Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (35th Issue, June 2009) – Incident in Focus

Aluminium in Food

Reported by Ms. Waiky WONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

          Last month, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released the Risk Assessment Study on Aluminium in Food, which revealed that high levels of aluminium were commonly found in a range of food products, probably a result of using aluminium-containing food additives. Items containing high aluminium levels included jellyfish, steamed bread/bun/cake, and some bakery products such as muffins, pancake and waffle.

Examples of items that were found with high levels of aluminium

          The study was conducted in the light of the latest evaluation by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/ World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) that the safe intake level (i.e. provisional tolerable weekly intake (PTWI)) was lowered by seven folds to 1 mg/kg body weight (bw) for aluminium. Recent study revealed that dietary exposure of some Europeans may exceed this new PTWI. Food authorities in Canada, Japan and Australia are also examining their local situation.

Aluminium-containing Food Additives

          Aluminium-containing food additives have been used in food processing with a variety of functions for over a century and are permitted to be used in many countries such as the United States, the European Union, Australia, Japan and Mainland China. They are commonly used as raising agent in steamed cake/bread and bakery products, anticaking agent in powder mix, colouring matter in candy-coated confectionery, and in the East, as firming agent in jellyfish. Food with aluminium-containing food additives is regarded as the main dietary source of aluminium of the general population.

          Moreover, aluminium levels may vary widely among bakery products, depending on whether aluminium-containing food additives are used in such products and their amounts added. Bakery products with low to high levels of aluminium as revealed by the study are grouped in the table below.

Aluminium contents among various bakery products

Levels of aluminium (mg/kg)

Generally low

(mean 10)

Generally medium

(10 < mean 100)

Generally high

(mean > 100)

Baked barbecue pork puff

Bun or roll

Egg tart

Wafers

Wheat bread

White bread

Cakes

Chinese walnut cookies or similar products

Cookies and biscuits

Doughnut

Fruit tart

Coconut tart

Muffin

Pancake / Waffle

Remarks: Levels of aluminium are drawn from a limited number of samples tested in the study.

Health Effects of Aluminium

          No acute toxicity by the oral exposure to aluminium has been reported in general population and aluminium is not regarded as a human carcinogen. Moreover, the dietary exposure to aluminium is not considered to pose a risk for developing Alzheimer's disease. However, aluminium compounds have demonstrated reproductive and developmental toxicity in experimental animals.

Local Dietary Exposure to Aluminium

          Average dietary exposure to aluminium of the local population revealed by our study was 0.6 mg/kg bw/week (i.e. 60% of the PTWI). Thus, it does not warrant changes in usual dietary advice for average individuals, but people, particularly children, who regularly consume food using aluminium-containing food additives such as steamed bread/bun/cake, some bakery products and jellyfish, may be of higher risk. Nevertheless, occasional exposure above the PTWI would not have health consequences provided that the average intake does not continuously exceed the PTWI.

      Key Points to Note

  • Food items, such as jellyfish, steamed cakes and muffins, may contain high levels of aluminium.
  • Efforts should be made to reduce the dietary intake of aluminium in general population.
  • A balanced diet should be maintained to avoid excessive exposure to aluminium from a small range of food items.

Collaboration with Trade to Reduce Aluminium Exposure for the Population

          The CFS has worked closely with the trade to devise the Guidelines on the Use of Aluminium-containing Food Additives and urges the trade to adopt measures stipulated in the Guidelines to reduce the aluminium content in food. On the other hand, the Codex Alimentarius Commission is reviewing the standards of aluminium containing food additives with a view of lowering the aluminium exposure in general population. The CFS will continue to monitor the situation and the international development.

Advice to Trade

  • Reduce the use of aluminium-containing food additives in preparing food or replace them with other alternatives as far as possible.
  • Develop alternative techniques to reduce the use of aluminium containing food additives during food processing.
  • Provide accurate information on food labels including specific food additives used.

Advice to Public

  • Maintain a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to aluminium from a small range of food items, particularly jellyfish, steamed cakes and muffins.
  • Make informed food choices by making reference to the information on the ingredient list, including the food additives used and their International Numbering System for Food Additives (INS) number .
Examples of aluminium-containing food additives

INS Number

Food Additive

173

Aluminium

520

Aluminium sulphate

521

Aluminium sodium sulphate

522

Aluminium potassium sulphate

523

Aluminium ammonium sulphate

541

Sodium aluminium phosphate

541(i)

Sodium aluminium phosphate (acidic)

541(ii)

Sodium aluminium phosphate (basic)

554

Sodium aluminosilicate

555

Potassium aluminium silicate

556

Calcium aluminium silicate

559

Aluminium silicate

1452

Starch aluminium octenyl succinate


Food label showing a list of ingredients with aluminium-containing food additives
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date :18-06-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年六月第三十五期)-焦點個案

