Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (28th Issue, November 2008) – Incident in Focus

Enterobacter sakazakii in Powdered Infant Formula

Reported by Dr. Ken Chong, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

       In September 2008, the media reported that apart from melamine, Enterobacter sakazakii (also called Cronobacter species) was detected in powdered infant formula (PIF) from the Sanlu brand. In this article, we shall focus on this bacterium and relevant Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) / World Health Organization (WHO) advice on safe preparation and handling of PIF.

Enterobacter sakazakii and Infection in Infant

      Enterobacter sakazakii is a gram-negative, non-sporeforming bacterium with optimum growing temperatures ranging from 37℃ to 43℃. It is a pathogen that generally causes disease only in people with weakened immune systems. There is emerging public health concern of this bacterium because it can cause rare but fatal infections in infants (i.e. children < one year old).

       The bacterium can cause invasive infections (e.g. blood or brain infections) in infants. In particular, neonates ( ≤ 28 days old), infants less than two months of age, pre-term infants, low-birth-weight infants (< 2.5 kg) and infants with weakened immunity are at greatest risk. One of the possible factors for this may be due to the stomach of newborns, especially of premature babies, is less acidic than that of adults, which may contribute to the survival of E nterobacter sakazakii in infants.

The Germ in the Powdered Infant Formula

       Despite the source of Enterobacter sakazakii is not known in many cases of infant infection, increasing number of reports have suggested PIF as the vehicle for Enterobacter sakazakii, which can also be found in the manufacturing environment. Even low level of the bacterium in PIF can lead to infection.

       Although the bacterium does not grow in dry PIF, it can survive for long periods. Reconstituted PIF can provide favourable environment for growth of the bacterium when it is held at room temperature (i.e. above 4℃), particularly for extended period.

FAO/WHO Assessments on Enterobacter sakazakii

       The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Meeting on Microbiological Risk Assessment (JEMRA) has evaluated the risk-reduction strategies for Enterobacter sakazakii in PIF. As contamination can occur at manufacturing and preparation stages, appropriate control measures should be applied during the manufacturing process as well as during and after reconstitution.

       JEMRA concluded that controlling intrinsic contamination (i.e. contamination in PIF before opening) would help to decrease the risk for the bacterium, which relies on effective implementation of preventive measures by manufacturers. These include strengthening measures that further minimize entry of microorganisms and avoid their multiplication, such as exclusion of water from the processing environment to the extent possible and feasible. In addition, it is also required to implement monitoring and environmental management programmes, which cover all relevant elements including the processing environment, product contact surfaces and finished product.

       On the other hand, JEMRA evaluated different scenarios for preparation and handling of PIF and recommended several practices that can help reduce the risk. Reconstitution of PIF with water that is no less than 70℃ can significantly inactivate Enterobacter sakazakii. To limit bacterial growth, the time from preparation to consumption should be minimised, i.e. consume the feeds within two hours after preparation; feeds prepared in advance are required to cool immediately and stored at or below 4℃ as well as re-warmed for no longer than 15 minutes for consumption within 24 hours of preparation; and for making a batch in larger container (no larger than 1 litre) in care settings, formula should be cooled in small containers where possible, as larger container may result in slower cooling rate.

       PIF is not a sterile product and may be contaminated with pathogens that can cause serious illness. For high-risk infants who are not breastfed, caregivers are encouraged to use commercially sterile liquid formula, whenever possible and feasible.


Key Points to Note:

  1. PIF is not a sterile product and may be contaminated with pathogens that can cause serious illness.
  2. Neonates and infants less than two months of age, in particular pre-term infants, low-birth-weight infants and infants with weakened immunity, are at greatest risk for Enterobacter sakazakii infections.
  3. Microbiological hazards are controlled by appropriate risk reduction measures applied by both manufacturers of PIF and caregivers.

Advice to Caregivers

  • Reconstitute PIF with water that is no less than 70℃ (water left for no more than 30 minutes after boiling) and minimise the time from preparation to consumption.
  • Feeds prepared in advance should be cooled immediately after preparation and stored in a refrigerator. Reconstituted feed should be re-warmed immediately before feeding and used within 24 hours of preparation.
  • Re-warm reconstituted feed for no more than 15 minutes by placing in a container of warm water with occasional shake or swirl; the level of the water should be below the top of the bottle.
  • Wherever possible, commercially sterile ready-to-feed liquid formula should be used for infants at greater risk.

 Advice to Manufacturers

  • Implement preventive measures (such as Good Manufacturing Practice / Good Hygiene Practice and Hazard Analysis & Critical Control Point) as well as monitoring and environmental management programmes.
  • Communicate the risk reduction measures that the caregiver should follow for the safe preparation, handling and use of powdered formula on product label.

