Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Enterobacter sakazakii in Powdered Infant Formula

Introduction

1. Occurrence of Enterobacter sakazakii (also called Cronobacter species) infection, rare but potentially life-threatening, among infants (0-12 months old) has aroused concerns in many countries. More and more reports now suggested powdered infant formula is a vehicle for the infection.

E. sakazakii

2. E. sakazakii is a pathogen of emerging public health concern, which generally causes disease only in peoples with weakened immune systems. It is a gram-negative, non-spore-forming rod bacterium with optimum growing temperatures ranging from 37 oC to 43 oC.

3. E. sakazakii can cause invasive infection in all age groups, however, neonates ( ≤ 28 days old) and infants less than 2 months of age, in particular pre-term infants, low-birth-weight infants (< 2.5 kg) and immunocompromised infants, are at greatest risk.

4. As the stomach of newborns, especially of premature babies, is less acidic than that of adults, this may be a possible important factor contributing to the survival of an infection with E. sakazakii in infants.

5. E. sakazakii has been associated with sporadic cases or small outbreaks of blood stream infection and meningitis. Although any infant could develop either disease at any age, E. sakazakii blood stream infection tends to develop in premature infants outside of the neonatal period while E. sakazakii meningitis tends to develop in term infants during the neonatal period. This difference might be related to differences in timing of E. sakazakii exposure rather than susceptibility of the infants.

Occurrence of E. sakazakii

6. Little is known about the ecology of E. sakazakii. However, E. sakazakii is considered to be an environmental organism and is likely to be present in both manufacturing facilities and domestic situations.

7. Although powdered infant formula is not a sterile product, risk of infection can be greatly reduced by correctly preparing and storing it.

Advice to the public

8. The WHO recommends that infants should be exclusively breastfed for the first six months of life to achieve optimal growth, development and health. For mothers who are not breastfed for any reason, caregivers, both at home and in care settings, should always be alerted thatpowdered infant formula is not a sterile product and can be contaminated with pathogens that can cause serious illness. Cleaning and sterilisation of feeding and preparation equipment is an essential prerequisite to the safe preparation of powdered infant formula.

9. According to the Safe preparation, storage and handling of powdered infant formula: guidelines issued by the FAO/WHO, powdered infant formula should be prepared with water that is no cooler than 70 oC in order to kill E. sakazakii (in practice, this means using boiling water that has been left to cool for no more than 30 minutes). Reconstituted powdered infant formula should be then cooled to feeding temperature and consumed immediately. Reconstituted powdered infant formula that has not been consumed within 2 hours should be discarded.

10. Reconstituted milk not for immediate consumption should be cooled immediately and stored under refrigeration at 4 oC or below for up to 24 hours; it should be re-warmed immediately before feeding and for no more than 15 minutes. Re-warmed feed that has not been consumed within two hours should be discarded. However, it is recommended to prepare formula fresh for each feed and avoid storage of reconstituted formula. Feeds that are prepared with water cooler than 70 oC should not be stored for later use.

11. Refrigerated bottle feeds can be re-warmed by placing in a container of warm water with occasional shake or swirl in order to heat evenly; the level of the water should be below the top of the feeding bottle. Never use a microwave oven to prepare or warm-up feeds for infants. It is because microwave ovens heat unevenly and may cause ‘hot spots’ in the feed, which may burn the oral mucosa of the infants.

12. For high-risk infants who are not breastfed, caregivers are encouraged to use whenever possible and feasible, commercially sterile liquid formula.