食物中的鋁

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任王慧琼女士報告

    食物安全中心在上個月公布食物中鋁的含量風險評估研究,發現有一些食物由於可能使用了含鋁食物添加劑,故通常含有較高水平的鋁。鋁含量偏高的食物包括海蜇、蒸包/蒸糕,以及鬆餅、班戟及窩夫等部分烘焙食品。

研究發現的鋁含量偏高的食物例子

    鑑於聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食品添加劑專家委員會(專家委員會)的最新評估把鋁的安全攝入量(即暫定每週可容忍攝入量)降低七倍,至每公斤體重1毫克的水平,中心為此進行這項研究。此外,近期有研究顯示,部分歐洲人從食物攝入鋁的分量可能超出新訂的每週可容忍攝入量。加拿大、日本和澳洲的食物安全當局亦正研究當地的情況。

鋁食物添加劑

    過去百多年,含鋁食物添加劑一直用於食物加工過程中,並具有多種作用。現時,美國、歐洲聯盟、澳洲、日本和中國內地等不少國家均准許使用這類添加劑。含鋁食物添加劑通常在蒸糕/蒸包和烘焙食品中用作膨脹劑,在食物混合配料粉中用作抗結劑,在有糖衣的甜點中用作染色料,並在東方地區海蜇製造過程中用作固化劑。加入含鋁食物添加劑的食物是一般人從食物攝入鋁的主要來源。

    此外,烘焙食品中的鋁含量差異很大,視乎這些食品是否使用了含鋁食物添加劑和所加入的分量。下表臚列出研究發現的鋁含量偏低、一般及偏高的烘焙食品。

各類烘焙食品的鋁含量

每公斤食物的鋁含量(毫克)

通常偏低
(
平均含量≦10)

通常一般
(10<
平均含量≦100)

通常偏高
(
平均含量>100)

叉燒酥

麪包

蛋撻

威化餅

麥方包

白方包

蛋糕

合桃酥或同類食品

曲奇餅和餅乾

甜圈

果撻

椰撻

鬆餅

班 戟/窩夫

備註:上述鋁含量數字來自研究所測試的有限樣本數目。

鋁對健康的影響

    現時並無報告顯示一般市民經口服途徑攝入鋁會引致急性中毒。鋁也不會令人類患癌。此外,從食物攝入鋁亦不會有患上老人癡呆症的風險。 不過,鋁化合物卻證實會對實驗動物產生生殖和發育毒性。

本港市民從食物攝入鋁的情況

    中心的研究顯示,市民每週從食物攝入鋁的平均分量為每公斤體重0.6毫克 (即暫定每週可容忍攝入量的60%),因此無須改變對一般市民所作的一貫飲食建議。不過,對於經常食用加入含鋁食物添加劑的食物(例如蒸包/蒸糕、某些烘焙食品和海蜇等)的市民,尤其是兒童,他們可能會較易受鋁影響。不過,只要平均攝入量沒有持續超出暫定每週可容忍攝入量,從食物攝入鋁的分量偶爾高於暫定每週可容忍攝入量不會影響健康。

  注意要點

  • 海蜇、蒸糕和鬆餅等食品可能含有高水平的鋁。
  • 各界應致力減低市民攝入鋁的機會。
  • 應保持均衡飲食,以免因偏食某幾類食物而攝入過量鋁。

與業界合力減少市民攝入鋁的機會

    中心與業界保持緊密合作,一同制定含鋁食物添加劑使用指引,並呼籲業界採用指引所載的各項措施,以減少食物中的鋁含量。另一方面,食品法典委員會現正檢討有關含鋁食物添加劑的標準,以期減少一般人攝入鋁的分量。中心會繼續監察有關情況和國際發展。

給業界的建議

  • 在製造食物時盡可能減少使用含鋁食物添加劑或改用其他替代品。
  • 研究新的食品加工技術以減低食品中的鋁含量。
  • 在食物標籤上提供正確無誤的資料,包括個別食物添加劑的資料。

給市民的建議

含鋁食物添加劑例子

國際編碼系統編號

食物添加劑

173

520

硫酸鋁

521

硫酸鋁鈉

522

硫酸鋁鉀

523

硫酸鋁銨

541

磷酸鋁鈉

541(i)

酸性的磷酸鋁鈉

541(ii)

鹼性的磷酸鋁鈉

554

硅酸鋁鈉

555

硅酸鋁鉀

556

硅酸鋁鈣

559

硅酸鋁

1452

辛烯基琥珀酸鋁澱粉


成分表中列出含鋁食物添加劑的食物標籤
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-06-2009