Further Information

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :21-11-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零八年十一月第二十八期)-焦點個案

嬰兒配方奶粉中的阪崎氏腸桿菌

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告
 

    今年九月,傳媒報道,三鹿牌的嬰兒配方奶粉除了被驗出含有三聚氰胺之外,還驗出阪崎氏腸桿菌(又稱為Cronobacter屬)。本文將會集中討論這種細菌,並詳細介紹聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織(糧農組織/世衞)有關安全配製和處理嬰兒配方奶粉(奶粉)的建議。

阪崎氏腸桿菌與嬰兒感染個案

    阪崎氏腸桿菌是革蘭氏陰性無芽孢桿菌,其最佳生長溫度為攝氏37度至43度。這種致病菌通常只會令免疫力較弱的人患病。由於阪崎氏腸桿菌可令嬰兒(即不足一歲的兒童)感染罕見但致命的疾病,因此公眾日益關注其造成的健康問題。

    阪崎氏腸桿菌可對嬰兒造成入侵性感染(例如血液或腦部感染),而早產、新生(出生不足28天)、未滿兩個月、出生體重不足(少於2.5公斤)或免疫力較弱的嬰兒的風險最高。原因之一可能是新生嬰兒(尤其早產嬰兒)的胃部酸性較成人為低,以致阪崎氏腸桿菌可在嬰兒體內生存。

奶粉中的阪崎氏腸桿菌

    雖然許多個案中都無法知道嬰兒從何感染阪崎氏腸桿菌,但愈來愈多報告指奶粉是阪崎氏腸桿菌的傳播媒介,而此菌亦可在奶粉的生產環境中找到。即使奶粉只含有小量阪崎氏腸桿菌,亦可令嬰兒出現感染。

    雖然阪崎氏腸桿菌不會在乾燥的奶粉內繁殖,但卻可長時間生存。經沖調的奶如放置於室溫(即攝氏4度以上),尤其是經過一段長時間,可為阪崎氏腸桿菌提供有利的繁殖環境。

    糧農組織/世衞微生物風險評估聯席會議(聯席會議)曾評估有關減少奶粉中的阪崎氏腸桿菌的風險策略。由於奶粉可在生產或配製過程中受阪崎氏腸桿菌污染,故應在生產過程和沖調過程中或之後採取適當的控制措施。

    聯席會議最終認為,控制內部污染(即奶粉在開封前已受污染)可降低阪崎氏腸桿菌的風險,而這有賴生產商有效推行預防措施,包括加強各項措施進一步減低微生物進入奶粉的機會和避免它們在奶粉中大量繁殖,例如在加工環境中盡量減少水分存在。此外,生產商應就生產過程中涉及的一切事宜,包括加工環境、與產品有接觸的表面和最終的產品,推行監控及環境管理計劃。

    另一方面,聯席會議曾就奶粉的不同配製和處理情況作出評估,並提出一些可減低風險的建議方法。以不低於攝氏70度的熱水沖調奶粉能有效減弱阪崎氏腸桿菌。為限制阪崎氏腸桿菌在奶中繁殖,應盡量縮短奶的配製與飲用時間,即應在配製後兩小時內飲用;預先配製的奶應立即冷卻和存放在攝氏4度或以下,並應重新加熱不超過15分鐘和在配製後24小時內飲用;至於護理機構的人員以較大容器(體積不應大於1公升)分批大量配製奶粉時,如情況許可,應放在較小容器內冷卻,因為容器愈大,冷卻速度愈慢。

    奶粉並不是無菌的產品,可能含有可引發嚴重疾病的致病菌。高風險嬰兒如未有以母乳餵哺,照顧者宜盡量選用經商業無菌處理的液態嬰兒配方。

注意事項:

  1. 奶粉並不是無菌的產品,可能含有可引發嚴重疾病的致病菌。
  2. 新生和未滿兩個月的嬰兒,尤其是早產、出生體重不足或免疫力較弱的嬰兒感染阪崎氏腸桿菌的風險最高。
  3. 只要奶粉生產商和照顧者一同採取適當的減少風險措施,便可控制微生物的危害。

 

給照顧者的建議

  • 以不低於攝氏70度的熱水(煮沸後放置時間不要超過30分鐘)來沖調奶粉,並盡量縮短配製與飲用時間。
  • 預先配製的奶在配製後應立即冷卻和貯存在雪櫃內。沖調好的奶應在即將餵食前才重新加熱,並在配製後24小時內飲用。
  • 把沖調好的奶放在盛載了溫水(水位應低於奶瓶的上端)的容器內重新加熱不超過15分鐘,其間須間中搖晃或轉動奶瓶。
  • 如情況許可,高風險嬰兒應飲用經商業無菌處理可即時飲用的液態嬰兒配方。

給生產商的建議

  • 推行預防措施(例如優良製造規範/良好衞生守則及“食物安全重點控制”系統)和監控及環境管理計劃。
  • 在產品標籤上詳列照顧者應依從的減少風險措施,以便他們安全配製、處理和使用奶粉。

更多資料

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-11-2008