FAO/WHO material:

How to Prepare Powdered Infant Formula in Care Settings

How to Prepare Formula for Bottle-Feeding at Home

How to Prepare Formula for Cup-Feeding at Home

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
October 2008
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 07-11-2008

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

嬰 兒 配 方 奶 粉 中 的 阪 崎 氏 腸 桿 菌

引言

1. 嬰兒(0至12個月)受阪崎氏腸桿菌感染的個案罕有發生,但因可危害嬰兒的性命而引起多個國家關注。越來越多的報告指出,嬰兒配方奶粉是有關感染個案的傳播媒介。

阪崎氏腸桿菌

2. 阪崎氏腸桿菌這病原體一般只感染免疫系統較弱的人士,它對公眾健康的影響日漸令人關注。阪崎氏腸桿菌是一種屬革蘭氏陰性、不會形成孢子而呈棒狀的細菌,最適宜在攝氏 37度至43度之間生長。

3. 阪崎氏腸桿菌可令各年齡組別的人受入侵性感染,但新生兒(出生28天或以下)和不足2個月的嬰兒,尤其是早產、體重不足2.5公斤和免疫力較弱的嬰兒的風險最高。

4. 新生兒(尤其是早產嬰兒)的胃的酸性較成年人為低,這可能是阪崎氏腸桿菌可在嬰兒體內生存的一個主要因素。

5. 感染阪崎氏腸桿菌而引致的菌血症或腦膜炎偶有發生,亦曾小規模爆發。雖然嬰兒可在任何年齡出現有關疾病,早產嬰兒較多在新生兒期後出現菌血症,足月嬰兒則較多在新生兒期出現腦膜炎。上述的不同情況,可能與嬰兒在不同時間感染到阪崎氏腸桿菌而非與嬰兒易受感染的因素有關。

阪崎氏腸桿菌的普遍性

6. 現時對於阪崎氏腸桿菌的生態所知不多。阪崎氏腸桿菌是存在於環境中的一種生物,常見於生產嬰兒配方奶粉的設施和家居環境中。

7. 嬰兒配方奶粉雖然並非無菌產品,但如能正確地沖調和貯存嬰兒配方奶粉,可大大減低受阪崎氏腸桿菌感染的風險。

給市民的建議

8. 世界衞生組織建議,嬰兒在出生後首6個月,應只以母乳餵哺,這對嬰兒的成長、發展和健康都是最理想的。如母親因為任何原因而不能以母乳餵哺,在家中或在護理機構照顧嬰兒的人士都必須留意,嬰兒配方奶粉並非無菌產品,可能受可導致嚴重疾病的病原體污染。如欲安全沖調嬰兒配方奶粉,首先必須把餵哺和沖調嬰兒配方奶粉的器具加以清洗和消毒。

9. 根據聯合國糧食及農業組織與世界衞生組織合編的《安全製備、貯存和操作嬰兒配方奶粉指導原則》,應使用溫度不低於攝氏70度的水來沖調嬰兒配方奶粉,以殺死奶粉中的阪崎氏腸桿菌(即可使用待涼不超過30分鐘的沸水)。沖調好的奶應冷卻至可餵哺的溫度,然後立即飲用。沖調好的奶若在沖調後兩小時內仍未被飲用就應該倒掉。

10. 沖調好的奶若非即時飲用,應立即冷卻,並貯存在攝氏4度或以下的雪櫃內,但貯存時間不宜超過24小時;要在餵哺前才可重新加熱沖調好的奶,加熱時間也不應超過15分鐘。加熱好的奶若在沖調後兩小時內仍未被飲用就應該倒掉。不過,建議在每次餵哺前才沖調新鮮的奶,避免貯存沖調好的奶。不應貯存使用不足攝氏70度的水沖調的奶,以供備用。

11. 低溫保存的奶瓶可以放在盛有溫水的容器中加熱,要確保水的高度不要超過瓶頂,偶爾搖晃或轉動一下奶瓶,以確保加熱均勻 。切勿使用微波爐配製或加熱嬰兒的奶,因為微波爐的熱力不均勻,可能產生“熱點”,燙傷嬰兒口腔。

12. 高風險嬰兒若非以母乳餵哺,父母或照顧嬰兒的人士應盡可能採用經商業無菌處理的液態配方。

聯合國糧食及農業組織與世界衞生組織的資料:

護理機構如何沖調嬰兒配方乳粉

如何沖調嬰兒配方乳粉讓您在家中奶瓶餵哺

如何沖調嬰兒配方乳粉讓您在家用奶杯餵哺

風險評估組
食物安全中心
二零零八年十月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-11-2008