 

一綠色團體在四月及五月期間,發表連串報告,指在內地和香港抽取的蔬菜、茶葉和茶包等檢出多種除害劑(又稱農藥)殘餘,有些更是內地禁用的除害劑,並認為濫用除害劑問題嚴重。農作物含除害劑殘餘,對公眾健康有什麼影響呢?這期我們會深入探討這個問題。

除害劑“殘餘”及其安全評估

時至今日,現代農業仍以用除害劑防治害蟲為主流做法。農民如嚴格遵從優良務農規範的規定,正確施用除害劑,便可確保食物中的除害劑殘餘水平降至最低。一般來說,法規所定的「最高殘餘限量」是指食品和農產品中法定允許的最高除害劑殘餘濃度,是根據優良務農規範所得的田間試驗數據為不同“除害劑-食物”組合制定的限量標準。國際方面,食品法典委員會轄下的農藥殘留法典委員會(CCPR)”負責根據聯合國糧食及農業組織(糧農組織)/世界衞生組織(世衞)農藥殘留聯合會議的建議,釐定食物中除害劑的標準,其中包括最高殘餘限量。

正確使用除害劑
根據優良務農規範正確使用除害劑,可將食物中所含除害劑殘餘減到最低。

除害劑殘餘是否安全,我們會參考基於科學研究而制定的安全參考值。安全參考值主要是根據除害劑化學品在動物實驗中的毒性而制定。一種除害劑的安全參考值是指以體重計,攝入該除害劑而不致對健康帶來不良影響的分量。安全參考值一般會有較大的安全容差,亦包含長期攝取量的基準。例如每日可攝取量就是用來評估慢性影響的安全參考值。如果人在一生中每日從膳食中攝取的除害劑殘餘分量低於該除害劑的每日可攝取量,就不會對健康造成影響。世衞已就世界各地常用的除害劑訂立了安全參考值。

食物中檢出的除害劑殘餘分量超逾其相應的最高殘餘限量,並不一定代表會超出有關的安全參考值。要評估從膳食中攝入某種除害劑殘餘的健康風險,便須把從食物裡攝入該種除害劑的整體攝取量與其有關的安全參考值對照。事實上,根據田間試驗數據所制定的最高殘餘限量通常會訂在一個非常安全的水平,食物中除害劑殘餘的實際分量通常遠低於其最高殘餘限量。在一般情況下,即使偶爾吃下的食物含有超出最高殘餘限量的除害劑殘餘,也不會有即時的健康風險。總而言之,食物的除害劑殘餘量只要低於最高殘餘限量就是安全的,可以放心食用。

多種除害劑殘餘

食物含多種除害劑殘餘的原因有很多。舉例來說,當局經常鼓勵農民交替使用不同化學類別的除害劑,用以防止害蟲產生抗藥性。在農作物不同的生長階段,農民也會針對不同的蟲害使用不同的除害劑。上述兩者都是農業生產過程中的正常作業,但所收穫的農產品均可能會檢出多種除害劑殘餘。從風險評估的角度來看,假如多種除害劑裡面每種除害劑的攝取量均低於其安全參考值,對健康是沒有影響的。

至於“施用禁用除害劑”一說,我們必須注意,有些除害劑雖然被禁止用於某些農作物,但用於其他農作物是允許的。換言之,禁用規定只適用於特定的“除害劑-食物”組合。有關樣本檢出除害劑殘餘,未必就是有人公然違反禁令的結果。要找出造成污染的源頭,仍需進一步調查。

跟進行動

有關本文開始時所提到的報告,中心已對其檢測結果進行評估,並從有關商戶抽取了蔬菜樣本化驗除害劑殘餘,結果全部合格。中心會繼續向內地當局了解和跟進。

食物安全中心設有食物監察計劃,保障市民健康。近年,除害劑殘餘監察計劃的結果一直非常理想。由二零零九年一月至二零一二年三月,中心檢測了超過57 000個樣本,只有四個不合格。然而,我們絕不會因此而鬆懈。政府已加強對食物內除害劑殘餘的規管。立法會剛通過了《食物內除害劑殘餘規例》(《規例》),本港食物中的除害劑殘餘含量將全面受到規管。《規例》將於兩年多寬限期後,即二零一四年八月一日起實施。

注意要點:

  1. 國際上容許食物中含有分量不會危害健康的除害劑殘餘。
  2. 嚴格遵從優良務農規範的規定施用除害劑,可將食物中的除害劑殘餘減到最低。
  3. 為加強保障公眾健康,政府已制定規例,訂明最高殘餘限量,更有效地管制食物內的除害劑殘餘。

給業界的建議

  • 遵從優良務農規範的規定施用除害劑,在防治害蟲之餘,確保把食物中的除害劑殘餘水平盡量降至最低。

給消費者的建議

  • 注意均衡飲食,進食各種蔬果,喝多種茶,以免因只進食某幾類食物而攝入過量除害劑殘餘。
  • 若干除害劑殘餘可以用沖洗的方法大量去除,以下方法可以減低風險:
    • 在流動的清水下把蔬菜沖洗,然後把蔬菜泡在清水中一小時,再沖洗一遍,才作進一步烹調工序。
    • 在沖飲前,可先用水沖洗茶葉或茶包。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-06-2012